Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2014
This book starts of rather ponderously with an account of the political situation in India at the time of the arrest of Bhai Randhir Singh Ji for his part in the Lahore Conspiracy (agitation to get rid of the British Raj over India), however after this prologue starts the autobiography of Bhai Randhir Singh Ji which chronicles his 16 years spent in various jails as a political prisoner.

The account is moving and raw with the descriptions of the many humiliations faced by Bhai Randhir Singn Ji emotional to read. His interactions with various jailers demonstrate with clarity the conduct demanded of Sikhs even when faced with depressing and hopeless situations.

My highlight of the book comes from Bhai Randhir Singh Ji interaction with Bhagat Singh in which Bhair Randhir Singh Ji admonishes Bhagat Singh for desecrating his Sikh appearance. In this passage Bhai Randhir Singh Ji argument about Sikhi being above the petty trivialities of personal ego and fame really spoke to me.

A highly recommend read for Sikhs and non-Sikhs alike on how to live an honourable life with the upmost integrity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
I know very little about the Sikh faith but was inspired and impressed by what I read in this book. Some parts are very disturbing about the poor way he was treated but his faith and resilience shone through everything he wrote. Whatever your faith this is worth reading and thinking about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
This was a wonderful read. Bhai Sahib Randir Singh helps the reader to tune into one of the Universe's most powerful tools - your soul. Within the pages of this fascinating book one can find the way to discover and access ones own spiritual faculties, open up to a guiding higher consciousness, and find your true self as you begin to understand the nature and function of your soul. Bhai Sahib Randir Singh says "Once your spiritual gifts are recognized, opened, and used, you'll see yourself and the world in a way you never thought possible!"
The book guides the reader to a "personal healing sanctuary"
Learning to step into ones owns power is a positive experience. This book has left an imprint on my mind, heart and soul.
Unlike many mainstream spiritual books, Bhai Sahib places a responsible emphasis on living a spiritual life and goes on to provide an outlined plan. Its rare today to see someone skillfully break things down and explain the why's and how's of daily spiritual thought, voice, and living. Bhai Sahib does so with ease.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
It is so much better when you skip the introduction by the translator and go straight to the autobiography. Unless you know of Bhai Sahib Randhir Singh, then you will just get confused by the introduction section.

I went back and read the intro after I had read the book - then it makes sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
being a Sikh I did not hear about Bhai Sahib before but so glad I did now.
on reading about his struggles for the faith made me reignite my own faith again and hope I be a better Sikh and person
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
This autobiography gives an insight into the life of Bhai Sahib, I cannot express how valuable this is to me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
This is a very well written and translated text. The story has opened my eyes to a legend whos life has been forgotten in modern times. Definately worth a read for anyone considering it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
The book is written extremely beautiful and in such a details, in which the reader learned his experiences in dept and they are very valuable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
The most inspiring and eye opening book I have ever read. It touched my heart and brought tears of happiness and sadness to my eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
A very inspiring and educational book, it was a great read and certainly keeps you turning the pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)