Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Anthology Vol 2 CD+DVD, Explicit Lyrics

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import
"Please retry"
Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Customers also viewed these available items
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Amazon's Fela Kuti Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (19 April 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD+DVD, Explicit Lyrics
  • Label: Wrasse Records
  • ASIN: B0038P9LPY
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 382,318 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Expensive Shit
  2. He Miss Road
  3. Everything Scatter
  4. Ikoyi Blindness
  5. Kalukuta Show
  6. Na Poi (1975 version)

Disc: 2

  1. Colonial Mentality
  2. Zombie
  3. Unknown Soldier (Part 2)
  4. Coffin for the Head of State (Part 2)
  5. Africa Centre of the World

Disc: 3

  1. 1 V.I.P (Vagabonds In Power) (DVD Live in Berlin)
  2. Power Show (DVD Live in Berlin)
  3. 3 Pansa Pansa (DVD Live in Berlin)
  4. 4 Cross Examination (DVD Live in Berlin)

Product description

Product Description

Fela Kuti was, in many people's opinion, the greatest African musician of all time, whose influence has spread not just throughout African Music, but has also influenced many of the greatest Western musicians, from the Beatles and Stevie Wonder to James Brown. This is the second in the series of Anthologies commemorating Fela’s musical legacy. Anthology Volume 2 is a beautifully packaged 3 disc set, concentrating on his most prolific period 1975–1980 and including a DVD featuring a concert recorded in Berlin in 1978, which has never been released before and is exclusive to this set.

BBC Review

Fela Kuti died back in 1997, and since then his popularity and reputation have grown as a new generation discovers the music of this extraordinary Nigerian musician, bandleader, composer and rebel politician. Quite right, too, for Fela was the originator of Afrobeat, the fusion of funk, jazz and Yoruba influences that continues to inspire musicians worldwide. And his life was so extraordinary and extreme that it’s no surprise that it became the subject of a hit Broadway musical.

But during his lifetime it was all rather different. He had a devoted following in the West, for sure, but when African styles first began to win an international following in the 1980s, he was never as commercially successful as fellow Nigerian King Sunny Adé. His lengthy songs were too adventurous for audiences that didn’t understand his furious political messages, and the fact that he was at times unable to tour because he was jailed by the Nigerian authorities clearly didn’t help his career. Now, at last, the West has caught up, and this thrilling set, the second part of the excellent Fela Anthology, is a rousing introduction to his work.

The best place to hear Fela’s blend of musical invention and firebrand politics was at his Lagos club, the Shrine, where he would arrive at two or three in the morning, invariably puffing on a joint as he launched into furious attacks on Nigeria’s military governments. The authorities hated him, especially when he declared the area around the club to be an independent state, the Kalakuta Republic, and in 1977 the military launched a full-scale assault on his ‘republic’ during which Fela said his singers and dancers were raped, and his mother killed by being thrown from a window. These horrific events led to the classic Fela songs on this set, which covers the period from 1975-80. They include the furious Unknown Soldier, dealing with the attack, to the more thoughtful Coffin for Head of State, telling how Fela presented the soldiers with a replica of his mother’s coffin (getting himself beaten yet again in the process).

Other great songs here include Kalakuta Show, dealing with an earlier attack on his club, along with Zombie, on which Fela shows off his keyboard work, and Africa Centre of the World, featuring Fela’s fine saxophone duets with vibraphone star Roy Ayers. This set also includes a DVD of Fela playing in Berlin in 1978, and excellent sleeve notes by his daughter Yeni. It’s crucial listening for any African music enthusiast. --Robin Denselow

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
3 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsFive stars for disc 1, ten stars for disc 2, a thousand stars for the bonus DVD
on 29 June 2010 - Published on

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: samsung galaxy s6 protective case, samsung galaxy s6 case cover, samsung s6 protective case

Look for similar items by category

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?