Buy Used
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by reusabook
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Product dispatched in UK within 48 hours. Thanks.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Awakening (Hyddenworld Quartet 2) Hardcover – 5 Aug 2011

4.6 out of 5 stars 29 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
£9.49 £0.01
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.
Getting the download link through email is temporarily not available. Please check back later.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Macmillan (5 Aug. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0230712614
  • ISBN-13: 978-0230712614
  • Product Dimensions: 15.9 x 3.4 x 24.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 467,068 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Book Description

ONLY PROPHESY CAN HEAL TWO WORLDS --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

William Horwood is the author of the bestselling classic Duncton Wood and Wolves of Time series. William has returned to his hallmark fantasy in this epic series following the flow of the seasons. Hyddenworld is the first of four books in the Hyddenworld series. William lives and works in Oxford.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book isn't just good, it's magical!
William Horwood has taken threads from his first Hyddenworld book (Spring) and has developed them to create a colourful web of interweaving plots and characters which are so delightful that I found myself reluctant to put this book down. I was drawn into the tightly written plot in such a way that my own imagination was engaged very early on, allowing me to create my own mental imagery based on the author's wonderful descriptions of people and scenes.
From the beginning we are greeted by characters we have met previously, but even though this book is a sequel and works as such, it also functions as a stand-alone volume because of the way the author has occasionally dropped important snippets from the first book into the plot of this one. He has done this sparingly but effectively so that the new reader can understand what's happening while those of us returning to this series are reminded of useful facts without having to wade through pages of repetition from the first book.
The writing flows along very easily and I found myself being constantly surprised by the number of pages I had read without realising that much time had passed. The plot is both tight and consistent and contains numerous events which maintain interest and excitement throughout. The quality of the work is very even and the novel has a good sense of pace.
In typical Horwood fashion the writing is beautifully elegant, a fact which is helped by the author's unusually extensive vocabulary. There is evidence of great skill in the way he uses slightly different but complementary turns of phrase and even dialect for the various character groups and individuals, so helping to cement their disparate identities.
Read more ›
15 Comments 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed Hyddenworld: Spring: Spring Bk. 1, so I was looking out for this, to continue the story and return to this world again.

Once again, this is a pure joy to read and although it has scary and thought-provoking episodes, the overall feeling is of a kind of optimism about the world and the forces of nature.

There is a kind of naivety to many of the characters, which in other hands might make you see this as a book aimed at children - but there is a richness to the world created and a seriousness of purpose, that makes this a worthy read for anybody.

I found the descriptions of the Emperor Sinistral, being kept alive artificially beyond his natural time - extremely haunting and thought-provoking. The book deals with birth and death - what these mean to us and apart from the Emperor's deathly situation, it was the visceral birth of Judith - out in the open - that made the biggest impact.

The main philosophical issue is exemplified in Judith's condition - a life lived within a year. How short our lives are and what do we make of them? Jack develops further as a character, through the birth of his daughter and discovering his real family, as well as losing people close to him.

Once again, this series gains greatly by being linked to real places in England and Europe - it feels real and the detail rings true. The idea of viewing this from the perspective of the Hydden gives us a new perspective on familiar ideas.

As I mentioned before, I loved this book - but it can be slow and goes off on tangents and diversions that halt the narrative - often with detailed descriptions.
Read more ›
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Pyewacket TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 15 Oct. 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This second book continues seamlessly from the first and is every bit as good.

Kathleen and her partner Jack, a 'giant born' Hydden have just arrived back from Hyddenworld via the henge in the Foale's garden. Kathleen is in labour and gives birth to a girl whom they name Judith. She is the legendary The Shield Maiden. Back in the Hyddenworld, Stort has found the jewel of Spring and in Bochum the Emperor has just awoken after 2 decades of sleep. With both events happening the world (Gaia) rebels and there are earthquakes and floods both in our world and also in the Hyddenworld. All the jewels must soon be re-united otherwise the world will destroy itself. For this, I read that it is the human race who are slowly killing our planet by mining the heart out of her, fracking to get gas, depleting the Ozone layer and in general being disrespectable to Mother Nature.

It is now up to Stort and Jack along with some other Hydden, to recover the gem of Autumn and the gem of Spring from Bochum which is where the Emperor is using the former to stay youthful.

There is not so much mention of the Fyrd as there was in the first book but they are still around and in particular Witold Slew who will do anything in his power to thwart Jack and Stort. He even manages to find out where Stort has secreted the gem of Spring and steals it.

I don't wish to say more because it would be a spoiler for those who have yet to read the second book but I do recommend it highly. I am now reading Harvest which is the third part of the quartet. So far, it is shaping up just as good as the first too.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Look for similar items by category