Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2005
The fourth Artemis Fowl book from Eoin Colfer is another brilliantly written story that is original and enjoyable. This time, the fairy people realise they need Artemis Fowl again after an old friend (the clue is in the title) returns to get her revenge. However there is one teensy problem ...
... Artemis remembers nothing about fairies. His mind wiped at the end of the book 3, he is rendered far less useless than he has ever been. With Holly accused of murder, and an ally they will definitely need in jail, the race is on, with very little time to save the fairy and human world - and with everyone against them, it is going to be incredibly difficult.
Despite a few shaky points where you consider the possibility of plot holes and inconsistencies with the other books, this book is highly enjoyable. Eoin Colfer never resorts to a typical formula, each book taking on a new form - and this is no exception. Instead of Artemis hatching a plan (books 1 and 3) or him making a deal with the fairies for them to both complete missions (book 2) they are now solely depending on him, with him not remembering anything about what the last few books have contained.
One of the brilliant things about the books is the incredible plans that Artemis creates to get out of impossibly scenarios. They never fail to amuse and amaze, and always extend the credibility of his character - a fair task when he is 13 and a criminal genius. One problem with Eoin Colfer's writing is his way of flipping back between times so much (ie telling the same scenario through different eyes). The fact that he does it is not the problem, it is more the order in which he does them that is annoying - a fact that may be visible to people reading the book.
Well, writing this took 10 minutes. I think that's substantial. I look forward to the next book - there'd BETTER be one!
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2003
This novel, the third in the series about the 14-year old Irish boy genius, is just as inventive, funny and exhilarating as its two predecessors. This time round Artemis has stolen fairy technology and turned into something of his own creation; the C-Cube. The Cube can hack into and control any existing human technology - for example military satellites - and is light-years ahead of anything that we have now. Artemis tries to sell it to unscrupulous American businessman Jon Spiro, though things inevitably go awry and Artemis calls on his old friend, Holly Short from the fairy LEPRecon unit. At the same time, Artemis' father is awaking from a coma and begins spouting to his son about how the Fowl family should "go straight" - yet another thing that Artemis has to contend with.
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code re-unites all of the characters from the first two novels, such as the hulking Butler, genius centaur Foaly, flatulent dwarf Mulch and the exasperated police chief Julius Root. ...Eternity Code is also written in the same vein as the other books; at face value it is funny and gloriously inventive, yet it also tells a very powerful message about the importance of conservation, and looking after our planet. The 'People' (fairies) are constantly amazed and disgusted at the antics of the surface-dwelling 'Mud Men' (humans).
Though one might have expected that the formula might have grown old by the time that this series became a trilogy, the quality and wry humour of Eoin Colfer's writing really sets it apart from the competition. It is consistently hilarious and exciting, and the ending really leaves the series open for more instalments, in a genuinely original way that could see the next book written from a very different angle. Exciting stuff.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
great book!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2003
Looking for a book to read that is unputdownable, with adventure, skulduggery and more twists and turns than the latest white-knuckle ride, yet will have you laughing out loud? The kind of book that you just have to read to the end, even if you have to read it under the covers by torchlight after lights out? This is definitely one for you then ... We (Mum, Dad,and 12 yr old girl) were all vying to read it at the same time, something we haven't done since the early Harry Potter books. We ended up huddled together, taking turns at reading it aloud, way into the night.
Young criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl is still scheming - he is convinced his beloved father is alive somewhere and is determined to find and rescue him. If he is to succeed, Artemis and his ever-loyal manservant Butler will need more than luck and must be prepared to risk all. But Artemis has a plan - after all, Captain Holly Short, Julius Root and the rest of the elite L.E.P.recon Squad are more than a match for most humans. L.E.P recon could rescue his father if anyone could but why should they risk their lives to help him? However Artemis isn't the only one scheming, and soon the Underworld is plunged into a power struggle. The fairies need Artemis as much as he needs them and an unlikely alliance develops between Artemis, Holly, Root and technical genius Foaly, the centaur. But when the going gets tough, just who can you trust?
This is one of those rare sequels which is just as good (if not better) than the original. It is well written, original and appeals to males and females, youngsters and older reader alike. A fantastic book - race you to Book 3!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
I have to admit- I was a bit aprehensive at first about reading this book. i had tried to read the first Artemis Fowl book but found that I, a 13 year old girl at the time, wasn't too impressed in a book that told about how one spoilt brat wanted to get rich by blowing up fairies.
However, I am so glad that I gave this book a chance as I found it totally different to the first.
This book is about Aremis Fowl and how he teams up with the fairy world in order to rescue his father, also called Artemis Fowl. However, when Artemis is involved things are never going to be that simple.
This book is jammed pack with funny situations, great characters and a plot with as many twists and turns as a rollercoaster.
You really feel for the chracters and you see a whole new side of Artemis and his butler, Butler.
This book is definetely worth reading but i suggest you attempt the first one first as you need it to grasp the storyline and to really appreciate it. I look forward to reading the third book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2003
If you've read Artemis Fowl books 1 and 2, then you'll recognise the format, but that's no bad thing. Why change a winning formula? This book has all the elements which made the first two books so good, without being predictable. As before, the book combines a little magic with a lot of very hi-tech wizardry. This story features a super computer, cryogenic treatment, a sound bomb, an unbreakable code, and lots more techno trickery. Fans will be pleased to hear that all the best characters are back; Butler, Juliet, wise-cracking Foaly, short-tempered Commander Root, Mulch Diggums, and of course, our heroes, Holly and Artemis. In short, the Eternity Code is a very good book, with an exciting plot full of interesting invention. The complex nature of the technology means you can never be sure of what to expect. Artemis is a wonderful hero - he's not goody-goody by any means, but he's beginning to show twitchings of conscience and vulnerability which make him irrestistably likeable. Not to mention that he's very intelligent, not interested in sport, drinks Earl Grey tea, is yet still cool! That's probably the greatest achievement of all!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
The rest of the books are much better than this one
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2006
Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code is one extra-exciting book. Once you start reading you can't take your eyes off the page. Once you read that very first page your hooked! it's a very enjoyable read for everyone of all ages.

Eoin(pronounced 'Owen') Colfer is a fantastic author, and my message to him is that i don't want him to stop writing about Artemis Fowl...ever,his other books are just as good, don't get me wrong about that, but Artemis Fowl is probably his best books ever and i love reading them and im sure his other fans will agree too, that you can't replace Artemis just as you can't replace Eoin...he is one of the best if not THE best.

anyway back to the book. can i just say that these books can be read stand alone, but i would suggest (for the younger readers) having a fair knowledge of the other books just to help, and it does generally make the books more enjoyable too, the books are not confusing if you havn't read the previous ones, just like for example a TV series,eg.Doctor Who, you watch an episode but havn't watched the previous episodes, its like that with the books really. (i'm not comparing these books to Doctor Who) you don't have to but it does help.

so about the book. i don't want to give any spoilers so im gonna type what it says:

Artemis Fowl has constructed a powerful new supercomputer using stolen fairy technology, and the last thing he needs is for it to fall into the wrong hands. So, when it does fall inot the wrong hands - those of ruthless tycoon Jon Spiro - Artemis knows he must recover the device or the consequences will be dire, for humans and fairies alike.

With danger all around and his bodyguard indisposed, Artemis turns to Captain Holly Short of the Lower Elements Police(LEP) for help. But can Holly trust Artemis Fowl, fairy public enemy No.1?

Take it from me, Holly. The answer is No.

So, if you enjoy Fantasy, or you enjoy Crime or you enjoy anytyhing his book is for everyone, including you! so just buy the book, and take my word for it, it will be worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Yet another great installment in the Artemis Fowl series. I think I like these so much because they are so easy to read, you get a great adventure which gallops along at a million miles an hour that, if I had the time, I could read in one day!

This time you can't keep a good pixie down and Opal Koboi is back with a new plan for world domination. The anti has definitely been upped in the last couple of books with series favourites being placed in some rather hairy situations. I can't wait to see what dastardly plan is going to be foiled next in The Lost Colony.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
So, Arty's back, along with Holly, Butler, Root, Foaly and Mulch! Once again a quick summary;

Artemis has planned a rescue mission for his father, Artemis Fowl, who when missing several years previously, after reciving a vital clue to his whereabouts. Meanwhile, below ground in Haven Holly and Chix are on stake-out. After another dangerous situation, where only Holly's quick thinking and Chix's flirting, saved them both. A very important discovery is made, the B'wa Kell (a goblin gang) is trading with the Mud-People. Of course Artemis is right up there on Holly's list of 'Who-dun-it.' So the duo is bought below ground, were thay are found to be innocent. Artemis helps with finding out who is responsable in exchange for fairy assistance in his atempt to rescue Fowl Sr. On the way, there a some momentous revelations, incluing the one that Mulch is alive, well, and living in LA. Finally, everything os finished and Artemis and Holly, strike up a gruding friendship. One that will only grow stronger with time.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse