Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
140
4.8 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Game of the Year Edition|Change
Price:£11.95+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2012
Certainly one of the best games I've played in a while. I purchased Arkham Asylum a few months ago but I decided to wait for the game of the year edition of Arkham City to come out before I got the sequel. I was surprised it was released at such a cheap price considering all the DLC it has loaded on to it. I'd definitely recommend the game to anybody, whether they're a batman fan or not.
66 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
If you played Arkham Asylum, you know what to expect.
This game moves on and improves the original in almost every department. Bigger. More enemies. More bosses. More moves.
This time you have an open world so can choose the order you clear areas in. The difficulty is pretty standard, enemies get tougher as you upgrade but are still fairly easy once you know how to beat them.
The only area they could prove on is the guidance. Sometimes you're not quite sure how to get to where you need to go. If you can overlook this part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
This is an unbelievable game and fantastic value for money. All the DLCs are included and the graphics, sound and storyline are brilliant. There are many add-ons and the game can be played over and over again. The service from Amazon was superb.

Many thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 April 2016
‘Arkham City’ is the second entry in the Arkham series of videogames, and serves as a direct sequel to ‘Arkham Asylum’. The story takes place about a year after the conclusion of that earlier game.

You play as the Dark Knight, in a third-person adventure – involving lots of action (fighting) as well as strategy, detective work and puzzle solving. For this game, part of Gotham City has been sectioned off behind fortified walls, serving as a huge prison to house all sorts of criminals and other undesirables – and it’s here, in what’s known as Arkham City, that you must work out what’s going on, figure out who’s behind it, and stop them from completing their evil plans.

This is a vastly expanded world to play in, and there are lots of enemies to fight ... from Bane to Poison Ivy, from Mr Freeze to the Penguin. The 'big' villains are the Joker (with Harley Quinn), Hugo Strange, and Ra's al Ghul. And, throughout the game, there's lots of puzzles to solve and death traps to survive as created by the Riddler. Arkham City is an open world environment, and you have total control over Batman – who is able to demonstrate amazing free-flow combat, as well as an arsenal of gadgets.

It's a game involving fantastic graphics, a great soundtrack, wonderful voice acting, and an interesting story (written by Paul Dini). It is rather more diffuse as a plot as compared to the earlier 'Asylum', but the world in this game is far more immense and allows for multiple stories to be developed. If you enjoyed ‘Arkham Asylum’ (or any of the other games in this series), you’ll like this one.

This is the 'Game of the Year' edition - which comes with many extras: Harley Quinn's Revenge, Arkham City Skins Pack, Challenge Map Pack, Catwoman Pack, Nightwing Pack, and the Robin Pack.

I thoroughly recommend this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
I bought Arkham Asylum and loved it and finished it so bough his too, I am making headway and really enjoying the game a lot. The main difference to this from the first one is there is more freedom to wander and do other side missions but otherwise it has the same fighting style as the forst game and is just as good if not better. This whole series is amazing and has everything puzzles, fighting, bosses, stealth and great storylines and graphics and sound. love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Don't hesitate. Just buy it. Now. Go on..BUY IT! With all the DLC aswell this is the perfect package of a game. PLUS ITS CHEAP!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Batman arkham what can i say about this excellent batman sim that has not been said.
This game is almost perfect and i would buy it game many times over ,it provides hours of enjoyment ,even if you are not a batman fan ,which i am not
Batman is so polished and fun to play i have brought this game for pc also and enjoy beating up badguy and swinging though arkham ,i wish that they would have included the batmobile ,that is why i have taken a star but this game is enjoyable and has replay also..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
AMAZON HAD TO SORT A TERRIBLE YODEL MESS OUT TO EVEN GET ME A PRODUCT TO BE ABLE TO REVIEW IT.

I LOVE IT AS A GAME, I DON'T FOLLOW THE FRANCHISE AT ALL. THIS JUST LOOKED APPEALING AND HAD GOOD REVIEW AND SURE ENOUGH ITS GREAT TO PLAY, HAS GOOD GRAPHICS AND LOOKS GREAT USING 3D CONVERSION ON MY SAMSUNG 51 " TV, NOT ALL GAMES DO, BUT THIS HAS DEPTH OF FIELD AND THE KIND OF CLOURING THAT WORKS REALLY WELL.

HAPPY I GOT THIS ON LIGHTNING DEALS AND NOW PLAYED I WOULD PAY THE MORMAL PRICE FOR IT FOR SURE :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Batman Arkham City is an astounding accomplishment in game development, improving on its predecessor in almost every aspect.
The story especially, is much more serious than Arkham Asylum, which was a typical comic-book story: this one features themes and twists up to par to a blockbuster movie. Combat was tweaked in the right direction.

In addition to this, the game is expansive, giving the player many many hours of gameplay... which are even expanded upon in the GOTY edition.

Any Batman fan should own this, but to those who aren't, you will probably become a fan after playing this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Not as good as Arkham Asylum but in my eyes that takes a lot to do. How do you improve of near perfection? You don't. This game made me feel rushed, to get Batmans vaccine then when I got it, it felt like the story was about to start but no that was it, it finished. So I was left expecting a lot more not just one story arc. The game is still brilliant it just did not seem as they had as many ideas as they did with Asylum. The riddler puzzles are brilliant as usual and the riddler side quest was a really good idea to put in the game. There is plenty to do after you complete the game. The best bit about this game is Catwomen you get to control not only Batman but Catwomen as well. With the game of the year edition it is really worth the money even though it was already. Seriously good game but Asylum is better, the only thing that puts this down for me is the story but I guess that is just my opinion.

Graphics - 8
Story - 5
Gameplay - 10
Replayability - 10
Overall - 8.8
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)