Anthology has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Anthology Box set

2.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £8.85 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
17 new from £3.59 5 used from £11.81
£8.85 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Herbie Hancock Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (3 April 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Retro
  • Average Customer Review: 2.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 344,278 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Herbie's Blues
  2. Rock Your Soul
  3. Jamming With Herbie
  4. Hot And Heavy
  5. Night Walker
  6. Hot Piano
  7. Live And Awake
  8. Scoochie
  9. Witchfire
  10. Afro Boogie
  11. Far Out

Disc: 2

  1. You Will Know When You Get There
  2. Toys
  3. Be What

Product Description

Disc one collects Herbie Hancock's funk and soul beginnings and disc two documents a previously unreleased live recording from the great Headhunters period of the early '70s. Disc One: Herbie’s Blues / Rock Your Soul / Jamming With Herbie / Hot and Heavy / Night Walker / Hot Piano / Live and Awake / Scoochie / Witchfire / Afro Boogie / Far Out. Disc Two: You Will Know When You Get There / Toys / Be What.

Customer Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Headhunters period Herbie?Not my taste at all.Some may enjoy this,but thisis,for me,a blemish on a distinguished career in jazz.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3.5 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Disc 2 has some really nice moments... 13 Jun. 2016
By Eric B. Losin - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The two disc set here presents two very different eras and bands. I bought this for the three 20+ minute live pieces by the Mwandishi sextet [as advertised on the cover]. The 1966 disc is available anywhere - disc two is not.

The sound quality is reasonable - the music is excellent. This is, however, nowhere near as excellent as the "Live at the Boston Jazz Workshop" recorded in 1973 and recently released on Hi Hat. If you don't have that, start there. If you can get this for a reasonable price, this is also highly recommended.
3.0 out of 5 stars recycled boots from 66 & 71....... 13 Feb. 2009
By Bradley J. Hayes - Published on
Format: Audio CD
'Anthology' contains on disc 1 "The Blow Up Extra-sessions' from 1966 and on disc 2 'Toys',3 live tracks from 7/71 by the Mwandishi sextet.A cheap way to get these but certainly a strange combination.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?