5 used & new from £17.97

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bach: Complete Orchestral Suites /Boston Baroque · M Pearlman Hybrid SACD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Hybrid SACD, 18 Dec 2008
£61.06 £17.97
Available from these sellers.
2 new from £61.06 3 used from £17.97

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Audio CD (18 Dec. 2008)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Telarc
  • ASIN: B0001XAJUM
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 683,578 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Overture
  2. Bourree 1 - Bourree 2
  3. Gavotte
  4. Menuet 1 - Menuet 2
  5. Rejouissance
  6. Overture
  7. Courante
  8. Gavotte 1 - Gavotte 2
  9. Forlane
  10. Menuet 1 - Menuet 2
  11. Bourree 1 - Bourree 2
  12. Passepied 1 - Passepied 2
  13. Overture
  14. Air
  15. Gavotte 1 and 2
  16. Bourrée
  17. Gigue
  18. Overture
  19. Rondeau
  20. Sarabande
  21. Bourree 1 - Bourree 2
  22. Polonaise
  23. Menuet
  24. Badinerie

Product description


There is no dearth of recordings of the Bach Orchestral Suites, but Martin Pearlman's Complete Orchestral Suites goes right to the top of the list of recommended performances. Pearlman and his Boston Baroque play on period instruments but there is never any stridency in the strings, none of the odd pressured quality that can creep into "historically informed" readings. The third and fourth suites, the most heavily scored, are given truly rousing readings, with the trumpets and timpani making a joyful noise and the oboes and bassoon audible and very welcome in the mix---the recording is well-balanced. The first suite has prominent wind parts as well, and Pearlman weaves them in and out of the orchestral fibre effectively, as the music indicates. The tricky second suite is often presented as a type of flute concerto, but Pearlman has the solo flute backed up by multiple strings in the grander passages and reduces them to solos when the flute has its own melodic line. Most importantly, he realises that the movements of all the suites are dances, and so the music, in its own, French Baroque way, swings. The recording is as fine as the performances, which is to say, remarkable. --Robert Levine, Amazon.com

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 16 March 2014
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.8 out of 5 stars 11 reviews
10 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsGlorious, Fresh and Engaging
on 4 April 2005 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsNo buyer's remorse here!
on 10 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful.
4.0 out of 5 starsNaxos does it again
on 13 June 2000 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsone of the best bach harpsicord concertos collection
on 27 December 2013 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
1.0 out of 5 starsI received a CD - not an SACD as advertised
on 18 January 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: land conservation

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?