Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
At War With Satan [VINYL]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£29.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 August 2017
buy or die
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2011
Concept albums are like potholes in the street no matter how you try to ignore them the fact remains they exist, Venom pulled this off in 1984 with the release of their 3rd album 'At war with satan' on the eager public.

To be honest with you the 'concept' is of the opening track only titled 'At war with satan', which is a ferociously (albiet sloppy) near 20 minute opener. Venom's producer Keith nichol had recieved critiscism with many feeling that he didnt give the track the extra dimension it needed.

the other songs on the album are alot better such as 'Rip ride'(wich does exactly what it says on the tin) 'genocide' 'cry wolf' 'stand up and be counted' 'women leather and hell'(which sounds like a deadly combination on anyones languauge) and 'Aaaaarrgghh' which is just plain silly.

But why couldnt this album take venom to the next level, because it should have been the album the shrug off the fast rising thrash metal bands like Metalllica and Slayer who were ready to pounce of the old innovaters if they faultered. But commerecially it wasnt their big break, it sold well enough but there was a feeling from alot of people that it could have been alot better.

Even now in 2011 the frustrations still linger because...well because it could have been so much more. At war with satan is venoms most frustrating album because it wasnt as good as it should have been, However when venom toured america people suddenly realised the the songs on 'At war' was some of the finest songs venom had written, and it says so much for the band that their hotly touted support band Slayer (who were banging their heads in the front row) could even come close to the fury and focus than venom displayed nigh after night.

so 'At war with satan' a glorious failier then? thats very harsh, just make up your own mind.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2016
I ordered another copy of this as my first is in the loft and I don't have the LP to hand and I really wanted to listen to the fantastic twenty minutes of At War With Satan which is, in my opinion, one of the greatest Black Metal tracks ever released.
The rest of the album is just as great but the plethora of bonus tracks that weren't on the original CD release makes this all the more appealing with no fewer than six 12" versions of some classic Venom songs.
If you're an old fan like me or just getting into Venom, go ahead and click that purchase button.
Welcome To Hell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2008
I first encountered this magnificent opus at a time when I was both young and impressionable, and at that time I was completely oblivious to the fact that Venom had a wry sense of humour which permeated pretty much everything they did. Hence, the leather bound gatefold sleeve (complete with burning inverted crucifix), scant information on the band and general subject matter, had a fairly profound effect at the time - and that was before I'd actually dared to play the thing. Coupled with this was the general view that Venom were `the worst band in the World' and the sense of trepidation was intense.

So how does it, and did it, sound? Initially introduced at the tail end of the CD Black Metal (a kind of prophecy for what was about to come to pass) the title track kicks off proceedings with a crack of thunder before the ominous drone of Cronos' bass leads into the first of many enormously memorable variations in gold plated riffs. Cronos literally roars into action before the struggle between good and evil is played out in a demented 20 minute long tale that is totally enthralling, both musically (?!) and lyrically (I won't dwell too much on the drumming). The spoken peroration at the close of the title track still sends shivers down the spine ("an unseen presence...") as it is delivered with apparent total conviction - if you didn't know the group or were deluded enough to still believe in the drug crazed Biblical story of Revelations, this would all be rather disturbing. Put simply, it's an inspired, slightly chaotic in places, masterpiece with great lyrics, huge riffs and a great story line. Cleverly it ends where it starts, proving that the battle between good (secularism, say) and evil (organised religion) goes on and on forever.

The rest of the album? Well, for the record, Genocide and Rip Ride are cracking breakneck speed in-your-face tunes and there is the worthy album closer AAAAAAARRRGGGGGHHH!, which only serves to emphasise the fundamental truth that Venom don't take themselves too seriously (check out the Basil Brush impression at the end of Cry Wolf for more evidence of this). In fact the track AAAAAAAAARRRGGGGGHHH! is so gloriously bad, it's almost a piece of Art worthy of the Turner prize....

This extended version has the worthy additions of the eerie Manitou and the plodding Warhead. Strangely, Venom's single output in most cases surpasses the cuts that made it to album's such as Black Metal and Lady Lust is no exception to this rule.

In their own words on the churning 'Stand Up And Be Counted' - "We are the Black Metal Gods - Veee, EEEE, ENNN, OOOO, ******* EMMMM ....." On the basis of this album, there is no contest really.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2002
Part concept album, this release was quite ambitious for Venom, especially when you consider that earlier releases from these thrash metal pioneers featured short, punk-influenced songs. With this album, their third, they introduced a greater sense of dynamics and melody into the fledgling thrash/death genre.
The song "At War With Satan" itself is close to twenty minutes long, telling a grandiose tale of a war between Heaven and Hell. A triumph - although Venom's musical skills were at times rudimentary, the listener can hear them being pushed to the limit, and displaying many original ideas.
The other songs are shorter songs but no less enjoyable for that. Rip Ride, Cry Wolf and Genocide are three of Venom's finest moments, displaying the level to which the band had honed their trademark ferocity.
Certainly a very different album to any over-produced thrash or death metal album you might find nowadays, but for anyone interested in where Slayer, Metallica and Celtic Frost got some of their inspiration, this would be a fine choice.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2012
the most underated yet brilliant album,
my fave venom album ,and ive got them all ,being from durham and following venom from the start, i feel they are part of me ,
this band wer so exciting and fresh at the time ,when rainbow went pop, and the rest of metal wer stagnating , newcastle produced this fury of venom onto the unsuspecting public ,

my mate taped this for me ,and upon hearing ,i rushed out to buy it there and then, i still find it exciting to listen to,
its not a concept ,more a masterpiece of metal,

if you like venom, you are in for a treat ,because this album ,in my view , is an uncompromising piece of work and really deserves more praise than it gets ....buy this album now ...all hail cronos, mantas ,and abadon
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2011
At war with satan is a unique metal classic , 20 minutes of great music, not a dull second in the entire song. And the rest of the album has some great songs. A must to any metal fan, highly recommanded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2012
Overall it's a good album, not as much as the two previous of course but still and for me it's for two reasons:
The title track is good but it takes time to digest and you can't play it in loop because of its length,
and the final track is unnecessary with stupid name and its too bad because the album anyway is short.
The other songs are the strong part of the album, like the great classic songs in the previuos albums. Songs like 'Rip Ride', 'Cry Wolf' and 'Women, Leather and Hell'.
The album contain pure evil sound that fitting to any metal fan mood, so this album is highly recommended like the previous two because after this as i wrote on the title, venom became deteriorate.
Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2012
At War With Satan is a brilliant track, the rest of the album isn't bad either. I bought this album when it first came out, 28 years ago, and at almost 20 minutes the track AWWS is still stunning. On it's own it stands head and shoulders above the rest, but when you imagine the number of bands that owe a debt to Venom and specifically this track, then it should truly be recognised as a masterpiece of the genre. Buy it, and turn it up to 11...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2016
classic old skool thrash
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)