Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
73
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 July 2013
A movie star who, by her own admission hated making movies, Ava Gardner was a unique and original screen beauty who's fondness for booze, men and good times are legendary. This book is her story as told by her to Peter Evans, who she asked to ghost write her autobiography in the late 1980's.
Her volatile temper, extreme language and life long affair with alcohol and tobacco are well documented, as is her generosity, quick wit, deep unhappiness and short fuse when it came to getting her own way.
This book is a gem among other Ava biographies, in that on every page you get to 'hear' the star's own voice. Peter Evans has captured what he spent so long trying to attain, Ava's independent and complex personality.
I laughed out loud several times while reading this book, and by the end felt a profound sadness for a lady who's life (by the end of it) had taken her on a journey from the pinnacles of stardom, to a sad and somewhat lonely end.
A truly fantastic and fascinating book.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
This superbly written account of the life of one of Hollywood's most glamorous, complex and misunderstood stars is a must read for anyone interested in Ava Gardner, or indeed in the movie culture of the 50s to 70s. Evans brings Ava Gardner's obstinacy and awkwardness in her last years to life effortlessly. Read this and you're guaranteed to be highly entertained, totally engrossed, and learn something.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
You get a real insight into what Ava Gardner was like in her latter years and I am not sure that, for me, she came across as a very likeable person. I found the end of the book left disappointing as it left the reader up in the air. Overall worth a read but not as informative as I thought it would be.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
From reviews I had read, I had expected more from this book. The basic problem is that Ava Gardner doesn't seem to have been a very interesting character though she was obviously a 'tough cookie'. OK she married some famous people including Frank Sinatra (hardly covered in the book) but reading about heavy drinking, smoking and wild parties doesn't do it for me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
If your looking for a 'complete' Bio do not buy this book! It hardly covers anything in detail and so many questions left un answered. That said the author seemed to really capture the 'voice' and personality of Ava Gardner. Its a quick read and not really worth the price, I was left feeling slightly cheated.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
This book is very well written and you feel as if you are in the room with Peter Evans and Ava Gardner when they are talking. It is an insight to the life of one of the world's most beautiful women and the events that shaped her life.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Such a wonderful actress and a great lady. What an interesting life and a side of her life we had not seen or heard.so many memories of a very beautiful person we have forever on the screen.Most enjoyable read
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
For those who love Hollywood Stars from this era, this book is a must, Ava Gardner is one of the most beautiful icons from this time and this book is a 'have to read' I couldn't put it down from the first page and just know I will read it again and again, a wonderful insight of her life from a bygone era
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
In my young days I used to look like her, hence getting all the books about her.

I was sadly surprised at her " Vulgar " language and promiscuous behaviour .

Still the most beautiful woman in the world Pity her ugly nature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
difficult to rate because, due to the author's unexpected death, it is an unfinished work. but it was relentlessly downbeat. the format of writing the conversations in note form, then revising them for the book resulted in repetitions which sometimes made me think 'Hey, haven't I already read that. ' All grist for the mill as far as Ava devotees are concerned. I would have liked to learned more about the fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here