Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2012
Assassin's Creed Liberation is great, classic AC gameplay with stunning graphics in the palm of your hand. The heroine makes for a very different character from the likeable-but-cocky male assassins we've met so far - I won't go into too much of Aveline's background, but she gives us the opportunity to see a fresh take on 18th Century New Orleans through multiple guises (equipped as an Assassin, or in disguise either as a lady or a slave). Each disguise/persona can use different equipment, has a different playstyle and will evoke different reactions from NPCs and targets. You can change your setup regularly at changing booths that you can unlock around the city.

The visuals aren't up to console standard, but handheld gaming has rarely looked better. Rich and varied environments are full of detail, and some of the new features of AC3 carry over to Liberation as well (we can now free-run through the trees in the Bayou swamp as you would across the rooftops of New Orleans). Lighting effects are good with better shadows than we have seen in previous Vita titles.

Controls are tight and responsive, and will be an easy transistion from the console tiles. There are some nice new elements to combat too with one technique triggering a slow-motion balletic sequence using multiple weapons to engage crowds of enemies - excellent stuff.

Sound quality is good (especially through in-ear headphones) and the voice-acting is solid and well accented.

Overall, Liberation has massively exceeded my personal expectations and if you have been waiting for a good reason to get a Vita...this is definitely it. If you already have one, then don't miss out.

N.B. There are a couple of negative reviews out on the internet with regards to framerate and sound bugs. Ubisoft issued a day-one patch that has pretty much eliminated these issues. This might account for the difference in review scores on Metacritic depending on whether the reviewers played the game pre-patch or post-patch.
66 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Great great fun. Havent put it down. At first anticlimaxed by the slow start, but from whence you get into it, BOOM!!!!!!

First really fantastic contribution to ps vita since uncharted and Fifa football. Fifa 13 could not have been more disappointing, but this has raised my spirits and belief in the vita. So happy i bought it. Great fun and really gripping. Better than uncharted. Smooth gameplay and new persona(s) give a whole new feel to the franchise. WOW.
Hope this is ok :)
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Aveline is an excellent protagonist, far more interesting as a person than Connor of Assasins Creed 3 fame. The graphics, sound and gameplay are all excellent for the vita, arguably the best looking game I have so far seen on this console. It has good options of collectables with really nice unlockable costumes and excellent weapon selection.
Storyline is a little vague and actually getting into the game is a little slow as the mechanics are explored but it is well worth it for the mature gamer. Free running, pick pocketing, chain kills and cargo trading are all here. Hopefully other developers will follow Ubisoft and produce games of this calibre.
Overall - I felt a better game than assassins creed 3, more engrossing, the story and characters are certainly immersive, minus a few bugs and badly executed ideas this is a must have for anyone crazy about either the series or platformers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Picked this up earlier in the year as my first PS Vita game after getting the system.

Liberations is a good game, filled with the classic gameplay that we've all grown to love with the series as it's progressed. The biggest difference with this, is that you play as a Heroine for the first time in the series history. You play as Aveline, a female Assassin who offers us a different view of the 18th Century in New Orleans. I won't go into the history here, don't want to spoil things for you. As the game progresses, you need to use different skills to get further through. Be it in the form of a lady, slave or the Assassin persona (each have their own equipments and style). Each of these offer a different view of New Orleans, so experiment to see what suits best in free-roam. You can change these persona's through "changing booths" located around the city (more being unlocked as you go)

Graphically, it isn't the best looking game i've seen. But for a handheld game, it has some fine graphics indeed. Environments are rich and full of detail in and around the New Orleans area. Features of III do cross over to Liberations. You have the free-running through the trees in the Bayou Swamp and between rooftops in New Orleans

Liberations does use the Vita's dual touch screen features quite well, there are times it becomes annoying. But a reset/rebalance in-game sorts this right out. The rest of the controls are responsive, providing an an immersive game right in the palm of your hands.

Audio quality is good. More so through the brilliant Headset 2.0 (compatible with PS Vita). It opens the sounds right up, making it more immersive. But even through the standard speakers on the Vita, it is certainly very good. The voice actors/actresses are chosen well, providing great accents for the era.

Having played this from start to finish, i can certainly say it is better than some are saying. There are a few flaws, but they can be overlooked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
I like Assasins Creed series quite a lot but this game is not my cup of tea. The idea of having an Assasins Creed with a female assassin in the Vita is good, but the execution really poor. Even updated with the latest patch the frame rate is very inconsistent, there is popping everywhere (popping that affects objects, textures, NPCs, etc.), everything looks blurry and the game does not feel responsive at all. Moreover, from time to time you are forced to use the touch screen in one of the worst implementations I have ever seen. Compared with some other demaing titles, like Killzone: Mercenary, the overall impression is really bad. I cannot imagine how was this game before patching. Anyway, you can give it a try, it is very cheap nowadays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Not being a fan of AC games i bought this to justify having my Vita, I have to say that i havnt stopped playing it.

Graphics a very good and game play is smooth. Like another reviewer the game starts slowly but as you progress it gets better and better.

One of the main things for me is that combat so far has been really simple which makes the game a bit more believable for me and keeps the game and story going at a great pace.

Im now going to buy this for PS3 once finished as you there are linkable features.

Overall 10 times better than expected and one of the best games on Vita so far.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I found this game bland, unimaginative and not enjoyable at all. It was a slog to get through to the end.

The characters weren't believable or interesting and the gameplay and graphics were massively stripped down from what I had grown accustomed to in the AC series. Big disappointment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
I've just finished this game and i'm pretty disappointed to be honest. The game is NOTHING like as good as the PS 3 version, this version is just glitch after glitch after glitch. It's soooooo annoying because the game play is actually really good fun. The glitches really start to kick in at the end of sequence 4 and Ubisoft should be shot for putting the giro controlled maze challenge into the game, absolutely ridiculous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Fairly impressive graphics considering the game is on a handheld platform, two large environments that are fairly detailed and interesting to explore. Gameplay is standard for the series, if you don't like the previous Assassin's Creed titles you won't like this one, the game also struggles to get a consistent framerate on the console.
Still a solid purchase.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
Wanted to write this review as I got the game early for various reasons, and to offset the other biased and unfair reviewer to help people make a better decision not based on his review.

Firstly, as I started the game the graphics reminded me of Uncharted: Golden Abyss, if less vibrant with muddier textures. Sadly I'm not sure if the game is at native resolution.
However, for these graphics issues the actual visual feel of the game is very realistic with great animation and character models, on par with U:GA's models but looking more 'real'.
Obviously for a handheld game this game is insanely detailed but for a Vita game I'd say it was just above average for the AAA games.

I found the gameplay extremely smooth and the combat also smooth, if a bit easier than ACII, but the fighting/killing animations are great. I think the fights are shorter so you can really get on with the actual storyline rather than constantly being bogged down with enemies.

So far the story is very good and I like the fact that it was created specifically for the Vita rather than a simple port from consoles however the maps seem slightly more restricted, at least at the beginning levels. New weapons (No spoilers!) are great.

The touch controls are pretty damn useless and seem like they were thrown in for a laugh.

To conclude, it's a damn good game so far. The tried and tested Assassin's Creed formula.

Will update when I've completed the game and tried the multiplayer.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)