Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 8 January 2018
Another Earth unfortunately does not amount to anything against an intriguing concept. The indie genre is always hit and miss for me. I will either adore a film who absolutely hate it, so when I watched this it was the first time I felt indifferent. Rhoda, having just heard that another planet that can sustain life is viewable, causes a car accident with more than one fatality. Years later, she finds the remaining survivor and attempts to apologise, but her nerves get the better of her and soon starts getting close to them. It is a simple drama about redemption and earning another chance (should've been titled "Another Chance"). The film is good, but completely misses the mark given the idea that a complete replica of Earth appears. A copy of yourself on a different planet. It provokes you to ask the question "if you could tell yourself something, what would it be?"...and yet doesn't fully explore that ever apparent concept. It's a massive shame, because with the indie genre there are no limitations when it comes to storytelling. You aren't constantly having your hand being held so that studios can ensure they gain a profit. You make want you want, and I just feel that this wasn't the intended final product. The sluggish pacing, considering it's only 88 minutes long, hindered the narrative. The whole film is focussed on Rhoda and her internal struggle for forgiveness, but in the end it just doesn't amount to anything. It's far too melodramatic and occasionally comes across as pretentious. The over stylised amateurish direction felt like a TV episode, especially with the constant heavy handed zooming in and out. The script is surprisingly resonant and there are several scenes that were beautifully crafted, particularly where it's just Brit Marling walking and "Earth 2" is in the background. Brit Marling held this film completely, she was utterly captivating and emotionally investing. The ending...well, I don't know. I want to say it doesn't make sense, but I can't detail it without incorporating spoilers. Weird film, maybe just not what I expected?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2017
tragedy. a ruined life and future coincide with the appearance of a 'mirror' Earth, another fine performance from Brit Marling and fellow cast members,also written produced by Brit Marling and that other guy.hints of Lars Von Tiers 'Melancholia'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2017
Those four stars are more for Brit Marling's performance as the rest of it. The story is simple, and it's kind of - complex too. Not overly so, but if you're likely to be seduced into thinking this is a science-fiction film, well - it isn't. Or rather it's not that in the way the title may suggest - ie there's no trace of Star Trekking or Gating. You see no rocket ships and no space is involved.
This is a story of tragedy and of redemption. The star, of whom I'd never heard, is also one of the co-writers. This is no big budget production, it's a well shot ordinary flick about two rather extraordinary people whose lives intersect in a way that can't be ignored, and the young woman tries to do something about that, only her method rather lacks method and she ends up in quite a pickle as a result of her own actions.
Saying too much would spoil the film's enjoyment so I'll cap this off by adding a recommendation that if you like understated but skilful perfomances, you'll most likely enjoy Another Earth. The Sci-Fi element (such as it is) is pretty lame and rather silly to be honest - but that is NOT what this is all about. This is about People. And it's quite good in its way. it's a bit of sleeper for a wee while till the plot's main driving element is introduced - then the sparks fly.
Worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 March 2016
The Sci-Fi element of this is basically just the backdrop of the storyline.

To be honest, if I really new it would be such a slow and sad drama, I would never have seen it. And to be honest, I'm glad I didn't know - as I really enjoyed the film.

I'm not going to write anything about the plot, apart from that the ending will leave you satisfied... a single moment of what the main character sees (by the way, the young lady that plays the part did a great job) will tell you exactly what happened (or didn't happen, as the case is here).

It is well worth a watch. Just don't go into it expecting a Sci-Fi... it is a slow, sad drama, with great acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2018
An interesting film. While I can see why it is defined as science fiction under the strictest definition; it does a disservice to the film. More an independent film on the how peoples' lives interconnect, and the possibility of how the arrival of a second earth might come to mean other chances for at least one person. However, the film ends at the point the possible new chance begins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2015
Understated but utterly compelling drama pic, neatly written and with fantastic performances from the leads - this is the kind of thoughtful, moving film that I wish we would see more of. The real trick of Cahill and Marling's screenplay is to let the other-world backdrop give the film extra room to breathe above and beyond the taut emotion of its characters. They are forced to reflect on their situation and we are given the time and space to do that ourselves. There are shades of Kieslowski's Colours trilogy in this, and the film is the equal to that comparison. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2016
I loved this film, it is so beautifully filmed, the story is one of guilt,loss, forgiveness, grief and yet hope. Forget the sci-fi bit, that is incidental. If you are looking for a fast-paced​ action film, you will be very disappointed with this. This is a film of introspection
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2016
Marling is excellent in this character based low-budget melodrama. Another earth appears in the sky suddenly, and whilst trying to get a better look at it whilst driving, Marling ends up being injured in a fatal road accident. Her actions cause a husband to lose his wife and children who she collides with in the other vehicle. Plagued by guilt, she tries to contact this man, who is a former composer, in an attempt to make amends for what she has done. Without spoiling what happens next, I'd rather just say that it's well worth watching...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2016
Exactly the kind of quirky, thought-provoking movie that I love. Totally loved it, if you like films like "Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind", "Her" , "Frank" etc. then you`ll likely love this.
Really imaginative yet beautifully melancholy....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 April 2014
This is one of my favourite films. It is simply perfect. The idea is tremendous and the realisation beautiful. An heart-breaking, otherworldly, electrifying even, story with an audacious vision, another earth existing next to us, transposed on screen brilliantly. Brit Marling has a quiet, luminous and moving beauty, ideal for interpreting the young woman of the story. I cannot recommend enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

I Origins
£2.99
Sound of My Voice
£3.49
Coherence
£3.49
Earthrise
£2.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)