Bach : Musikalisches Opfe... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bach : Musikalisches Opfer

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £5.38 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
15 new from £4.57 2 used from £4.11
£5.38 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Performer: Conentus Musicus Wien
  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Audio CD (6 Oct. 2008)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • ASIN: B001FQ72HW
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 427,524 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ricercare a 3 - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  2. Canon perpetuus super thema regium - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  3. Canon a 2 - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  4. Canon a 2 Violini in unisono - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  5. Canon a 2 per motum contrarium - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  6. "Canon a 2 per augmentationem, contrario motu - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079"
  7. Canon a 2 per tonos - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  8. Fuga Canonica in Epidiapente - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  9. "Bach, JS : A Musical Offering BWV1079 : I Ricercare a 3"
  10. Canon a 2 - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  11. Canon a 4 - Musikalisches Opfer BWV 1079
  12. Largo - Trio
  13. Allegro - Trio
  14. Andante - Trio
  15. Allegro - Trio
  16. Mozart : Ein Musikalisches Opfer BWV1079 : II Canon perpetuus

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
J S Bach's "Musikalisches Opfer" BWV 1079 ("The Musical Offering") is a work steeped in mystery. Perhaps more a set of technical and theoretical excercises than a composition, these pieces are based on a theme given to Bach by Frederick the Great in Potsdam in 1747. This work can become compelling, once it gets into your head.

This recording was made as long ago as 1970 for Telefunken in Vienna by Concentus musicus Wien directed by Nikolaus Harnoncourt and won plaudits when released. As an aside, the sound quality is brilliant analogue, well transferred here into the recordings present version in the Warner Classics Teldec Das Alte Werk 50-year anniversary edition. The booklet comes with the full original notes from Harnoncourt. This has been available before on CD Bach: A Musical Offering /Tachezi · Harnoncourt and Musical Offering, and, no doubt, will be in the forthcoming Warner "big box of Bach".

An excellent performance, this disc is especially interesting for those following the development of recorded Bach performances down the years. Recommended.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category