Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's


on 7 January 2005
Step back into the 1950s and a world of Moss, Fangio, fast cars, dashing rogues et al. Surely a one armed man with calipers can't drive in Forumla One!
Makes today's multi millionaire'legends' look pathetic.
If you want to know what it was like to live on the edge in the fifties, start here.
Fantastic book
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2009
An absolutely superb read. Pick this up and you won't put it down !!! Archie Scott Brown ... what a star !! Born with horrendous birth defects did he sit on his backside and feel sorry for himself ? No.. he went motor racing and was damn good at it. Tired easily, short of breath, stunted legs, no shinbones (!!!) deformed feet, missing toes and no right hand and he still put the wind up Moss, Fangio and the rest !! Makes todays F1 stars look a bit antiseptic !!
As usual the good always die young but this was in the days of no safety regs when racing drivers were the gladiators of their day and death was pretty inevitable in a 180 mph Lister Jaguar.
The Lister story ? Brian Lister taking on the big guys Ferrari, Maserati, Jaguar etc and winning before computer aided design and big money snuffed out the small dedicated teams who were doing it on a shoestring.
Can't recommend this book more highly. It's well written, factual, funny, heroic, poignant and absolutely rivetting. Enjoy it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2004
Archie and the Listers was a spellbinding read. An emotional account of 50's Motorsport. This book delves into the characters and relationships rather than just race statistics. The story unfolds literaly from Archies birth until his untimely death at Spa and is a moving account of triumph in adversity and the conquering of the finest racers despite the challenges of his disabilities. I could not put this book down. The finest Motor Sport read for years!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
Robert Edwards clearly is very interested in his subject and his thorough research shows in the detail included in this comprehensive history of Archie's life and motor racing exploits. Before reading this book I had only read a brief article in Motor Sport [later 1970's I think] but the book includes all aspects of Archie's life and sets them in the context of the 1950's, the attitudes to motor racing at the time and how the garagistes were able to hold their own against the big name drivers and factory cars. The ending of the book is sad but the author treats the sad events at Spa with respect and compassion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
Superb book bringing to life an extraordinary character, Archie Scott-Brown. You have to wonder whether he would be allowed to drive an ordinary road car today with all our wonderful H&S, let alone the F1 and Sports cars of his day. What a great pleasure to read this. Can I also say that it was also a delight to learn something of the life of a personal hero, Don Moore. This engine and tuning wizard was the architypical quiet gentleman, unflappable, and without vice, and also one of the reasons why Listers were so successful. I had the good fortune to meet Don when he prepared racing engines for me in the 70's and 80's and was struck by his most honourable and decent manner. A true Englishman of the old school.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
I was not quite nine years old in 1958 when Archie Scott-Brown died at Spa . My knowledge of him was therefore limited to his mention in race reports in my collection of aged 'Motor Sport ' magazines .What I did know from that source was that he had one arm and was often more than the equal of Stirling Moss , whenever they met in sportscars . This book has proved excellent reading ,it has bought this long forgotten hero back to life for me . More than that , it has given me insights into the bond between Archie and Brian Lister , and a good history of Lister cars . An excellent read .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2010
As a fan of historic motor racing for many years I was of course familiar with the name Archie Scott Brown and its connection with the Lister cars still winning in historic racing today, but apart from knowing he had a foreshortened right arm which caused him to be excluded from racing for a time I knew little else. However thanks to this excellently researched book I feel that I have got to know what made Archie tick and just what an incredible achievement it was for him to compete at the levels he raced at and the calibre of drivers he regularly beat. It also highlights the superb team effort behind that success. Brian Lister seems almost motivated one feels to right some of the wrong that nature had done to his driver by making sure that he had the best of machinery to showcase his talent. They were a partnership very much setting the mould that Chapman/Clark were to project across the world just a short while later. His was a tragic ending to a life fought against the odds but perhaps like James Dean, Jim Clark et al the method of his passing ensures that his star will forever shine as an inspiration to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
I met Archie at Goodwood in about 1956,so it was good to read such a well researched book about him and the Listers. The sporting spirit of 50's motorsport is illustrated well in contrast to the "business" of Motor Racing today. However the book also shows the increasing commercial aspect of motor sport in to the 60's. I recommend this book to all motoring enthusiasts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Bought to replace a copy which I foolishly lent and lost. I couldn't manage without another copy and I'll take good care of this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
This is an informative reminder of the enormous skill of Archie Scott Brown and the Listers who built him competitive cars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)