Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2008
Penny was plump; Mark was different; Marigold barely ever talked and lived on a smelly street. All three were very different but had one thing similar - they were bullied by Barry. So were a lot of kids but they were the most. That was until Celeste came. Look in a dictionary what does Celeste mean? It should say something like `heavenly' or `celestial'. Well that was one of the clues that the children realised when she first arrived. Another clue was that she was going to be called Angelica until her grandmother swooped down. Her father had dropped hr off but had to fly. And there were many other incidents but the pupils knew she was an angel. She changed the life of those three children.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
I bought this for my Year 4 class so we could read it under the 'Stories with familiar settings topic. It does have a good message but it did come across a bit dated and some of my children were quite concerned about the main character always being sent to a different school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
REVIEW BY KING PING 8 and 3 quarters

This is a beautiful story about three children that are getting bullied (quite a few children get bullied by this child but these three children get bullied in particular).Their names are Mark, Penny and Marigold.
Mark gets bullied because he is a “fuss pot", a fidget and is mad over little things.

Marigold gets bullied because she is a bit poor and quiet.
Penny gets bullied because she’s plump.
Will this change?

A new girl, who is said to be an angel, and quite funny, solves the problem.
Her name is Celeste.

The author has used very descriptive words that show how the characters are feeling and what they are doing.
I think this book is a 5 star rating100%
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Anyone could read, and like this cheeky book, full of wonders and surprises. Take Marigold, for example. She never, ever spoke. Ever. But then, after Celeste brings to Scholl her book of ( bad ) deeds, Marigold speaks as much as Barry Hunter!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2000
Anne Fine uses her characteristic insight into the politics of children's relationships to produce a heart warming story which should provide comfort and amnusment to any child who has suffered victimisation at the hands of others or by their peers.
A well plotted story with some excellent characterisation.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
I read this book with my class of 7-8 year olds as part of our topic on stories that raise issues. They absolutely loved it, as it is a wonderfully funny book which stimulates lots of discussion about bullying and how to deal with it.
It is also short enough not to get bogged down and you can actually finish it - I find this a problem when reading a class book!
I have now bought 6 copies as everyone in the class wants to read it again!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
In this book there's a normal school day until Barry Hunter comes along.After that suddenly an Angel came along and changed that to a surprised unusual school day with an Angel called "Celeste", and finnaly stops Barry Hunters bad mean days and changes Barry Hunter's heart to a good king trustworthy boy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
My class (Year 4) and I have really enjoyed this book and it has led to some great ideas about bullying. The amount of writing and drama you can get out of it is great from a teachers point of view but it is a really good book to just read too as the kids really could relate and understand the characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
I was looking for a book that would engage 9 and 10 year olds of average ability from the first sentence and this works. The plot lends itself to thought and discussion, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I chose this book for my Year four class. It's going to be great for discussion on a common and tricky issue. There is some great language content to learn from and discuss too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.