Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2014
Anthony Starr plays an amoral,anti-hero ex-con who finds himself with the opportunity to become the new sheriff of Banshee,a small Amish area town which is hugely corrupted and full of unsavoury characters.
Starr's character embraces this new power and often uses methods beyond the law to rectify wrongs in this community; herein lies,at least in part,the reasons for the success of this 1st season.
There is much brutal violence and occasional gratuitous sex(some of it very unsavoury)and then some more bone breaking violence.

Those expecting Starr's sheriff to change into a white knight will be disappointed; his uncompromising stance stays throughout and he shows that when given the chance to change and start over some of us will revert to type just like water will take the easiest natural course to flow.

The makers have got the formulae right for this particular audience and I am solidly there even though I'm only halfway through this box set.
Please avoid if this might offend---this is spaghetti tv and the violence is over the top and unreal just like the great Leone set-pieces in his western masterpieces.
The Man With No Name is back.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
I followed Banshee midway through series 3 on Sky and was immediately hooked. This was an opportunity for me to now retrospectively look at where this all began. Within the DVD season 1 series are a lot of background extras that provide more in-depth understanding into the various characters that feature in the series that you don't get to see from the Sky output, as well as various scenes that were cut out of the screened versions. If you love the concept of Banshee and the hyper violence that this series introduced you to then you should love buying the DVD with the wealth of bonus material that this provides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2014
This is probably my favourite show of the moment, so much so I bought the bluray boxset you see here - it is set in a small Amish town area where all sorts of things happen! (I don't want to spoil the show for anyone here) but if you like a crime thrilling, stylish and mysterious show with a little 'extra' thrown in then this could well be the show for you! I am now starting to watch season 2 on Sky Atlantic which is just as fun and thrilling as this first season here, and I will no doubt buy the season 2 on bluray as well when it is released.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2016
Can't believe how good this is watched first 4 episodes at my daughters on sky wow never seen anything as good as this so sent for it off Amazon and my wife and I watched all 10 episodes straight off its brilliant and very violent and plenty of sex too , the special effects are really good the characters in it are very good would definatly recomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2014
What can you say about this show that doesn't sound contrived and old hat.
It is quiet simply brilliant,everyone has a dark secret and personal agenda.
The hero is so damaged that he shall never be truly a good man and that reflects on all the self destructive decisions that he makes.
But what makes this show so outstanding are the fight scenes,I have never seen such brutality and real world viciousness on the small screen before.
I for one cannot wait for the next season.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
Just finished watching this and had ordered season 2 before the end of the last episode. Best thing I have seen since 'Spartacus' Yes it's over the top and violent but the plot twists keep you from getting bored, fantastic series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2014
Great series good characters a refreshing change from game shows and reality TV
saw part of an episode on sky and bought the set on the strengh of it. Really enjoyed the raw and gritty characters and cant wait for the second season release. Be aware that this is definatly an adult show that contains strong violence and adult themes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2016
Hooked from the very first episode, It pushes the boundaries with some great fight/ adult scenes. I would say it's my favourite series at the moment and with a few seasons already made if you haven't started to watch this you need to start!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2014
What a brilliant bit of entertainment. I could watch it again and again and again. Here's a production, not so totally different to others, that has a story that's worth following.

It tells the story of an ex-con who takes advantage of a situation that enables him to continue with his own mission in life. Please watch it and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2016
Good, fast paced and lots of action but so far fetched at times, some of the fight scenes are so over the top as well. I mean it's a wonder Hood still has a face left after all the beatings he's taken and fights he's been in! Also every hot woman in the show are always so keen to jump into bed with him at every opportunity. Quite the babe magnet is our new Sheriff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)