Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
91
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2016
Hastings and Jenkins combine their efforts to report on the Falklands conflict, in this book. It is of excellent quality, making a good reading companion to Woodward's Hundred Days, with Hastings' laser-sharp focus on the military side of the conflict, which he examines with a balanced, but surprisingly sympathetic eye to all parties in the conflict. In particular, the authors experiences of the ground war, as a correspondent, give the reader a good feel for the conflict at ground level, as Woodward's book did for the sea. This is one of Hastings' better works, written to much the same style and quality as his work on Korea; unsensationalist, fact-based reporting forming the basis of realistic conclusions on the conduct of the war.

Jenkins, meanwhile, chronicles the frenetic efforts at diplomacy of the British, of the Americans; and impact of the war in Whitehall, which at time take on the appearance of a farce, featuring Americans both traitorous and noble, bumbling civil servants, an admiral in full regalia, Dennis Healy's remarkable capacity for hypocrisy, and of course, the grandest joke of all, Margaret Thatcher. John Nott plays an excellent Fool to Thatcher's Lear. At times, as you may have guessed, the goings and venalities of the Establishment are a bit infuriating, particularly the strange obsession of both parties with doing away with aircraft carriers, for reasons loosely established as an unhealthy phobia of Soviet submarines.

Anyway, I digress, and considerably more than the authors. It's a good, solid book on the conflict, and if you ever wanted a single, unitary account of the war, this is it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Max Hastings and Simon Jenkins have really worked their magic with this book, the scene is set with a short review of the islands carrying on to the Junta deciding to go ahead, the formation and departure of the task force and then on to the war itself. This book is well written, easy to follow but hard to put down, I really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 April 2014
This history is more telling than many I've read on the subject. It goes into great detail. As with all of Hastings work I feel it needs to be balanced with other writers opinions but in my view less so with this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Good present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
This book is an in-depth study of the war fought between the United Kingdom and Argentina over the Falkland Islands from April to June 1982. The book begins with a highly informative history of the islands, focusing on the two countries' claims to the islands. The war is recounted in excellent depth, focusing heavily on the British side. The final chapter is on the aftermath of the war, which is severely limited, due to the fact that the book was published in 1983.
Finally, there are three excellent appendices: A covers the British task force, giving everything from silhouettes of the ships and airplanes through list of the units involved complete with their commanders; B lists the honors given to Falklands veterans; and appendix C contains the Franks Report on the conflict. The maps contained in the book are excellent, as are the numerous black-and-white pictures.
This book is quite fascinating, and highly informative on the war. I found myself completely unable to put this book down, but just had to read a little more, and a little more, and a little more... I wish that it contained more information on the Argentine side, which would give the book more all-around information. However, that said, it is a great book, giving the reader a good idea of what happened both on the battlefield, and in the halls of the politicians (a great deal of the British side was run for more political, rather than military reasons).
This is a great book, and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in this fascinating war.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
delivered promptly and a grat buy. perhaps a bit slow to get into,but worth every moment. lots of background and info about the people involved in the falklands islands and uk governments involved over recent times.
i cannot wait to pick up yhis book each day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Max Hastings lets you live history within his writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2006
That’s what Max Hastings and Simon Jenkins call the battle between Britain and Argentina over the Falkland Islands. Their rather thorough study on the 1982 conflict makes a fascinating read.
The authors start off with covering the history of the Falklands, which is quite useful background. Simon Jenkins does a good job detailing the political developments right up to the invasion. It would appear that the conflict was as much a result of the fallacies of modern diplomacy as a perceived need by the Argentinean regime to deflect the population from the domestic situation. That’s at least the message I took home from reading the authors’ account of the Seventeen Years’ War and Galtieri’s Gamble.
The actual war is recounted in quite some detail, but largely from the British point of view as Argentinean sources were not freely available at the time of publication (1983). The book also gives the impression that the British were in a bit of trouble quite a number of times during the conflict, but that as a result of a lack of co-ordination (or call it rivalries) between the different services of the Argentinean forces, they got away with their own shortcomings. The authors note that if the different services had better co-ordinated their efforts, the British task of regaining the Islands would have been much harder if not impossible.
At the end of the narrative, there are three excellent appendices on the Falkland Islands Task Force, the Honours List and the ‘Frank Report’ examining the ‘why it hadn’t been prevented in the first place’ issue.
This is an excellent book on the subject.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
Engaging and complete is the less I can say about this book. The authors tell the story of British side of events, from a brief description of the history of the island, the Argentine occupation by force and the following diplomatic offensive -- to the preparation, deployment and succesive war either by sea and land. The book is full of interestings facts, like the logistics problems of the British, the submarine warfare and the difficult task that it was to deal with air and missile attacks (exocets). Here you see the importance of aircraft carriers, submarines, frigates, artillery fire, good radar systems, ground-to-air missiles, air-to-air missiles and no less important, a good professional army.
The Argentine Junta gambled and they lost, and they lost big since this totally diminished any bargaining position. There is no such thing as share sovereignity, and to finish the war was the best thing to do by the British. There was a cost of lives, we could not see much about the sufferings in combat, we just could see how the Argentine airplanes made brave incursions on the British ships and we can only imagine the horrors of this war in both sides. When I saw the images of the Argentine concripts in their trenches, I just felt pity for them -- What on earth the Argentines were thinking, really? Patriotism only is not enough againts an army with tradition and experience. Fortunately, the war was short and no more blood was shed at Port Stanley. For Chile, this was the best outcome indeed for peace and stability reign again in the region. Finally, I consider the Falklands and South Georgia of strategic importance, we might not think this now but you never know what the future can say.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)