Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2011
I'm currently a second year undergraduate student of architecture. This book was recommended to us for reference to building construction techniques and analysis of façades. After struggling for long enough with the fundamental text book for our studies, I decided to take a splash with this book and can say that it is many many times better than any other construction book I have come across so far during my studies.

Whilst it doesn't cover every aspect of construction, it covers the main factors in construction (and demolition) including structural frames, floor construction, cladding and glazing, production and lifts, plus more. As an architecture student, I cannot recommend this book highly enough to other students in the field as this will expand your view on the construction, renovation or demolition of buildings. The text is neither overly complicated nor is it questionably simplistic. It is in-depth and is accompanied by numerous, clear illustrations which can prove invaluable to explaining some of the more complex processes described in the book. Dare I say, this book is actually quite engaging. Too often text books just shovel jargon and terminology down your throat, effectively killing any interest you had in the topic, but the way this book enlightens you to construction processes, you actually feel drawn to continue reading... Yikes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Excellently written book and would serve well for any construction technology, building surveying or basic structures modules. The depth that is gone into in this book is well worth the price, it is great for general and even more specific stuff like concrete production.
Diagrams are plenty and pretty useful, also every diagram can be downloaded from the books website so this is great for coursework (if you reference properly). The only thing is the diagrams are not in colour.
I bought this book and the introduction version, it might be worth just being the package together for a saving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
Having gutted a house I not only needed a new roof and complete renovation, I also wanted guidance on what was possible and how it would be executed. This book helped no end in that it is well-written guide to current UK construction practices. The concise text is supported by easy to understand diagrams. I skimmed this book before approaching builders and found that having some technical understanding made agreeing work more straight-forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2006
As a mature student studying in my second year of a building surveying degree with twenty years experience in the construction industry, I can tell you that the best book for any student studying in higher education in building or construction at either college of higher/further education/technical college, HND or degree level is 'Construction Technology' by Roy Chudley, fourth edition (ISBN number 0131286420). However if you all ready own construction technology, then this book is the second best book to have in your library. My third choice would be 'Construction Technology an illustrated introduction' by Eric Fleming (ISBN number 1405102101).
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
I like both editions, introduction and advanced because they are very student friendly. It's easy to understand and the drawings are very clear. I recommend this book to everybody who wants to learn about constructions and doesn't know what to start with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
This an excellent guide for advanced construction of high rise buildings with key area discussed and not just regurgitated from the first book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Was exactly what I ordered and what i needed. Great in depth look at construction and also very clea. Great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
An excellent book for the student undergraduate. Well written, easy to follow and great pictures. The book was a favourite on my HNC Construction and is now used on my Quantity Surveying degree course. It's ideal for both, to aid the understand of building technology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
Very good book, descriptions are excellent, will give you a good idea of what is going on.

Diagrams/images are basic NOT detailed enough with words
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)