Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
302
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2014
One of the things Jason Brant excels at is great characters. Asher Benson is no exception. He may be 6'4", ex-military, ripped and able to read people's thoughts, but he's no cardboard cutout tough crime fighter. He's flawed, he gets beaten up, he spends half the time stinking to high heaven and the rest dressed ridiculously. He's also funny and a natural hero. I love him!

The book is well written, the story is exciting and the pace doesn't let up. The villain is nicely three dimensional too. A great read all round. Can't wait for the next Asher Benson novel.
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Really, really enjoyed this book. Loved the banter between some of the characters and the author did not fall into the trap of using this to carry the story. I liked that you didn't really know where the story was heading and that the "hero" was deeply flawed by previous experiences and happy to admit it whilst still managing to kick butt (and get his kicked!). Quirky characters nicely balanced by more "normal" characters. Will def be buying the next book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Not my usual reading genre,I am not into violence but the storyline kept me hooked.if you enjoy all that then read this book,has it all,mystery.drama ,women,swearing and hilarity,some passages are really funny.the serious side is the wars going on in the world today,the threat from terrorists who use religion as an excuse for unspeakable cruelity. I read it because of the telepathic aspect but found myself really enjoying it.
Eileen.green1@sky.com
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
This is a great book. The friendship between Ash and Drew is heartwarming and I love their banter. Nami the analyst is also a witty addition.
the action is totally non-stop - I would have liked Ash to get a shower earlier!
Smith is a satisfying villain, and everything is set for the next outing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Reasonable read with shortcomings. OK for free have not purchased following books. Author has a great deal of talent and needs to develop his characterizations beyond the drunk/bitch/ whore stereotypes he is addicted to.

Pro.
Well written, good use of English and events come across as plausible.

Con.
Author incapable of writing a believable female character. Women in the book are physical freaks, have humongous silicone porn breasts (she is not the freak!) or total ranting bitches. Yawn. Other book Devoured (zombies) is similar with stereotype female characters either prostitutes or bitches.
Male lead is a tortured alcoholic - never come across one of them before!!!!!

Author writes perhaps for men who want a playboy type titillation in their novels. Jason Brant take note - women like zombies and horror fiction as well !!!!!!!!!!!! Watch the Alien series (my idea of chick flick) the give us a book without the 'watermelon boobs'n, 'the prostitute' or 'the ranting bitch' your books limit themselves to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Haha OMG this was brilliant - wasn't sure what to expect never heard of this author but wow! A rollercoaster of emotions ranging from Impromptu laughter - to heart racing mind blowing shock. Ash is so bad-pass he doesn't take any crap from anyone but underneath he is a marshmallow, the one liners he comes out with are hilarious, I found myself blustering with laughter at impromptu moments then the next scene would find me horrified with fear of the events that were unravelling. Watch out for Murdock - a character you can't hide from! This is a story about an ex military soldier Ashley who gets a serious head Injury that changes his life. Meet his best friend Drew who saved his life by believing in him and the other - almost cartoon characters they met whilst trying to save the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Ash - A former soldier who can read minds following a traumatic brain injury suffered in combat.
Murdock - his evil counterpart. Another mind reader who can force people to act against their will. All a bit far fetched for me, but it is still a well paced thriller with some likeable and oddball characters thrown together to fight the bad guy. My major criticism? If you have ever been hit hard or had a kicking - you hurt like hell for days. Ash and his type of 'hero' seem to disregard all the usual rules. They fight to the death every few hours and still keep going! Not real life - more comic book. Ah well. It was okay.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
Quite liked the book. As usual with this type of genre it was too rushed at the end. Plot was OK but nothing new having district similarities to a number of books I have read. Characters a little thin and the similar sounding names of the female characters I found comical. Notwithstanding all of this I did enjoy the book not bad as it is free. Although, I understand writers have to make a living the next book in the series has to be paid for. I for one will not be doing so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
And it's great, following in great tradition of the "Destroyer" with epic trash talk.
A hero who imbues injuries the way most of us consume calories.
The biggest question you ask yourself is can he make it to a sequel? Or even a shower.
The story races along, ignoring the speed bumps, roadblocks and various villainous shenanigans to deliver a finale that does not disappoint.
The writing is terse and lean, and keeps you at the centre of the action, no long expositions here move along people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Read this as it was free and I hadn't heard of the author, I've had other free downloads for kindle before and it was clear why they were free. This on the other hand really introduces a great group of characters and a really interesting story, you have the main bad guy and a bit of a beat up loser who needs to step up and save the day. I've noticed this with other books by Jason Brant, the characters actually feel realistic, you want them to win and you feel exhausted by the end of the book. Very hard to start and put down so recommend you start reading when you have a few hours to spare.

I'm about to read the 2nd and 3rd one during my weekend, I figure if hubby is sitting watching football why do I need to do housework!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse