Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by how the author has managed to present a condiderable amount of knowledge without the confusing depth provided by some text-books. This is not to criticise the latter but simlpy to say I think Astronomy - a self teaching guide is a straight forward and useful place to start.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
Not being the brightest spark, this book requires some mental effort but it's definitely worth it. If you're new to astronomy and really want to understand how it all works then this is a must. There are other books that will give far simpler explanations but leave you with a lot of unanswered questions, not this one. I also love the tests at the end of each chapter which are a real boost when you realise how much you've taken in and also let you know which bits to read again! I bought this initially on Kindle but it's just too difficult to navigate to the maps at the back so would recommend the physical book. As my husband said 'I was after the world and got the universe'! Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
Very good book on astronomy. I wanted a review of astronomy without getting into the heavy tech stuff. This book did just that - very enjoyable read.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
This book is very well written and covers a lot of topics of interest for amateur astronomers of all kinds. Makes an excellent reference book
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
This is a great introduction to astronomy, pitched somewhere betwwen a popular science book and a basic textbook. Coverage includes theory of observing (the celestial globe and coordinates, strengths and weaknesses of observing in different wavelengths etc), solar system objects, star types and lifecyles, galaxies and cosmological issues (e.g. cosmological expansion and redshift) for a beginning audience. There is some maths but it's pretty basic, and questions at the end of each chapter to test your newly acquired knowledge.
Inspired me to go a bit futher with Ian Morison's excellent Introduction to Astronomy and Cosmology, which explores the same ideas but in more depth and with more of the maths. Finding this one a bit of challenge, but getting there, and Moche definiteky deserves some of the credit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
This is a really well written book; especially if you are reasonably new to astronomy and wanting to go down the teach yourself route.

The chapters are well sequenced and there is a number of opportunities to review your learning with some questions at the end of most of the sections.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Very well reproduced to be read electronically, although a paper version is always going to be better!

The book itself is well laid out and goes through the subject in a methodical manner with:
Aims/goals at the beginning of the chapter
The subject material
Worked examples for mathematical formulas [if applicable]
Self test questions on the chapter [with answers]

This has/will help me with Astronomy exams coming up next year.

Well recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
A very good book, full of questions & answers but i would be nice if it was written & published by some one living in the UK. but still full of information for any nationality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
easy to read and understand. has test questions to ensure that you have understood each section. this book is required for my astronomy evening class.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Very good book for someone interested in astronomy but with no previous knowledge. Easy to understand no maths to hard to grasp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)