Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
6
3.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2014
While I am familiar with several linux operating system, Arch is a real challenge to the non-computer specialist with a steep learning curve just to get it installed. Frankly, this book adds little to guides that can be found by googling 'Arch' and 'install'. It also stops well short of a detailing a GUI setup which I suspect most Arch users will want at some point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
With the Kindle version and reading it on Nexus 7 with latest Kindle app, most of the hilighted text are jumbled up. For example, on page 27 Chapter on Installation, the first of text is:

"access the Internet through an HTTP and/or

network interface, you..."

Essentially, it appears wherever there are highlighted text the formatting has gone astray.

So, for the Kindle version, this get a low mark.

25 October 2012: Update.
With the updated Kindle Reader (3.7.0.108) on the Android Nexus 7 the text and layout are now formatted corrected. Updated rating to reflect this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
This has to be one of the best handbooks for Arch Linux in print today. I have found it quite difficult to find any other book about Arch Linux, unless you get a book about Linux in general.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
This handbook helped me with a lot of tasks that I couldn't reach even from internet. It's not like the bigest book that you could imagine but the informations in it are precious. Must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
The book should be updated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Thought I would try this as information on Arch Linux on Raspberry Pi appears to be very scarce. This might be because Arch Linux keep changing the terms/names used in Raspberry Pi distro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£21.35

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)