Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2012
The most original plot device opens this Batman book: the inmates all escape from Arkham Asylum! Oh wait, that's not original, that's basically every other month. Newly freed, the inmates begin wreaking havoc on Gotham (so many windows smashed!) except some of them as displaying inordinate muscle mass and strength - almost like they're on venom... This new toxin has the added bonus of removing fear from the user so they are no longer afraid of the Dark Knight or any of Gotham's other masked vigilantes. But who's behind this new toxin? And a new character pops up, a skimpily dressed woman in bunny ears and tail - time for Batman to follow the White Rabbit; he doesn't want to be late...

The plotting of the book isn't bad, even though there are way too many characters crowding the pages. There are so many cameos from a whole range of the DCU, you'll feel swamped. But the story is fairly interesting and keeps you turning the pages, if only to find out who this White Rabbit character is. Her appearance though is fairly contrived - she is dressed as a lingerie model throughout. There is so much gratuitous T&A in this book purely for the boys to gawp at.

There's a lot of Lewis Carroll/Alice in Wonderland references in Batman generally isn't there? Besides the White Rabbit, writer Joe Harris (who?) pens a one-shot featuring Jervis Tetch aka Mad Hatter and Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum as if to hammer home the Wonderland references - to no real effect, other than making the reader wonder why that children's book has such an impact in Batman's world.

Writer Paul Jenkins has real trouble with dialogue and I found his characterisations wildly off. The book starts awkwardly with Bruce Wayne mangling a metaphor of fear and cannibalism that doesn't quite make sense, and from then on I never felt Jenkins had a strong hold on the characters to make them feel like they were who they are. Jim Gordon is good example - he spends most of the book leaving weepy voice messages on Bruce Wayne's mobile, wondering where his pal Batman is. This isn't Gordon's character!

The book rounds out with a one-shot written by Judd Winick. "I Can No Longer Be Broken" is about the Talon from Scott Snyder's "Court of Owls" storyline, giving him a backstory and reminding the reader they'd rather be reading that story arc than this rather lacklustre one about Batman chasing a new strain of venom.

"Knight Terrors" is an entertaining enough story but could've been great with a more competent writer on board (where's Paul Dini in this reboot?) and a weak final act lets the book down. David Finch's art is fantastic as always and for fans of the "Court of Owls" storyline, the book is worth a look for the "Talon" issue, but overall this is an underwhelming start to the new "Dark Knight" series though out of the 3 Batman lines started in the "New 52" it is slightly better than the god-awful "Detective Comics" but nowhere near as good as Snyder/Capullo's "Batman" run.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I have been a fan of the Marvel universe for years and only knew a little about the DC universe. This bookn really is the first real read I have done of a DC book. Its fantastic. I knew that DC had relaunced all their titles and thought this would be a good place to start, I was not disapointed. The writing is excellent however I think its the art that steals the show. David Finch provides fabulous artwork throughout. I was even suprised to see some guest appearences from Superman, Flash and Wonder Woman. Thanks to this book I have decided to explore more of the DC universe. MUST HAVE.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2016
Really sad to see the dark knight series is to be stopped. I always found it more adult, violent and down right darker than the stand alone Batman new 52 series. ( which I liked greatly) My advice is simply, get all 4 volumes in tpb in the dark knight series. Fantastic and hard-hitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The storyline running through issues #1-8 of the New 52’s Batman The Dark Knight is collected, along with issue #9 – a City of Owls crossover – as Batman The Dark Knight Volume 1: Knight Terrors TP (The New 52). This is the most enjoyable of the main New 52 Batman titles that I have read so far (Batman volume 1 & 2, Batman & Robin vol 1, Detective vol 1 & the City of Owls collection).It is a self-contained story with a beginning, middle and end, though with a few sub-plots to keep continuity going into future stories. It has excellent scripting and superb artwork, and while not a “The Brave & the Bold” comic, it does feature some JLA members as guest stars in several issues, and they are part of the plot, not just there as decoration. There are several members of the Batman Family in a few scenes to show that the main threat is taking place in a wider theatre of operations, and is being contained while Batman takes care of the source, and Alfred is a central figure and equal partner in much of the story, and as always, gets many of the best lines:
“A half-naked girl in white lingerie. No doubt the world wide web is replete with such images, Master Bruce. I shall do my utmost to sort through them all.”

Just to clarify, there is a new female costumed character in Batman’s life, and, always a suspicious event when taken together, a new female character in Bruce Wayne’s. The fact that they both have little scars on their noses does lead you to wonder if they are connected, but we are assured during the story that both have been seen at the same time in separate locations (“Yea” you say, “just like Batman and Bruce Wayne or Clark Kent and Superman”.

Anyway, back to the story: there is a riot at Arkham – “When isn’t there?” I hear you say – and the denizens have been monstered-up by a new drug of some kind – “What, just like in Arkham City?”, I hear you say – well, never mind, it is just a plot device that happens to work because Arkham is where they keep the loonies and where mad scientists go to experiment on them. Batman leads the riot squad in to regain control, and spots a female figure in a skimpy white rabbit outfit skipping about the halls before running into Two-Face. The riot is eventually contained when the drug turns out to have a short life-span, though several inmates get away. This is where the Batman Family cameos come in to play. Batman himself goes to take on the Joker, who has hijacked a train, and runs into the Whit Rabbit again, and the Flash makes the first of several appearances in this story. The two heroes go looking for the source of the new drug, following a clue leading to Poison Ivy, which leads to the Flash getting poisoned by the drug, and having to keep running to prevent it affecting him. Batman finds that Ivy has been kidnapped, and follows a clue she left to a rendezvous with some old friends – mainly the usual suspects – before getting infected himself, leading to a fight with Superman, amongst other things. Eventually there is a big showdown with a big villain, and with the Flash’s help, a final victory: “He’ll be back”. We also get a big reveal about the new women in Bruce and Batman’s life. Imagine our surprise… We also get a mopping-up story with the Mad Hatter and Tweedledum and Tweedledee, and issue #9 is a crossover story with the ‘City of Owls’ event running over in the Batman title.

This is an enjoyable story which is expertly constructed, with, as I have said above, excellent scripting and superb artwork. Apart from the new female characters, it uses the established rogues’ gallery and some old friends from the JLA in the best traditions of the Batman comics, and could fit into the old world as easily as it fits into the New 52.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
One of the better new 52 tales with an epic scope which includes a lot of familiar faces from the justice league in some short but welcome cameos. A very adult tale which includes a lot of batmans old adversaries and companions. Very enjoyable and definitely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Awful. Awful. Awful.
For the random reader it could be fun but im not even going to waste my time on an in depth review. Finch, stick to drawing as your writing is terrible. Batman says and does things he wouldnt and doesnt interact properly. The pages are over crowded and the story is just trying to squeeze as many characters into one book as possible creating a pointless mess. Do not waste your time and money.
Anyone who gives this more than one star is not a Batman reader or collector and probably just a casual fan or they would know better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I read a library copy of the paperback
Another breakout at Arkham and what looks like another mediocre Joker story blossom into a quite interesting Scarecrow and Bane storyline with a well written Batman and some very good artwork.
The new White Rabbit character is one that should have been a Batman Rogue for many a year and as such comes over as a bit tired right from the start but another solid opening for the new52 Batman corner of DC that is an engaging read. Credit for 9 issues collected here too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
A great introduction to the new 52 era of Gotham. Guest stars from the Justice League. Great art work and good story reintroducing some of Batman's classic villeins and adding in the new players. The on only downside is Batman takes more of a pounding an then he gives, which is understandable as the bad guys are hulked up, it show his resolve but it does make him look like a guy in a bat suit needing all the help he can get.

I like that take of internal affairs looking into Gorgen for his involvement with a Batman. I love David Finch's art work he draws Batman perfectly and I even like the way he draws the other JL characters. All in all a great intro I with lots more to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
I purchased this volume on a different account some time ago, and the only reason I feel the need to write this review is because I feel that the overall amazon rating of this book is misleading, and I wanted to give a more accurate review.

I don't know why so many people have given this five stars and not taken in to account it's un originality. A lot of the ideas I have seen in this book hold a lot of resemblance to the Arkham game series, and just repeat overused plot lines. (Mild spoilers follow).

For example a lot of Arkham inmates break out of the asylum and go on a rampage. It's been done.
They seem to be affected by some sort of serum that makes them look big and muscly. It's been done.
Like I said all of these things can already be seen in the Arkham games. This might as well be a comic book adaptation of Batman: Arkham Asylum. And that's also been done.

That's not all either. A lot of what some of the characters say or do doesn't make any sense. Two Face at one point goes through a physical change and decides to call himself "One Face". Maybe I'm missing something here but to me that doesn't make any sense at all, considering that his face isn't any different to how it previously was anyway.

Not to mention that to me a lot of the villains and ally's of Batman seemed to act out of character at times, and overall the story just seems rushed and doesn't add up when you really take a moment to think about it. The placement of some villains in particular parts of the story seem too convenient and irregular.

It's not all bad though, it kept me reasonably entertained, despite the fact that there are a million stories like this one, and the artwork was pretty solid. Also the inclusion of some members of the Justice League, especially the Flash, made it more interesting. Although the addition of Superman was really just for a cheap attempt at another Batman VS Superman brawl. So, once again, it's been done. And it's been done much better in other comics.

So overall it's okay, but it really doesn't deserve the praise it's been getting here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
An excellent standalone Batman story, cant give it better praise than that. I was for some reason expecting to enjoy it less than the Court of the Owls story from the main books, but this is great. The new villain White Rabbit is great too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)