FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Ash and Bones: A Dead Cop... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Ash and Bones: A Dead Cop. A City Afraid. A Killer on the Loose. (DC Will Macready) Mass Market Paperback – 25 Aug 2016

4.1 out of 5 stars 42 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Mass Market Paperback
£7.99
£0.89 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Ash and Bones: A Dead Cop. A City Afraid. A Killer on the Loose. (DC Will Macready)
  • +
  • Unforgivable: A gritty new police drama for fans of Stuart MacBride (Dc Will Macready)
Total price: £14.69
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



All Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale. Learn more

Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre (25 Aug. 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1785760629
  • ISBN-13: 978-1785760624
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.3 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 42 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 286,452 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Mike Thomas brings the world of the police to authentic--and often--shocking life . . . his first in what promises to be a fascinating series . . . the best crime/police thriller I have read for many years. It is a tribute to Thomas' skills that it is not until well into the story that the pieces start to fall into place. It's everything you want in a thriller . . . brilliantly observed, sharply written and superbly realistic story." --Crime Review

"If you like your cop thrillers to come with a big dollop of authenticity, then step into the grim and gritty police world created by Mike Thomas. With flashes of Thomas' now trademark black humour and a story that that dares to visit the darkest corners of our planet, this series has the power to run and run." --Lancashire Evening Post

"This one had more grit in it than a sandwich eaten on a windy day in Cardiff Bay . . . every beat of the police in the novel for the authenticity really stands out. I like this new addition to the Welsh literary landscape!" --Book Trail "Thomas . . . successfully portrays the gritty side of detective work." --Publishers Weekly

"A gritty procedural for fans of Stuart MacBride and Simon Kernick." --Booklist Online

Review

This one had more grit in it than a sandwich eaten on a windy day in Cardiff Bay . . . every beat of the police in the novel for the authenticity really stands out. I like this new addition to the Welsh literary landscape! (The Book Trail)

Mike Thomas brings the world of the police to authentic - and often - shocking life . . . his first in what promises to be a fascinating series . . . the best crime/police thriller I have read for many years. It is a tribute to Thomas' skills that it is not until well into the story that the pieces start to fall into place. It's everything you want in a thriller . . . brilliantly observed, sharply written and superbly realistic story (Crime Review)

Ash and Bones is another fantastic novel by Mike Thomas. Very different to his other work but equally engaging (Plastic Rosaries)

It looks like Mike Thomas will definitely be a name to watch, so do the sensible thing and get in there at the start! (Crime Worm)

This is a class example of how a police procedural should be written - fast paced and edgy, with believable characters and a plot that sucks you right in. I'll be waiting impatiently for the next in the series . . . (Reading Room With A View)

Gripping . . . a host of rich and believable minor characters, the cross-talk between the policemen which was such a feature of the first two novels, the unexpected but perfectly feasible compunction that begins to develop in some of the villains about what they are doing and makes you realise, unwillingly, that nobody is all of a piece (Sheenagh Pugh blog)

This arresting tale doesn't miss a beat (Independent (on Pocket Notebook))

Stuns like a truncheon, grips like a pair of handcuffs, crackles with charge like a taser . . . exhilarating, terrifying - it has an unstoppable momentum (Niall Griffiths (on Pocket Notebook))

Gripping...a host of rich and believable minor characters, the cross-talk between the policemen which was such a feature of the first two novels, the unexpected but perfectly feasible compunction that begins to develop in some of the villains about what they are doing and makes you realise, unwillingly, that nobody is all of a piece (Sheenagh Pugh blog)

It is a compliment to Mike Thomas's writing skills that it is not until well into the book that the pieces start falling into place. To detail anything more would be a spoiler. Suffice it to say that this is a very plausible and highly emotive story line. This is a very good thriller and I highly recommend that you read it now (Breakaway Reviewers)

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

25 August 2016
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
13 October 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
14 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
6 October 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
6 November 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
7 December 2016
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: bus books

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?