Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 10 July 2012
Judd Winick returns with another book of his character, the Red Hood, aka Jason Todd (formerly the second Robin), this time addressing the years in between returning from the dead to when he shows up in Gotham - presumably for the events in "Under the Red Hood" (recommended by the by).

The "Lost Days" are what you'd expect. Nurtured from the grave by Talia Al'Ghul (who wouldn't you know it has an ulterior motive!), Jason goes from combat expert to combat expert learning the finer points of shooting, putting together bombs, lethal physical fighting, etc. to give him the edge over Batman.

What makes Jason a more interesting version of the good guy turned bad is that he still retains some of the goodness that Bruce gave him from his training as Robin. Throughout the book Jason's faced with the scum of the Earth, some of whom he punishes for various discretions and some he leaves alone - it's the choices he makes which are interesting to see, that despite distancing himself from Batman he still retains a moral code of sorts. Also, as he's learning and developing prior to going back to Gotham we see him make mistakes and falter in his missions making his character more human.

The only place where I felt Winick dropped the ball was at the end when Jason confronts Joker. He lets him live despite how everything about the character's personality is geared toward Joker's death, so Jason's action and reasoning felt a bit contrived. But then Joker can't die can he?

Anyway, it's still a good read with Winick proving once again how comfortably brilliant he is when it comes to writing Jason Todd/Red Hood. Jason's a complicated guy and a somewhat likeable protagonist despite his ruthlessness and here in "Lost Days" we see how he hones his world view before the climactic events of "Under the Red Hood" which is definitely the next book to pick up after this. Worth a read if you're a fan of this character.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2016
Beefing up Jason Todds, Red Hood Origin, this story delivers a brilliant insight into Jasons mind and motives, despite his jealousy, anger and violence issues, their still remains a trace of Batman in him and we watch as he performs his acts of violence, but also heroism. The idea to bring Jason Todd back was a brilliant one, im usually fully against bringing characters back when there dead, for example Bruce Wayne died, as he would have in real life and was replaced, but they bought him back, despite the huge opportunities they had with developing Dick Grayson as Batman. Jason has been a tortured soul from day one, he's Batman's biggest mistake, biggest regret and also his biggest loss. By bringing him back, it allows us to see exactly how much impact they have had on each others lives.
Jason here, undergoes training in a different from or arts to be able to enact revenge on his former mentor and his tormentor, learning how to kill under the tutelage of a variety of skilled killers and orchestrated by Talia Al Ghul, Jason nurses his hatred and slowly becomes more than just an enemy to be reckoned with. Providing some answers and substance to Jason Todd, this is a great companion piece to the Batman: Under the Hood storyline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2014
A great backstory volume that follows Jason Todd from his being found roaming the streets in a shirt and tie to his donning the Red Hood mask and his ideal to be a better protector than Batman by crossing the line Batman himself will not morally allow. This is a wonderful story and really gave me a lot of insight into a character I'm only just now discovering. His initial hate and rage is aimed at Batman when he finds out the Dark Knight releases the Joker instead of killing him to avenge Todd's murder. The shift in his character and the placement of his anger is fascinating to watch as he trains with specialists the world over, with Talia al Ghul's financing, in sniper shooting, assassination, bomb-making, etc. Red Hood is a fascinating character as he takes what he learned from Batman as a vigilante, yet takes things further as an anti-hero by becoming his own authority on whose life is worthless and killing as many evil criminals as he deems fit. The art is great, Jason never wears a costume but by the end of the book he gets his new Red Hood mask and it is pretty cool, very similar to The New 52 one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2015
A nice read to fill in the gap between Death in the Family and Under the Hood. Great art, doesn't always capture Jason's face that well but action is beautifully gritty and realistic. Everything is real world, guns, clothes, cars. All recognisable. Very pleased with this buy. Only tiny gripe is would've liked to see him with the red hood helmet for a little more, or at least have some explanation for why he chose red hood as his style and alias. The helmet is only seen near the end, not a spoiler just warning what you're gonna get. Still a very satisfying read that increases in quality as it goes through the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2012
This volume reprints the DC Comics Mini-Series issues #1-6. I picked it up in my local library, not knowing anything about the character, who apparently has established a place for himself in the DC Universe. For those like me who are not familiar with him, the Red Hood is apparently the resurrected Jason Todd, the formerly dead Robin II. This story fills in his being discovered by Ras al Ghul, and his training by his daughter Talia, who hopes to use him to do something to Batman, but it is not clear if it is for revenge or as a present. Anyway, we go through a `Winter Soldier' routine as Jason finds his humanity again while killing bad guys, and falling for Talia. It is also revealed that he wasn't Hush. I'll have to go back and reread `Hush' to find out who he was, as I'm sure I thought he was Jason Todd. Anyway, it is an interesting and entertaining Batman-universe-related story, regardless of anything else, and can also be read as a stand-alone story. I enjoyed it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2012
It's like a Red Hood: Year One kinda book. and A must read for any fan of Jason Todd/The Red Hood.
At the price Amazon offer, you can't really say no to this book. The artwork is just fantastic, and the writing is done so, so well.
I won't go into details about the story and spoil anything (because it REALLY irritates me when people give away spoilers in reviews and don't warn you. Ignorance.), but after reading this, it really made me see how Jason Todd felt about Batman, and almost made me empathise with his situation.
On another note, and something I learned about Jason Todd in this book is that he is one HELL of a badass! His training from Batman really shines throughout the story, and it's great seeing how Batman's training, when in the wrong hands, can be SO deadly.
Overall, this deserved a 5/5. Well worth the money for sure, so take my advice and pick it up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2015
AMAZING, Red hood has totally gone up in my estimations, if you get this get red hood and the outlaws or vice versa!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2013
This is kind of a filler. It ties in with Under the Hood, which I liked a lot, but isn't nearly as good. Jason Todd is a great character and I wish more people would write JT stories, though I can't help feeling that this could've been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
This graphic novel tells of how Jason Todd Came back from dead on the road to becoming red hood, good art work, not like your topical batman novel, but still not won to miss!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2013
This is a good comic, I really enjoyed it. I think the concept behind it was brilliant in trying to fill in the missing pieces,the untold story. Only wish it were a little longer and a lot 'fuller'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse