Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
44
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2006
A very well written third novel in an exceptional series of thriller/action books. I read the first of these novels ('Boy Soldier') to screen it before giving it to my 12 year old son, (the series being aimed at the 'teen' market,) but now we're both addicted. 'Avenger' is darker, deeper and even more thought provoking than the previous two novels of the series. The principal characters have developed in such a way as to draw us into their world, and to feel and live every moment of their complex lives, almost as if we were there along side them ourselves! Wonderful stuff!! A great read and a great series. Highly recommended for ages 12 to adult. A true page turner through and through! Thank you again Messers McNab and Rigby!! Roll on May '07 for the next installment!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2006
Avenger, more than even the first two books in the Boy Soldier series, completely blew me away. Congratulations to the authors firstly for choosing to tackle such a controversial subject and secondly for doing it so well - their treatment of the suicide bombers theme is fundamentally sensitive and consequently the plot itself is even more gripping but also scarily relevant. I think this is a really important book for adults and young people alike and needs to be read. I can't wait for the next one - I only hope it won't be the end of the series.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
The third book in the Boy soldier series this is as good as the previous two. Featuring a group called Black Dtar who are known as Angels of Death. This story is fast moving, packed with action and thrills with the authentic details from Andy's SAS experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Great book. This one is a really riveting read and picks up where the first 2 left off. Great background knowledge and character development too. A worthwhile read but only if you enjoyed the first 2!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2006
This book has a bad start; it feels like it is aimed at a child and that I am back at school, and the plot seems utterly implausible. About 5 chapters in, you are ready to give up.

Then the book or I suppose the author, clicks!

What follows is a very exciting read. Unlike most spy novels which fizzle out towards the end, this is truly climatic with strong progression throughout the book. Close to the end you can not turn the pages fast enough. Moreover, the book leaves you with some profound questions around the price we have to pay for our security which you will take away long after you put the book down.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2008
The third instalment of the Boy soldier series brings excitement and intensity on a new level to this action packed series by Andy McNab and Robert Rigby.

Danny, Elena and Fergus are all working for the mysterious Deveraux to find Black Star, an internet mastermind who sends teenagers to their own deaths.

Its so far the best of the Boy Solider (I have just started Meltdown, the 4th book) with so much better writing and intensity than the previous 2, which is my personal favourite convention of a novel.

McNab again using his experience and knowledge, though there are less technical operations in place and it's a lot more character focused, especially on Elena and Black Star, and having it more character based will allow the reader to become more associated with the characters, which was essential to make the book as interesting as it was.

Its fast, precise, tense and very dramatic with one of the most tense endings to have ever been written.

Slightly repetitive and a few issues seem to drag but otherwise its perfect, with the chapters being the right length, the action spaced and the right amount of time focused.

These Boy Solider books are encouraging me to read McNab's adult novels as well. His writing is precise, intriguing and tense throughout, which is everything a reader could want from an action thriller, and this is the best Boy Solider book, with everything in.

8.5/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2006
McNab is one of the best writers that i read at the moment he keeps astonishing the world with these amazing novels. i ordered this book 3 months before it came out and was anxious to read it that when it turned up i couldnt put it down. and i have just ordered the next McNab book "Recoil" Big praise for McNab for is work and please keep on writing these amazing novels.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
I have read most of the Nick Stone books and bought this to train my 13 year old son on thrilling reads. Having read it I think it really hits the button on the modern generation mid teens. I don't know how I survived on Secret Seven for adventure reads, years ago. The book is true to form from McNab though he cuts out a lot of the descriptive violence as Elena is sent undercover as a dis-illusioned teen and apprentice suicide bomber trying to find the mastermind 'Black Star'. Now to get my Son to read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
I've now read a number of Andy McNab's books, and have found them to be gripping tales of combat. I feel that 'Avenger' is a story that would appeal to readers of all age groups, and if you've never read this author, then you're missing out... While writing this review I would like to bring to your attention another excellent novel -'The Constantine Legacy' by Andrew Towning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
You must read the 4 books in this collection. I finished them in no time. None stop action. If you like fantasy with what could of happened in the real world you will love the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here