Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2011
Gideon Haigh is the star writer of the current cricketing age, and can be mentioned alongside the ranks of John Arlott and Neville Cardus of earlier eras. Observant, precise, and objective, his writing is fluent, and this book is so much more than just a record of his reports on each of the 2010-2011 Ashws Test Matches. I suspect that Gideon Haigh has the trust of the players and most people who count in the cricket world, as he appears to be well informed about the build-ups and after match situations, however he is also quick to dispel and dismiss some of the conjecture and smokescreen information that floats around in this modern age.This is a really good read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
Contrary to a 2 star review posted here I find the writing style of this account both intelligent and literate. It bears no relation, as was suggested, to trite tabloid journalism. As I read the book I wanted to watch a recording to check technical details that he has included about players and so will buy the DVD highlights when they become available, shortly. The book is a collection of Haigh's written reports for the Times newspaper and contains two separate reports for each day's play plus other writing on the build up to the series and to individual games. Probably can only be bettered by an account from inside the dressing rooms.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
An insightful account of the recent ashes series with two reports for each day. This book is far from the typical tabloid journalism of many books written about ashes series. A must buy for any cricket afficianado
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I've always enjoyed reading Haigh in the Guardian and Cricinfo and I wasn't disappointed by this. Brought back great memories of the series and I hope to read his accounts of the next series soon!(assuming similar outcomes of course)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
Haigh is a great writer on cricket, and this is a collection of his writings for two journals throughout the series (note to J. Baldwin: both journals are indeed tabloids).

Very accessible writing style - hugely informative without being patronising. Personally I don't agree with Mr Baldwin's comments and would always rather read Haigh than any of the English based writers.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
This book did nothing for me and I'm a passionate cricket lover. Sorry, not a book I'd recommend to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
Cricket writing of the highest quality. An excellent companion to the DVD set of the series. Accessible both for the cricket tragic and the more passive fan. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
Have been a cricket fan all my life; took down the lunchtime scores for my dad when John Arlott was on TMS, but I have never read about cricket before. I was "bowled over" by the analysis and humour of this day by day coverage of the 5 Tests.
Would recommend this book to all cricket lovers both old and new. Particularly interesting to hear a "Pommie" living in "Oz" criticise the mistakes made by the Australian cricket board.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Good summing up of the 2010/11 series from an Australian perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Good price - thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)