J S Bach: Coffee and Peas... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

J S Bach: Coffee and Peasant Cantatas Enhanced

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £12.21 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
23 new from £5.91 1 used from £10.07
£12.21 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Ton Koopman Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (18 Dec. 2008)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Enhanced
  • Label: Challenge Classics
  • ASIN: B000HWY4OO
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 233,512 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Recitative (Tenor): 'Schweigt Stille, Plaudert Nicht'
  2. Aria (Bass): 'Hat Man Nicht Mit Seinen Kindern'
  3. Recitative (Soprano, Bass) 'Du Boses Kind, Du Loses Madchen'
  4. Aria (Soprano): 'Ei! Wie Schmeckt Der Coffee Susse'
  5. Recitative (Soprano, Bass): 'Wenn Du Mir Nicht Den Coffee Lasst'
  6. Aria (Bass): 'Madchen, Die Von Harten Sinnen'
  7. Recitative (Soprano, Bass): 'Nun Folge, Was Dein Vater Spricht'
  8. Aria (Soprano): 'Heute Noch, Lieber Vater Tut Es Doch'
  9. Recitative (Tenor): 'Nun Geht Und Sucht Der Alte Schlendrian'
  10. Chorus (Soprano, Tenor, Bass): 'Die Katze Lasst Das Mausen Nicht'
  11. Sinfonia
  12. Aria. Duetto (Soprano, Bass): 'Mer Hahn En Neue Oberkeet'
  13. Recitative (Bass, Soprano): 'Nu, Mieke, Gib Dein Guschel Immer Her'
  14. Aria (Soprano): 'Ach, Es Schmekt Doch Gar Zu Gut'
  15. Recitative (Bass): Ter Herr Ist Gut: Allein Der Schosser'
  16. Aria (Bass): 'Ach, Herr Schosser, Geht Nicht Gar Zu Schlimm'
  17. Recitative (Soprano, Bass): 'Er Hilft Uns Allen, Alt Und Jung'
  18. Aria (Soprano): Tas Ist Galant
  19. Recitative (Soprano, Bass): 'Er Hilft Uns Allen, Alt Und Jung'
  20. Aria (Soprano): Tas Ist Galant'
  21. Recitative (Bass): 'Und Unsre Gnad'ge Frau'
  22. Aria (Bass): 'Funfzig Taler Bares Geld'
  23. Recitative (Bass): 'Im Ernst Ein Wort!'
  24. Ario (Soprano): 'Klein-Zschocher Musse So Zart Und Susse'
  25. Recitative (Bass): 'Das Ist Zu Klug Vor Dich'
  26. Aria (Bass) 'Es Nehme Zehntausend Dukaten'
  27. Recitative (Soprano): 'Das Klingt Zu Liederlich'
  28. Aria (Soprano) 'Gib, Schone, Viel Sohne'
  29. Recitative (Bass): 'Du Hast Wohl Recht'
  30. Aria (Bass): 'Dein Wachstum Sei Feste'
  31. Recitative (Soprano, Bass): 'Und Damit Sei Es Auch Genung'
  32. Aria (Soprano, Bass) 'Mein Schatz! Erraten'
  33. Recitative (Soprano, Bass): 'Mein Schatz! Erraten'
  34. Coro (S, B) Wir Gehn Nun, Wo Der Dudelsak
  35. Aria (Bass) 'Amore Traditore'
  36. Recitative (Bass): 'Voglio Provar'
  37. Aria (Bass) 'Chi In Amore Ha Nemica La Sorte'

Product Description

Product Description

Selected from the award-winning cycle of recordings of the complete cantatas of J. S. Bach the secular pieces featured on this album represent works composed at very different stages in his career and also performed in different venues. The Italian chamber cantata "Amore traditore" BWV 203 was written when he served as capellmeister to the prince of Anhalt-Köthen from 1717 to 1723, whereas the other two works originated in Bach's Leipzig period. The so-called "coffee cantata" BWV 211 belongs to the repertoire Bach wrote for his Collegium Musicum, when Bach organised concerts that took place weekly at the Zimmermann Coffee House and outdoor Coffee Garden. The so-called "peasant cantata" BWV 212 is the last secular cantata known to have been composed by Bach. Dating from 1742, it was commissioned for a celebratory occasion at a country estate outside of the city of Leipzig. The idea behind the work is a serenade offered by the peasant folks greeting their master, the new occupant of the mansion.

Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra & Choir, Ton Koopman - (conductor), Soloists: Anne Grimm - (soprano), Els Bongers - (soprano), Paul Agnew - (tenor), Klaus Mertens - (bass)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category