Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
223
4.6 out of 5 stars
Batman: Year One
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.12


on 11 March 2016
To me, Batman is kinda like Pizza. By which I mean that even bad pizza is still pretty good.

But for me, the best Batman is written by Miller. Maybe it's because I like his writing style, or maybe it's because his fairly dark writing style really suits Batman.

Or it could just be that the very first comic I read as adult was Dark Night Returns. That's the comic that made me realize that comics weren't just a bunch of silly bulls*** stories for kids.

Whatever the reason, this comic is in that fine Frank Miller style. Showing Batman and Gordon at the beginning of their lives. Both of them making mistakes. Both of them learning about their city. Both of them paying for their mistakes....

Yeah. If you're into Batman and you haven't read this one, you're missing out. You should try it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Unbelievably, despite being a reasonably big fan of the Dark Knight in various forms, from my Saturday mornings spent watch the Grammy winning, 1992 - 1995? Animated Series, to the past few years where we've been rather spoilt by the excellent Arkham video game series and of course, the Dark Knight Trilogy.
Throughout this time, I've considered many times but have never, to my shame, been the owner of an actual Batman comic book!
Having done a little research online, this was the 'go to' Batman comic for the beginner. It is written by Frank Miller of Sin City fame and drawn by David Mazucchelli. The artwork is fantastic and the style is actually closer to the old school camp Batman to the more gothic, post 1980's darker style I'm more familiar with.
The story, as the title suggests, it chronicles the first year of Bruce Wayne's tenure as Batman and Jim Gordon's first year on the GCPD, their paths inevitably intertwine and some other familiar faces on the way.
The story is very interesting as we come across a rookie Bruce Wayne who, despite having spent a considerable amount of time training for his chosen 'profession' is very green and unsure of what he wants to achieve and certainly how to go about it. He gets himself involved in very precarious situations which at times leaves him knocking on Death's door, but we all know he'll survive at least this continuity! Jim Gordon is probably even deeper water as he tries to nullify the numerous rogue elements in the GCPD, without mentioning his private life...
Altogether, I would say a great intro to the Dark Knight comics, loses a mark for me for lack of any real villains and isn't quite as amazing as I was lead to believe (in my opinion anyway) nonetheless, it's done the job and I will definitely buy my second pretty soon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
I wasn't sure what to make of this book. Its boasted as being one of the top DC reads around - perhaps because of Frank Miller.

The theme is pretty much, Jim Gordon is a new cop trying to be a good guy. Batman is new on the scene trying to be a super hero without messing up and getting himself caught/killed. Both end up working together for the good of the city. That's pretty much the sum of it.

There was no real story so per say. A bit of character development around Jim and the Bat, but overall the feel of the book felt like the original Batman TV series from the 1960s, which in a way may have been what Miller was after.

The art felt dated, though as the book was drawn around 1986 this is perhaps not surprising. Did the book blow my mind - NO. Was it as good as say, Kingdom Come - NO. Do I recommend it, perhaps, if you can get it on the £3 sales. Otherwise it just didn't feel like anything to write home about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
Great read. I didn't know where to start with with the batman graphic novels but having googled it, this seemed to be the common consensus on the matter. Google wasn't wrong - it is a great introduction.

The storyline introduces characters clearly, and it is well written and easy to follow for someone new to the series. The artwork is beautiful and fits the story and the setting perfectly. This is heralded as the beginning of the 'gritty' modern Batman and it is definitely that.

The only thing I would ask you to bear in mind is that it is quite short - it took me about an hour to read - so I would recommend trying to get it cheaper than the prime price if you can wait for delivery. This is the most minor of gripes though, and it's no shorter than other graphic novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Year One is a great look at the new origins of the Dark Knight and how he came to be that terrifying detective of the night. I loved how the origins of both the batman and commissioner gordon were intertwined throughout, leading to the epic conclusion in a trusting and respectful relationship between the two. However, i felt that bruce's origin is still left totally blank, i mean i bought this book in the hopes that it would explain exactly where he goes for over a decade to become the bat, but nope, nothing like that. Just a load of ambiguous thoughts as he kicks a tree in half over the course of a few days.
Nice to see an intro to catwoman too, and thoroughly brilliant that each time she shows up, batman steals the show. It also thoroughly grounds batman's origin by showing that he's not invincible; no kevlar or miraculous bulletproof suit, no stupidly formed steroid induced muscles and no 'good thing i brought my suchandsuch in my utility belt!' The guy shows his wits and his skill in a thoroughly impressive and maybe even realistic way. He's also shown as incorruptible and a master of fear, using it to 'punish' the bad guys in charge of gotham's streets, which is nice to see - a reminder that it's not always batman vs super villains, but that he is there for the city and it's people too (although, mainly for himself of course).
Great story, but i felt it missed out some big chunks that everyone who buys this book expects to have explained for them within the epic pages. oh well - still worth the asking price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
"Batman: Year One" is the first Batman comic/graphic novel I've ever read.

I was a fan of the Batman movies - particularly Christopher Nolan's "Dark Knight" series - but wanted to explore the material/history which inspired said movies.

With an impressive back catalogue, I honestly did not know where to start.

With the help of someone on the Amazon forum, I was recommended this title as a stepping stone - for which I am very grateful.

If you have seen Christopher Nolan's "Batman Begins", "Batman: Year One" will seem very familiar to you.

Although I loved watching the gothic, 'Burton-era' movies growing up, I identified more with the recent Nolan saga - its realism, its gritty feel, its darkness.... Its over-all approach to a character who can easily be pushed aside and laughed at.

I had long heard that the inspiration for Nolan's movies were the Batman comics/graphic novels of the late 80s/early 90s - and I can't believe I'm only 'discovering' these works now.

I highly recommend this graphic novel for all fans - and for those who's curiousity has got the better of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2009
This is a reworking of the Batman origin story, and has had lots of praise heaped on it over the years - it was published for the first time way back in 1986!! Not many graphic novels have this long a lifespan and it is usually a good indicator of the quality of the work ; The Dark Knight Returns by the same author as this book (Frank Miller), The Watchmen by Alan Moore and V for Vendetta also by Alan Moore would fall into this category. These three works are from the eighties as well, and so Batman Year One is in excellent company!
It basically tells of how Bruce Wayne begins his career as Batman and shows how he makes early mistakes, and learns from them on his way to becoming the character we know and love today. That is one facet of the story, but the other side of this is the introduction and development of one Lieutenant Gordon. This is a really good subplot and shows how Gordon copes with crisis in his work and home lives. He has moral dilemmas, just like Bruce Wayne and it is interesting to see the different ways they deal with their problems.
The Batman storyline is quite hectic, and full of adrenaline as he learns his trade - the police trapping him in a building is a really good example of this. Whereas the Gordon storyline is a bit slower, and shows him having time to think about all the implications of his actions both at work and at home.
For those of you who are big fans of the Christian Bale Batman films, you can definitely see where segments of this book has been adapted to the Batman Begins reboot - and that shows how much quality this graphic novel has.
It has a couple of minor niggles though. Firstly, it is quite short! Now, this is probably because the story is so good and i was left wanting more, so i wouldn't mark it down for that. And the other thing is the artwork. Again, it is of it's time(well over twenty years old now!), but i also feel that it is not crucial to the quality of the graphic novel as a whole, because it allows you to concentrate on the storyline; sometimes, beautifully drawn graphic novels lack the story behind them, and i would prefer weaker artwork and a stronger story.
All in all, this is one that you MUST add to your collection. I would put this in a top ten list of Batman stories. It is good for the fan, and the person just starting out reading the graphic novels. Highly recommended, and worthy of all the plaudits it receives!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
After hearing good things about this book and for this book to be the first one to read when starting out reading Comic/Graphic novels i placed an order.
It arrived and i began reading it straight away. The book itself is nicely presented and the pages feel of good quality. It is a fairly small book in comparison and the art is a little Dated for me, but over all I liked it and would recommend it again for someone who again is starting out just as i was on collecting and reading comics.
The book features Batman Jim Gordon and Cat woman as well as introducing some Crime Families as the main villains Batman Fights.
I have heard people say it is a book biased on Jim Gordon and in some ways i would agree it hasnt got much Batman action in apart from a good few pages which i fully enjoyed but it does focus on Jim Gordon alot which can be a good thing and bad thing depending on preference.

Over all i would recommend it to anyone to add to their collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
This is a fun little volume but it really feels lacking. It shows a very hopeful and well trained Bruce Wayne, he kicks trees over in his training, coming back to Gotham with all his training and willpower but no idea how to get respect. It has his first night on the town, the birth of Batman and then a small glimpse at how the city begins to react to him.

This also follows Gordon arriving as a lieutenant in Gotham and learning quickly how the rules go.

It is good but leaves you wanting more so I'd get another volume like The Long Halloween
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 August 2014
A darker, more adult take on the origin of Batman, this is quite simply absolutely essential reading for any Batman fan or any comic book fan for that matter. Done as a kind of film noir, it sees hero cop Jim Gordon arrive in Gotham, a town full of corrupt cops and criminals and a corrupt commisioner and at the same time a mysterious vigilante dressed as a giant bat called Batman is terrorizing Gotham's criminals. A thrilling read and one of the best comics of all time that inspired Christopher Nolan's Batman Begins film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)