• RRP: £7.99
  • You Save: £2.00 (25%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Asking For It has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See more of our deals.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Asking For It Paperback – 7 Jul 2016

4.3 out of 5 stars 228 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£3.87 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
£5.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Asking For It
  • +
  • Only Ever Yours
Total price: £11.58
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: riverrun (7 July 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1784293202
  • ISBN-13: 978-1784293208
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.5 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (228 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 18,784 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'Riveting and essential' (New York Times)

Brilliant, harrowing (Observer)

A brutal and shocking novel that strikes to the heart of the current debates around consent (Stylist)

'Establishes Louise O'Neill as a literary tour de force' (Irish Independent)

A difficult, confronting and vital read (Elle)

Heartbreakingly accurate . . . handled with both sensitivity and unflinching honesty. A compelling and brave story that deserves to be read by all (Heat)

A stunning portrait of a girl, a family and a town in trouble (Irish Examiner)

A brutal, unflinching look at the culture of slut-shaming and trial by social media. It broke my heart. (Red Magazine)

A brave and important book about rape culture, sexism and victim-blaming in modern society. (Telegraph)

Bold, brave . . . and brutal (Bookseller)

O'Neill has a keen ear for the catty argot of teenage girls and her writing is razor sharp . . . unsparing and unsentimental (Independent)

A razor-sharp look at gender issues - Glasgow Herald (Glasgow Herald)

Riveting . . . a timely, gripping and vital novel. (Western Mail)

A nuanced and insightful commentary on the intricacies of teenage female friendship and the internal and external pressures that young women face as they reach adulthood (Irish Mail on Sunday)

Blistering, unapologetic and vitally important (Anna James)

This unflinching, timely novel asks important questions about rape culture, sexism and social media abuse, tackling taboo themes with subtlety and sensitivity (Anita Sethi Observer)

Book Description

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated. For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Set in a small Irish village this gripping novel does not pull any punches as eighteen year old Emma, a queen bee in her social circle, goes to a party one night that changes her life forever. The effect of alcohol, drugs and resulting social media in a present day where equanimity among the sexes still remains a theoretical idea, sees Emma weather her own prejudices as well as those of the people around her.

What made this hard-hitting read memorable for me was that Emma was not a sanitised character but one that was imperfect and authentic. This made hard reading in many ways as we navigated the brutal world of teens and the aftermath of the party that changes everything for Emma and her family.

It is hard to read a work of fiction like this without feeling outraged and horrified but it also saddens me that with great breakthroughs in this day and age we have still quite a way to go to address women's rights around the world. Not an easy read but o e with many triggers as this tackles the issue of rape and consent, but in my opinion a must read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I first came across the amazing Louise O'Neill with her debut novel, Only Ever Yours which won a host of acclaim and the YA book prize back in 2015. Just looking at the title, Asking For It, I knew this was going to be a raw, emotional read but I certainly wasn't prepared for the feelings it would give me while I was reading it. The author approaches difficult topics, things we don't necessarily talk about much (but SHOULD) with ease and panache and I finished this novel angry with the world but strangely quite empowered and wanting to do something to change it.

If you haven't heard already, Asking For It is the story of eighteen year old Emma O'Donovan. Her life is pretty much perfect, she has a host of adoring friends, she is popular, beautiful and clever to boot and is the apple of her parents eye. A lot is expected of Emma, especially by her mother and it is interesting to note how the support network around her fails spectacularly after one night when her whole world falls apart. Emma is under the influence of alcohol and drugs when the event occurs and was so wasted that she has no recollection of it at all. Turning up a bit bruised and worse for wear on her doorstep might have just been another night partying a bit too hard? Until school the next day when her friends ignore her, mock her or just plain won't meet her eye. For there are explicit photographs of Emma and what happened to her plastered all over social media and she has become the laughing stock of the school. Emma has had a bit of a reputation prior to the incident but she was obviously too drunk/high to give her consent... was she asking for it?

While reading this novel, I couldn't stop thinking about the issue of consent and responsibility that the author has explored in such a visceral, honest way.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book was just awful to read. It was disturbing on so many levels but I kept reading. I so wanted her to get better so I read to the very last page.

It was so thought provoking and made me sit down and chat to my 15 year old daughter. It made me cry... a lot!

The scary thing is that this stuff is all too true. Why is it always the girls fault? Why is the girl always vilified and hated? It's just awful to think in this era us girls are still not as equal as men and the worst thing is.. girls seemed to be at the centre of this story.

The author is a brilliant writer. This must have been all too difficult for her too write but well done for writing about this subject and provoking ( I hope) many chats with our daughters.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is one of the worst books I have ever tried to read. The writing is so disjointed it's hard to keep track of who is who and the characters merge into each other. It's rare for me to not finish a book but this is one I will never finish. I would definitely not recommend this book to anyone.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
O'Neill is clearly a talented writer. Asking For It is painful to read, but extremely relevant. I think the story could have held together better without the multitude of characters in the first few chapters. Whilst I enjoyed reading it, I lost touch with everyone but Emma. Individual identification of the main characters in the first few chapters could have helped.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Emma can't remember what happened when she was raped when drunk but everyone else does from the photos on Facebook...this is about what happens when a woman tries to prosecute those who abused her when she was too drunk to give consent. A heartbreaking read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is not easy reading but should be made compulsory reading for teenage girls. I read this in one day and ran the gamut of emotions, an amazing and very sad read. What an indictment of todays youth culture.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Hard hitting and emotional from start to finish, was a difficult read, as it's so real. Great read but challenging
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews