Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2001
This is the second novel in the Hawkenlye series based in Southern England during the late 12th Century. The story surrounds a death in the Wealden Forest very close to Hawkenlye Abbey which is attributed to the mysterious "Forest People". Josse d'Acquin and Abbess Helewise, the two main characters, enter the forest and are witness to disturbing rituals as they lead you through their dangerous journey of investigation. The characters and the description of the surroundings are well done and you are transported back in time whilst reading the novel. The relationship between Josse and Helewise, based on friendship and respect, develops during the story.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2003
This is the second book I have read of Alys Clare. This mystery related the deeper friendship that had started between Josse d'Acquin and the Abbess Helewise in the first book,"Fortune like the Moon". If you are a fan of Ellis Peters books, the Cadfael mysteries, you will really enjoy these books. They have a good feel about them. And they come with that, "once picked up you cant put down" feel.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
It's been some time since Sir Josse D'Acquin has had an opportunity - or excuse - to renew his surprisingly interesting acquaintance with Helewise, Abbess of Hawkenlye, but when she almost trips over a murdered man on the edge of the Great Wealden Forest just beyond the abbey walls, he is more than happy to assist her in finding out what secrets lie within the ancient trees. What he finds there will bring danger, education, more death and a deeper understanding of other elements of life than he could possibly have imagined, and beside him, Helewise will make the journey, for she has the wellbeing of two of her female abbey inhabitants to secure, and perhaps save one of them from a hanging...

The second in the brilliant medieval mystery series of Hawkenlye is another marvellous mix of mystery and murder with the slightly supernatural, ethereal aspect that the author brings to all her stories (the fantastic Aelf Fen Norman series being even more rich with this, in my opinion, also well worth a read). It's well paced and engaging, with plenty of good characters and suspects to keep you on your toes, and a satisfying ending and solution to the crimes.
The only slight criticism I have is that for me, I found small parts at both the beginning and end a little like a history lesson, not really necessary, but seeming to be there only for the purpose of telling me about Queen Eleanor at the time, and then King Richard (same thing). But then, it is a story set in his reign, so I guess there's no harm in that, really!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
A second good story from the Alys. The well written story twists and turns as did the first story in the series. Much enjoyed. Purchased as a 'used' book but was in good condition and very accepatble
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2001
Josse d'Aquin and Abbess Helewise continue their association in this second novel of the Hawkenlye series. The plot brings in mysterious elements from ancient ritual, and the shadow of the great Wealden Forest hangs heavy over the novel. Will the enigmatic murder be solved? Read it and find out!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Another well written Hawkenly adventure, from the pen of Alys Clare. You are drawn into the story from beginning to end. I for one found it difficult to put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
I have previously read all of the Hawkenlye Mysteries and decided to re-read them via my Kindle in chronological order. Again I thoroughly enjoyed the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
This is a wonderful book. I enjoyed reading this and will do again. A great read. Delighted with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
It enjoyed this book - am reading this series in order, and enjoying all of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
I like these books hope to read the rest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse