Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.73 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by SNaylerBooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Orders shipped daily from the UK. Professional seller.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 4 images

The Art of Racing in the Rain Paperback – 1 Jun 2009

4.6 out of 5 stars 470 customer reviews

See all 31 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback, 1 Jun 2009
£6.61 £0.01
click to open popover


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks; Reprint edition (1 Jun. 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061537969
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061537967
  • Product Dimensions: 13.5 x 2.1 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 470 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 283,693 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice." -- Entertainment Weekly

"Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice."--Entertainment Weekly

"The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn't only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end."--Jodi Picoult

"I savored Garth Stein's The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair."--Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True

"Splendid."--"People" (3 ? out of 4 stars)

"The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human."--Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

Splendid. --"People" (3 ? out of 4 stars)"

Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice. --Entertainment Weekly"

The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end. --Jodi Picoult"

I savored Garth Stein s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair. --Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True"

One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel s Life of Pi. --Portland Oregonian"

Splendid. --People (3 ? out of 4 stars)"

The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. --Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants"

The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and most especially the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book. --Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants"

"The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book."--Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

"Splendid."--People (3 ? out of 4 stars)

"One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach's Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho's The Alchemist, and Yann Martel's Life of Pi."--Portland Oregonian

"Splendid."--People (3 1/2 out of 4 stars)

"Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice."--Entertainment Weekly

"The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book."--Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

From the Publisher

From Publishers Weekly
If you've ever wondered what your dog is thinking, Stein's third novel offers an answer. Enzo is a lab terrier mix plucked from a farm outside Seattle to ride shotgun with race car driver Denny Swift as he pursues success on the track and off. Denny meets and marries Eve, has a daughter, Zoë, and risks his savings and his life to make it on the professional racing circuit. Enzo, frustrated by his inability to speak and his lack of opposable thumbs, watches Denny's old racing videos, coins koanlike aphorisms that apply to both driving and life, and hopes for the day when his life as a dog will be over and he can be reborn a man. When Denny hits an extended rough patch, Enzo remains his most steadfast if silent supporter. Enzo is a reliable companion and a likable enough narrator, though the string of Denny's bad luck stories strains believability. Much like Denny, however, Stein is able to salvage some dignity from the over-the-top drama. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 18 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: singer sewing machines, singer accessories

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?