Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 February 2018
I give 5 stars for BANG! the history of the Universe by three astronomers using simple language in 144 pages with 51 fine illustrations. It makes a perfect present for the discerning or as a school prize. The message of the book is excellently summarised in the Preface and Epilogue. Included are a glossary, biographies of 15 great astronomers and a time line over 13.7 billion years to the present day. Readers will be interested to know that it is the same Brian May who has the global reputation as a musician as he enjoys as an astronomer. My favourite passage is their statement:
We feel that if the workings of the Universe in all their beauty, are properly appreciated , there is no conflict between Science and Religion; they merely deal with different areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2014
I have based my rating on the hardback edition which I previously owned but gave away. The illustrations in that are superb and helpful as is the clear, well written explanation of the history of the universe and Big Bang. This is great for adults and older children because it does not seek to baffle or confuse, but clarify, explain and demonstrate in straightforward but interesting terms. Well worth the price for the hardback. BUT do not buy the kindle edition if you want the illustrations as these are missing. I was furious when my kindle version was delivered and discovered it contains just text. I would definitely not have bought if this had been clearly stated. So be warned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2016
This is a book that everybody should read. It might undermine any religious beliefs you might have concerning the whereabouts of heaven. Only possible to read this in small portions as it is mind boggling,and stretches the imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2008
As soon as I saw this book and read the reviews I had to buy it, On receiving the book you can tell immediately a lot of hard work and thought has gone into it, the book itself is beautifully put together the front cover has a striking hologram on the front, it's a well executed graphical representation of the Big Bang and is a really nice bonus.

I liked how the book puts forward fairly complicated astronomy and science in an easy and enjoyable way, without the feeling you're being spoken down to.

The book is ideal for a younger audience too as it's layout is striking while at the same time being useful and intuitive, there seems to be a very good reason for everything in this book. The science, the layout, the graphics and the stunning illustrations are all top class.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2013
Often the great problem of writing about the cosmos is trying to understand it all. Well, Patrick Moore, Brian May, and Chris Lintott certainly get my vote for that. An uncomplicated text with great detail makes this book an excellent tool for learning. RIP Patrick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2014
A more normal size book, updated and reduced in size from the original coffee table tome, Bang! Explains in mostly layman's terms the story of this universe, from beginning to end. Over the years, I've bought the first, second, and fourth editions. The third edition sneaked past me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2017
Excellent book, big size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2013
I haven't finished this book yet, but it is well-written and I will. It has the same effect on me as all astronomy books - you get drawn into an alternative univese here on earth through a weired way of thinking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2010
Overall this is a good book, but i found it a little bit too simplistic. That said that may have been due to the fact that at the same time i was reading Big Bang: by Simon Singh which i have to say is really excellent, and therefore in comparison this book suffered.
The book is well set out with a logical continuity of the history. It is colourful with great pictures, but many times I was left feeling a little short of detail. I guess you can start with this book as an introduction and then explore each of the topics further in other books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2017
Patrick Moore at his best a great writer and presenter. Enthusiasm oozes out of every paragraph
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)