Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
114
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.29


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 September 2015
'Aventine' offers eleven numbers. Agnes Obel has an inimitably haunting voice that is dreamlike and almost pixieish but beautiful. One can't help compare her to Enya, although Agnes has moved this style to the next level. Here we have piano-led compositions, embellished with wise restraint and sparingly used instrumentation, soft percussion and strings that create a soundscape to compliment her vocal performances. The album offers beautifully tempered vocal harmonies that creates a magical experience. It's like listening to music in a woodland setting by moonlight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
ITS OK A BIT BLAND FOR ME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Excellent sound quality..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
No problem thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Excellent - Very haunting. The music sent shivers down my spine.
The record itself arrived in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Stunningly beautiful from start to finish, a refreshing smorgasbord of Scandinavian musical landscapes. This album is pure joy and class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
Quality of vinyl edition is simply abysmal. I have a high-end setup and 90% of my collection (some LPs dating from '50s) sounds perfectly. This one however cracks and pops to limit of actually believing it. Definition and dynamics are among the poorest I have encountered so far, comparable to a quite worn out record - I have few of such...
This is such a disastrous pressing and it really is dissapointing. At the same time I bought newly pressed LP "In the Court of the Crimson King" and that one is so superb...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 September 2013
I must admit to never having heard of Agnes Obel before until a friend pointed me in her direction at the weekend, warning me to look out for the release of this album. So I downloaded it this morning and have now listened to it 3 times in a row. It is truly a thing of haunting beauty, quite challenging in places but a delightful piece of work. Predominantly all you have is Ms Obel's soulful voice accompanied by Piano and the odd string instrument, the double bass being particularly effective. There are a couple of tracks that are purely solo piano, to my ears in the style of Erik Satie, and this quietly insistent style is also to be found on many of the vocal tracks. I love it, but it may not appeal to all. It IS very understated, there are no uptempo numbers, indeed tracks like "Run Cried The Calling" and "the Curse" are decidedly creepy but on the whole this is a very effective album of mood music and if you "get" it, you will love it as well.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
After buy 10" single "The Curse", finally the full album "Aventime" was delivered.
It's a mix of classical and ethereal songs, with very delicate vocals, making the musical experience very special.
The vinyl edition has a very good sound quality, and beautiful insert sleeve with lyrics. Include a CD with full album,
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Much more 'sophisticated' than Philharmonics (in its production) but in my opinion equally compelling. I listen to both albums on a continuous loop in my car - and especially track two of this album is utterly sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)