Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2017
Great story! Grandson and I couldn't put it down. There was a fight over it and he got to finish it first!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Brilliant plot with so many twists. Beautiful interaction between Holly and Artemis. Loved the twins ( I have twin grandsons aged 12 months so shall be watching their progress).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2008
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
It's always a risky strategy when time travel is involved, especially when you have your heroes tampering with their own pasts and altering the events leading up to previous books. Colfer pulls it off very well resulting in the ultimate time paradox that will hurt your brain if you think too much about it. There is always a strong environmental theme in these books, but this one in particular really hammered the point home, focusing on endangered species both real and mystical. Definitely my favourite of the series after the first book, it goes a lot darker and there were a lot less fart gags and an altogether more serious tone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2008
It's been two years since the last entry in the Artemis Fowl series, and although Eoin Colfer's Airman was enough to sustain me during that time I would prefer them to come once every year. But I do understand that authors need to try something new one in a while.

This entry has Artemis and Holly jump eight years into the past to find a cure for a rare disease that is about to be lost forever with an nearly-extinct species of lemur. But since Young Artemis was the one responsible for the animal's demise it's not going to be so easy for them to outwit and outmaneuver their rivals. Obviously the plan does not go smoothly and the mayhem escalates until the closing chapters.

Anyone who hasn't read the previous five books (and if not, why not?) won't have a clue what's going on here, and sound knowledge of the series is needed in order to fully keep up with the story. I did begin to notice a few plot holes here and there and a couple of bits that didn't make exact quantum physical sense, but that's why it's called 'The Time Paradox' after all. Colfer must have a wonderfully active imagination to keep a hold of all this in his mind before writing it down.

It sets up the story for another sequel but I would like to see Artemis and Holly move on as friends next time instead of them always falling in and out, I've had enough of that, and the lack of love between them cost this entry a star. Still, a solid 4/5 though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
I am a big fan of this series, and have read and re-read each installment with glee. This is not my favourite of the series and I have re-read it less often. However, it is still a fantastic and enjoyable book that I would heartily recommend!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Chose 5 stars because it deserved it.
Would recommend to anyone of any age
Great read from front to back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2008
This book has everything we all liked about the previous Artemis Fowl books:
* A pacy page-turning plot
* Entertaining dialogue and humour all the way through
* Lots of action, never a dull chapter

Arty's mother is ill and the only cure comes from a lemur, the last of which died eight years previously. Warlock Demon Number 1 sends Artemis and Holly back in time to rescue the last of the lemurs.

I liked two things in particular...

It's very funny, the humour is at a new level compared with the earlier books. Reading about Artemis battling with his 10-year old self is very funny, as they wise-crack and try to outwit each other. Artemis has to battle with others, and Dr Damon Kronski is one of the funniest characters in all the books. The humour is drier and cleverer than before.

There's lots of plot twists, and lots of time paradoxes. The way they are all woven together is brilliant. I had lots of fun trying to figure out how all the time paradoxes worked.

If you liked books 1-5, you'll love this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 August 2008
Those who have been faithfully following this series will know that this is book six of the adventures of the teenaged criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl II.

Picking up at Fowl Manor, we learn that three years have passed while Artemis was otherwise occupied, and that he now has two brothers, twins named Beckett and Myles. This book goes in a different direction to the previous plot, making no mention of some of the characters introduced in The Lost Colony. There are references to certain events, but other than the main characters, most of the story is new material.

As the title implies, an older and more mature Artemis Fowl enlists the help of his friend Captain Holly Short, dwarf Mulch Diggums and the imp warlock No.1 to journey to the past to correct a mistake he made earlier in his eventful life. His mother has contracted a rare disease that can only be cured by an extract from the brain of an extinct lemur, and ironically, the extinction was hastened by young Fowl himself.

The time trip gets very complicated when Artemis matches wits with his younger self, and rescuing the lemur from Dr. Damon Kronski, leader of the Extinctionists cult, proves to be much easier planned than achieved. To make it more complicated, there's now a fledgling romantic situation in play, and the return of an enemy from the past who also wants possession of the lemur.

Artemis isn't as devious and diabolical as in earlier books, but to his credit, the kid is growing up and has other things on his mind. This book is action-packed with the usual gadgetry and humor, but as is the case with time paradoxes, it is sometimes hard to keep things straight. The plot also has several twists, obviously getting even twistier in the final chapters. The story ends with an obvious hint for another book.

And "What about the Kraken?" you may ask. Well, that part of the story is explosive, to say the least.

Amanda Richards
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Reminiscent of `Doctor Who', Artemis Fowl is a young criminal genius travelling through time to face man-eating Trolls, high-tech Faries and flame-throwing Goblins. You could not find a children's/ teens adventure story with so much inspired creative vision beyond your wildest imagination; it is very exciting!

In `Artemis Fowl and the time paradox' he swaps criminal activity for a little bit of magic, (although complete with mayhem) Artemis travels through time to try and steal a cure from a devious mastermind, which he hopes will help his mother who is extremely ill. With, Fairy ally Captain Holly Short by his side, Artemis must face his deadliest enemy yet...

This brilliantly drawn tale is engagingly vivid, exciting and full of dry wit and humor that will make you laugh-out-loud. Reading one of Artemis' adventures is like reading a comic strip filled with non-stop action and nail-biting drama, which leaves you completely and utterly breathless. This is a real page-turner and one that both adults and kids alike will absolutely love, for it brings out the explorer in all of us. Ingenious schemes combined with a remarkable and quite extraordinary plot, left me in awe of Eoin Colfer's genius as a writer.

This exclusive, limited edition book contains extra material including another Artemis Fowl story inside, which contains even more fairy action and adventure! Additionally inside is an announcement regarding Colfer's new novel based on the incredible Douglas Adam's science-fiction series "The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy", and if that wasn't tempting enough snippets on the other books and `Artemis Fowl: the graphic Novel' are included.

Enter Artemis Fowl's wicked world at ~ artemisfowl.co.uk

Amid heart-pounding intensity and electric tension is a deeply engrossing storyline, which is so jam-packed and highly readable that it will have you clutching the pages tightly throughout. I love these books and cannot enthuse enough about Artemis Fowl who is so fantastic! If you love science-fiction and time travel, exploration and danger (complete with a colorful cast of captivating characters and curious creatures), then you will truly enjoy this spellbinding read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)