Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.74

Save £3.25 (41%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Apartment 16 by [Nevill, Adam]
Kindle App Ad

Apartment 16 Kindle Edition

3.3 out of 5 stars 260 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.74

Length: 481 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Summer Sale
Choose from over 450 books on sale from 99p. Shop now
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

Nevill proves himself to be a first-rate literary bogeyman . . . a gloriously gruesome fever dream (SFX)

An impeccable slice of modern horror with a traditional sense of dread and unerring "keep the light on" suspense. A new British horror star is forcefully born. (Maxim Jakubowski)

Not since reading Stephen King’s It has a book managed to instill such a feeling of fear and disquiet in me (fantasybookreview.co.uk)

A demonstration of what the field of horror is capable of at its very best (Black Static)

Book Description

Apartment 16 is a story of spine-tingling terror from Britain’s award-winning ‘master of horror’, Adam Nevill. Perfect for fans of Stephen King.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1120 KB
  • Print Length: 481 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0330514962
  • Publisher: Tor; New Edition edition (20 May 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003N2QUZ6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars 260 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #104,162 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Apartment 16
Didn't know what to expect from this book. I like to read dark, brooding, supernatural stories and this certainly sounded like my cup of tea. Gothic, is the way I'd describe the story - old building, bunch of crazy artists, satanic style ritual, murder, nightmares and strange apparitions with a liberal dose of "things that go bump in the night". Gave me the serious creeps when I started reading this book and I did feel uncomfortable. Compex plot though, not the sort of book you can just scan through, you will need to take your time reading it. A lot of characters to come to terms with, and there's a teenage "demon" in here that's positively terrible and highly original - never come across this type of character before - he's NASTY!!!! There's a high level of "art" content, artists are the core of the story, but don't let that put you off, if you like to scare yourself then you're going to love Apartment 16.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Reading this book was like wading through treacle for me. Personally I don't want to spend a couple of pages at a time visualising an artist's work by reading the painful prose used to describe it. This left me skim reading huge chunks of the book in order to get to the story. I found the book stepped over the line from horror to fantasy with its depictions of 'the vortex' and 'things' (an oft used word by the author) within. I wish I hadn't bothered.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great Buy Thanks
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Ginger Nuts TOP 500 REVIEWER on 19 Sept. 2015
Format: Paperback
here's a quick run through the synopsis. Basically, we have Apryl, a young American lady who comes to London after being informed of a distant aunt's passing; as part of the will, Apryl's aunt has left her family her expensive apartment in Barrington House, an upmarket block of buildings in a well-to-do area of the city. At the same time, night-watchman Seth - who works in said block of flats - hears some noises in the long-vacant apartment 16. His initial investigation sets in motion a series of events that will have ramifications for himself, Apryl and anyone else in residence in Barrington House.

Basically what you have, on the surface of things, is a classic British ghost story which relates the mostly separate story strands of Apryl and Seth as they both go through their various and varied experiences by coming into the vicinity of apartment 16 and Barrington Block. In Apryl's case, it begins innocently enough as she delves into the past of a relative she barely knew existed. By searching through her aunt's belongings, looking at and wearing clothes from an era she loves, and finally reading through her aunt's increasingly disturbing diaries, Apryl comes to realise that something awful happened in the past of Barrington House and might still be around. For Seth, a failed art student, it's far more insidious as he is beset by strange visions and dreams, the spectre of a young hooded boy who seems to follow him out of his dreams and subsequently lead and pushes Seth into fulfilling the awful destiny of an artist who used to reside in apartment 16.

As a follow up to his debut, Banquet For The Damned, Apartment 16 is more than worthy.
Read more ›
Comment 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
*some spoilers*
This book was initially one of those I had to put down and read something a bit lighter before I went to sleep, brilliantly creepy, descriptive and imaginative it was the horrors of urban life, helplessness and the trap of poverty and misery that disturbed me as much as the haunted house story. The many eccentricities of the British elderly and rich living in seclusion in a well off corner of London through the eyes of a young American and a disillusioned young artist was great, and the glimpses which could have been supernatural or a symptom of a distressed or disturbed mind were brilliant. However, I definitely do agree the book was repetitive, if the big reveal -what actually was in Apartment 16 had not been done so early or in such thorough detail and saved until the denouement it would have been much much better, the descriptions of the suffering and the mangled flesh became so commonplace it no longer had any impact by the slightly confusing end. It reminded me of The Shining, (which is fine as that's a suspenseful delight of a horror novel), especially considering Seth's ultimate fate, (which was fairly early on always going to have to be the outcome) and also the film Poltergeist, which is less of a compliment. The constant and somewhat half-arsed wittering about nazi's and vortexes and portals diminished it for me, more mystery and less attempt at explanation would have been better. The child and the relation to the other porter honestly did appear to have been a last minute addition to the story to tie up a few loose ends, as it didn't seem to have anything to do with the rest of the plot except slightly because he couldn't just leave the job until he had a replacement to take on the curse of Barrington House because his wife had been looking for their dead son? Something like that?(again, very much like The Shining). On the whole I enjoyed it, bits were fantastic and others sound like the script from a schlocky hammer horror.
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
'Apartment 16' is the second book I have read by Adam Nevill, the first one being his debut, 'Banquet of the Damned', which I enjoyed immensely, a definite must read for anyone who enjoys a no honest supernatural story.

With 'Apartment 16', Adam Nevill has taken his writing to another level, the story is well written, the suspense builds up slowly from the first page and its hard to not stop reading, you need to know what is going to happen next.

There are genuine disturbing parts in 'Apartment 16', a book to read with all the lights on.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover