Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
238
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2014
I know this lp record well having been bought UK copy in 1977 and replacing it in the early 90's with the last analogue edition, which is a "best of" the Beatles covering the period from the Sgt Pepper album to the Long and Winding Road from the Let it Be album taking in such singles as Strawberry Fields Forever, Hey Jude, Revolution and Get Back with a selection from the White and Abbey Road albums. It was and remains a terrific overview of the Beatles output, an enduring high point in twentieth century popular music.
Why bother with this re-release?
The first reason for newer Beatle fans is each mix is as it was issued in 1973 so for instance A Day In The Life is faded in rather than the cold start used in the 1993 cd (and 1994 digitally re-mastered lp) and the 2010 cd editions.
For those of us who have older vinyl editions, it has been mastered from the original 1973 UK analogue master tapes but free from the restrictions on both the low and high notes used then to help cheaper players play it without issues and also without the small amount of analogue compression used to keep the sound more consistently louder people then expected.
In practical terms the sound is more more alive with deeper and more defined low notes and bigger contrasts between the quiet and louder portions. The high notes are cleaner sounding than my early 90's copy.
The vinyl is a bit heavier - around 140 grams - quieter although the original UK copies were very good for the era and is packaged with with a background essay now.
Comparing the two, I'd say this is the best so far this album and many of the songs in stereo have sounded, so I'd recommend it.
*This is a S.M.. review
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Commonly known as the "Blue Album", the 2LP vinyl set "1967 - 1970" became an instant classic when it was first released in April 1973 (as did its "Red" counterpart "1962-1966"). When they were finally reissued onto the new CD format in 1993 however, they caused consternation because of their extortionate full price.

So is this newly remastered 2010 mid-priced 2CD reissue on EMI/Apple 5099990674723 any better - the answer is an emphatic 'yes'.

PACKAGING:
The first thing you notice is that the clunky double jewel-case of the 1993 reissue has been dumped for a three-way foldout card sleeve. The centre and right flaps picture the photograph on the inner gatefold of the original vinyl double album (St. Pancras Old Church in London, 27 July 1969, The Beatles with the public looking through the railings - it's the same photo on the "Red" album). It also houses the two CDs - CD1 has the full Apple label (14 tracks, 51:15 minutes) and the 2nd CD has the half Apple logo (14 tracks, 48:43 minutes). The vinyl set is yet to come, the Digital Download versions are available from 25 Oct 2010 and there's also an issue that lumps both the Blue & Red reissues together as one package in late November.

The left flap houses a new 32-page booklet. The lyrics are intact from the inner sleeves of the original album issue, there's new liner notes by BILL FLANAGAN the MTV Executive and author of "Evening's Empire" (a book on Rock in the Sixties) and there's plenty of superb colour photos from the period - it's impressively done. Downsides - some complained that the 09/09/09 card digipak sleeves for The Beatles reissues were easy to smudge once out of the shrinkwrap and worse - the inner flaps easy to tear as you removed the disc. I'm afraid these are the same. I suppose I would have been naïve of us to think that EMI would actually listen to the complaints of 2009 about packaging, but they haven't - the need for these issues to look the same as the preceding ones has overridden all considerations... Having said that, I still think they look great - substantial even...

PLAYING TIMES:
Unlike the "Red" issue which could easily have fitted onto 1CD (and even included bonus tracks), as you can see from the playing times provided above, it would not have been possible with this set. Anyway - EMI would of course argue that a single CD issue of this most `iconic' of double albums would fundamentally alter the aesthetic of the original release. At least this time, this 2CD reissue is at mid price, so we're not being charged for the privilege of separation.

TRACK CHOICES:
The compilation itself is basically the A-sides of all their UK 7" singles releases between 1967 and 1970 in chronological release date order with a few key album tracks thrown in for good measure. Eagle-eye fans would therefore note that up to and including "Get Back" - ALL Beatles UK 7" singles for that period were issued only in MONO ("The Ballad Of John & Yoko" was their 1st STEREO single in the UK). So the tracks on the album should reflect that - the MONO single mixes. But EMI did nothing of the sort. They're all in STEREO (there's 4 MONO on the "Red" set) and i would argue that accuracy's loss is the listener's gain, because the STEREO versions used here are awesome.

SOUND:
Although the compilation is copyrighted to 2010 (released Monday 18 Oct 2010 in the UK and 19 Oct 2010 in the USA), the liner notes don't try to hide that these are the 2009 remasters by the same team who did the much-praised Beatles catalogue of 09/09/09. The sound quality is fantastic - breathtaking clarity on instruments - the piano and guitars on "Lady Madonna", the jet screeching in at the opening of "Back In The U.S.S.R", the brass on "All You Need Is Love", Billy Preston's superb keyboard work on "Let It Be", the wonderfully loose live feel of "Don't Let Me Down" (best B-side ever?) - and so on.

CONTENT:
But what impresses most is the actual listen itself. Even now, it's truly shocking to hear just how accomplished The Beatles became during this ludicrously productive period. And diversity of writers crept in too. There's the 3 Harrison gems "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", "Old Brown Shoe" and the magical "Something" while Ringo gets the witty "Octopus's Garden". Leaving the rest as Lennon-McCartney originals. And what an embarrassment of riches they are...

7" perfection comes twice - "Strawberry Fields Forever" b/w "Penny Lane" and arguably the greatest single ever released - "Hey Jude" b/w "Revolution" (melodious Paul on the A with rockin' blistering John on the B). Most bands would kill a close relative to get anywhere near this level of genius. And by the time you get to the ballads at the end of Disc 2 - "The Long And Winding Road" and "Across The Universe" - adjectives begin to fail you... Were The Beatles really 'this' good - the answer is yes - and always will be.

To sum up - the sound on these new reissues is fabulous; the packaging better than the 1993 versions and each is being sold at mid-price - available in most places for less than the price of a single new album. You can't help but think that millions of people globally will take one look at these beauties on a shelf somewhere and slap them straight into their shopping baskets. And rightly so...

I've loved re-hearing these classic Beatles songs in this beautiful sound quality - I really have - and despite some minor packaging quibbles - the 2010 version of the "Blue" album is wholeheartedly recommended.
44 comments| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
So is it worth spending money on yet another release of familiar but classic music that first saw the light of day over 40 years ago. Well the answer is yes because the technology is available now to make it all sound so fresh and clear, even when compared to the previous CD releases.
It is when comparisons are made to the original vinyl records that came out in the 1960's that the difference in sound quality becomes noticeable. I should know because I bought most of the Beatles albums and singles the first time round, in a lot of cases on the day of release. The original 1970 Apple Records vinyl Let It Be album is a case in point, being muffled and tinny despite being in stereo. The tracks from that original release have now been re-mastered for this collection and the audio quality is now that much better.
It is close to impossible for anyone who was not around in the 60's to really understand the huge and lasting impact that The Beatles made at the time, not just on popular music but also in culture and social attitudes. Their influence was only matched by that made by Elvis a few years earlier. This album and it's companion Red 1962-66 set will go some way to explaining everything.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Superb re-issue of what is part two of the greatest 'Best Of' package ever produced, known fondly as 'The Blue Album'. The surface noise-free vinyl is cut slightly quieter than the original UK release, and this is of benefit as the original LPs suffered from a little 'IGD' (inner groove distortion) at the end of sides, whereas these do not. What is excellent is that the original analogue tapes do not seem to have aged at all, in fact you could argue that this new release betters an original UK copy. The fact that this release is AAA (all analogue mastering) should demonstrate to other vinyl manufacturers to show that you can have a high quality analogue release in this day and age that doesn't need to cost the earth (so many releases now are cut from digital) - anyway, the sound quality is excellent - my only gripe is the cover art is a bit too 'dark' - too much contrast but the quality of the thick laminated covers and inner sleeves is superb. If you want a new clean copy of these seminal compilations, you really can't go wrong, they have done an excellent job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
I have loved the Beatles forever and when I saw the offer for vinyl product I could not resist it. We still have an amp,turntable and tape deck from a long time ago. They are in excellent condition and the reproduction is excellent. So glad we kept the old gear. As for the LP it is superb and I love every track.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2003
This is by far my favorite Beatles album (and I own all of them).
It has material from their most creative period and effectivly abandons the "#1 hits" format that Beatles CD's have gotten locked into and not acknowledged other good songs like "I Am the Walrus" or "A Day In the Life". It also includes material from the "White Album", which as good as it is, is always ignored on Beatles hits discs.
Furthermore all four members are given recognition not just John and Paul; "Octapus's Garden" by Ringo and such songs as "Here Comes the Sun" and others by George are included, whereas the new compilation "1" only features one George song: "Something", which is a superb song, but not a sufficent tribute to the Dark Horse in itself.
Also included are full lyrics to all of the songs. This is especially appreciated for songs like "Come Together" on which one can easily forget the words. There are also photographs in the 24-page booklet,which is quite a lot, considering most of the Beatles albums are completly devoid of any notes at all.
Overall a five star disc because not only does it include hits, it has B-sides like "Don't Let Me Down" and "Revolution", full lyrics to all songs, and it acknowleges all four members. Easily ten stars!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This Is A Fantastic Re-Release And Compliments The 1962-1966 Album Superbly ,
First Of All I Am A Massive Fan Of The Beatles....I Did"t Have Any Choice , You See I Was Born In 1963
And I Have 3 Brothers And A Sister All Older Than Me , The Oldest Being My Sister Who Was Born In 1950
my 3 Brothers Born In , 1952 , 1953, 1957, (Sadly One Of My Brothers Has Passed Away A Few Years Ago...the one born in 1957)
And Each And Every One Of Them Was Big Big Beatles Fans And I Remember Hearing The Beatles Music From A Very Early Age I Would Be A Liar If I Said I Know Which Song I Heard First...Because I Don"t Know But All Of My Life Growing Up Was Beatles Music, And I Love Them And I Have A Fantastic Collection Of All Formats Of Beatles Albums , C.D.s And Box Sets And Yes Even This Album When Original Release In 1973. So When I Was Aware That This Album Was To Be Released Again As A Newly Re Mastered Vinyl Edition , Well I Just Had To Buy It And It Does Not Disappoint in Any Way,
It Has The Fantastic Singles That Were Released From The Beatles Latter Years As A Band , From The Psychedelic And Drug Inspired STRAWBERRY FIELDS FOREVER , to The Uncomfortable Recordings Of The LET IT BE sessions But We Also Have The Fantastic Releases From The Brilliant Last Album ABBEY ROAD , When George Harrison Cemented His Place As A Serious Songwriter With HERE COMES THE SUN and The Beautiful SOMETHING ....But That"s Not All The Historic Tracks From The Album That Changed British Music Culture The World Has Ever Known , With SARGENT PEPPERS LONELY HEARTS CLUB BAND, And Even Tracks From The White Album, So There Are Many Different Periods And Genre Of The Beatles On This One Album , All Mixed In Nicely From A 3 Year Timescale.
This Album Has It All,
I Sincerely And Wholeheartedly Recommend That You Spoil Yourself And Purchase This Fantastic Album And Enjoy The Beatles Latter Years ...You Really Deserve It.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2016
Not a collection of the best of their output (not far off though) but it is essential that any music collection must surely feature 1962-1966 & 1967-1970. The 2 sets were first issued in 1976 on vinyl and cd in 1987, I think. They were ridiculously priced at £29.99 each for the 2cd sets but we bought them nevertheless. Check out the prices on the USED discs.
Both the red and blue album tracks are in chronological order and shows the development of The Beatles and of the technology to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Beatles were the greatest band in the world.
This and their Red Album were two of the finest albums.
just about every Beatles song worth having is on these two albums.
I was lucky enough to have them originally in vinyl and played them to destruction.
Super records from a sensational group.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2007
The Blue Album 1967-70 is an essential in any collector's repertoire. Where as the Red Album 1962-66 covers the Beatles pop classics during the early Sixties these latter songs encompass the most creative years by the Beatles encapsulating the more serious side of their musical talents. From the poetic `Across the Universe' to the Pepper classic `A Day in the Life' to their anthem, `Hey Jude' this album never fails to satisfy discerning listeners due to its great diversity.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)