Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
well packaged. have not yet started reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2007
You don't need me to tell you what this is about - you can read the synopsis for yourself. If you want to know whether this is worth your time and money, then the answer is a resounding yes, if your tastes run to Detective fiction, because John Harvey writes some of the best examples of the genre.

This is the second of the Frank Elder books, and it's just as good as the first. The characters are credible and well developed, as is the plot, which has 2 distinct elements which come to a satisfying conclusion. Well paced and written in a no nonsense style, this is highly recommended. If you like Peter Robinson, or say, Michael Connolly, then you'll like this
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
I've read and enjoyed quite a few of the Resnick novels, and although this one features Frank Elder, the style is very similar. There are really three separate strands to the story, two of them arising from a murder in London and one concerning Elder's daughter in Nottingham. They don't actually come together, but they are all tied up satisfactorily, although with few surprises. I would read another of the Frank Elder books, but perhaps not the first one - there are two many spoilers in this one to make it worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 April 2008
A year or so ago, I discovered John Harvey as a writer by mistake -- I thought I was buying a thriller by Ian Rankin's Nom de Plume, Jack Harvey! But I wasn't disappointed. He and Ian Rankin (in his Rebus crime novels) have certain similarities in their styles of gritty realism and that their main characters are Detective Inspectors (retired in the case of Harvey's Frank Elder) who are loners with broken marriages and daughters who have been kidnapped in the past.

Ash and Bone starts with a riveting first chapter that is the spring-board to a gripping central murder story about which two other narratives intertwine. Consequently, there are quite a few characters to keep track of, but by the end of the book the threads are all brought together very satisfactorily.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 June 2008
Having read a few of John Harvey's short stories, including one featuring Frank Elder, the central character of this novel, I looked forward to reading this, and was not disappointed. It's a gripping story, vividly told with detailed characters and a complex and convincing plot. Harvey's characters are multi-layered individuals - we see much of Elder's professional, personal and family life in detail, while his relationships with colleagues are a source of light humour. There are multiple strands to the plot, some apparently obvious while others come as a great surprise. Well worth reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2008
This is a rattling read as we get to grips with crimes past and present as well as the tortuous private life of the main character. A bleak tale of greed and nastiness with little to make you optimistic about the police force's capacity to reform itself or of man's capacity to do good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
J.H. very rarely fails to impress and this one is no exception - it hooks the reader in the first few pages and effortlessly manages to run seemingly disparate plotlines together throughout, yet still be easily followed and believable all the way to a satifying conclusion.

Many shocks and surprises along the way as is usual from the author - very much recommended for fans of the detective/thriller genre - if you like Michael Connelly, Ian Rankin et al you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Another absorbing novel. Frank Elder is a sympathetic character - I can easily identify with him and the challenges he faces, not just with the cold cases he is asked to help with, but also with the people he is closer to.
The plot moves along at a good pace - there is always something of interest happening; the settings are always well drawn and full of detail.
Overall, a really good read and this character can be found in other books in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2006
I have only recently discovered John Harvey with Flesh and Blood, which I enjoyed so much I ordered Ash and Bone the same day! I found this to have a slower start, but the death of Maddy Birch had me so instantly hooked I was unable to put the book to one side and literally found myself sitting up into the small hours reading!

I found the three main storylines worked well together, but it was Frank's professional determination to catch Maddy's killer and his personal inability to deal with Katherine's previous rape and abduction that really put this in the 5 star category for me. Unlike many crime novels, this one actually causes the reader to ponder the impact of crime on society, rather than simply creating a great story with a neatly sewn-up ending. I found myself thinking about many elements this book after finishing it...

John Harvey has created a novel with a page turning plot, sensitively written relationships and a true sense of haunting fear and terror throughout, yet none of these elements overwhelms the other. A truly intelligent crime novel!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Excellent novel. Love this authors style of writing and the plot is good. Will certainly read other novels by him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse