Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
30
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Here it is at last - the official Season 6 of Angel! It's not the TV series - that got cancelled before its time at the end of Season 5 - but yes it is the official continuation of Angel as scripted by Joss Whedon. It's not a film or a novel either - it's actually a full colour graphic novel released across several high quality hardbound volumes.

There have been Angel (and Spike) comics before - so what makes this "official"? It's something called "canon", which means that the events described are from the vision of the original creator, whereas so many TV series get franchised to authors who write their own stories and put their own spin on it, regardless of continuity. The events in After The Fall are exactly how Joss Whedon would have continued with the TV series had it not been cancelled. The downside is of course that the actors aren't part of it, but the upside is that the graphics budget is unlimited! And the artists are amazingly talented - you have to see it to believe it.

There is more info on Wikipedia, but what you don't get told on Wikipedia or Amazon is how many of the first run comics are in each volume of the hardback, so here goes:

Volume 1: Issues 1 to 5 of the main storyline first run comics. The story begins a couple of months after the fight in the alleyway. It works far better this way.

Volume 2: Issues 6 to 8 of the first run comics, making up a sub-arc called First Night. These tell the story of each character individually on their first night after Los Angeles is sent into Hell. Don't read this volume first, as it will spoil your enjoyment of the revelations in Volume 1.

Volume 3: Issues 9 to 13 of the main storyline first run comics.

Volume 4: (coming in July 2009): Issues 14 to 17 of the main storyline first run comics.

Volume 5: (Coming is September 2009): Issues 17 to (to be announced) With the main storyline finished, these move on to the aftermath of whatever it is that happens in Volume 4.

Oh, and there is also a Spike: After The Fall standalone volume that is William The Bloody brilliant!

All the books have bonus artwork and commentary pages and are of very high quality. I wonder how many people would love to find out that this series exists, but know nothing about it?

Spread the word: Angel unlives again!

UPDATE APRIL 2013 - Please note this review is of the separate hardcover volume 1 of the series, as written back in 2009. The review is also for some reason appearing on the collected slipcase edition of volumes 1 to 4, so please be aware this is only a review of the first of those 4 volumes and as such might sound a bit strange and/or misleading if you're looking at it on the slipcover edition page.
33 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
having watched the angel series (as buffy spin off) i assumed the last episode was a 'Blakes Seven' while saving on the makeup/ cgi to actually show it. many years later spotting this was a great surprise, so i just had to see what they decided would have happened. Setting the scene some months after the alley way initially seemed odd, but gave me all the information to then wonder How they had reach this situation. I found the comic book (graphic novel) format odd on a kindle but i expect i could get used to it. It does however, mean you only get the bare bones of a story, which was always so well enhanced by the interaction of the characters on screen. The art work is very good, but i like my characters animate (cant say alive in this context) or completely in my imagination, as in a novel. I wonder why they axed the series? the dvd sales alone would probably have paid for it - were the actors bored?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2008
after buying this i read through it twice and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times as well as interesting plot twists for the storyline to have the universe made even more less clear than it ever was... (There are minor suprises at the end of Chapter 1, 3 but the huge plot twist comes at the end of the 5th part of 'After the Fall'.)
if this was the idea for Angels final season then fox are idiots for cancelling the series when they did as this would've made a great TV Season...

Can't wait for Angel: After the Fall - Volume 2: First Night
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The story running through issues #1-5 of IDW's comic-book continuation of Joss Whedon's TV-series `Angel' is collected as Angel: After The Fall Volume 1 HC: After the Fall v. 1 (Angel (IDW Hardcover)). This takes place some time after the end of the TV series, and Los Angeles has been shifted into a `Hell' dimension, and is now overrun by demons and suchlike. Angel is still fighting the good fight, and as the story progresses, we discover the fate of the other characters, as well as Angels own... This is a continuing story, so there is a rather abrupt cliff-hanger at the end of issue #5, after Angel has challenged the demon warlords who rule the districts of Los Angeles to fight for control of the city, and various friends turn up to support him.

This is a good continuation of the TV story - and is approved and overseen by Joss Whedon, so it ought to be - but I was never happy with the direction of the original show, as it got gloomier and gloomier season by season. However, I am sticking with it, and I am off to the library tomorrow for the subsequent volumes of this series.

The artwork is excellent, and the individual characters mostly look like their TV counterparts most of the time. The scripting is good, but Angel's own voice doesn't `sound' quite right, though it is a long time since I watched the TV show, so it might be me.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
this is the opening arc of the story and while its Ok it only just gets the characters set up and doesn't finish the story. That said the story itself doesn't quite sit right at first either. It takes a while for the story to reveal much and it has jumped forward from the cliffhanger at the end of the last Tv episode to a period some months later, so things have changed greatly and the story gradually reveals these. This is not a bad thing but it makes it either fascinating or frustrating if you are reading monthly installments. Franco Urru's art is mediocre, and his story telling isn't great making the pages seem jumbled. It doesn't make it aseem like an appealling read.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2008
I loved this continuation of Angel's story, and that of the old team, but I was gutted when halfway through the already slim volume the story abruptly stopped, to be continued. The rest of the book is taken up with artwork, story outlines and other filler, which some might enjoy but I'd have preferred the story not to be spread so thinly between "volumes".
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Very nice, good story which anyone who like/loves angel/buffy will definitely enjoy, art is a little on the rough side sometimes, as an artist myself I would probably not want to put my name on the credits if i drew this, as its not the best. But not bad,

Overall its really good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
The story continues right on from season 5, well 6 months onwards anyway, and feels just like it should; an official continuation of Angel. The characters voices all sound perfect, there's a strong likeness visually, their personalities are captured well, and the story as far as I've gotten so far, is, well, epic.

So why the three stars? Simply because, it's REALLY hard to tell what's happening most of the time. The scene changes are a big mess, and you really can't tell where people are, who's saying what and who they're saying it to more than half the time. I have literally had to reread and analyse every other page or so for ages at a time to understand exactly where I was. I read comics now and then, which doesn't make me an expert, but you really don't need to be one to tell that these're badly presented. It's as if the writers spent AGES creating an entire living, breathing world and planned it out and everything, but totally forgot about us, the readers, because they never take the time to familiarise us with the world. At all.

If it wasn't for the fact it carries on the story of my all time favourite television series, I would have probably given this two stars. Maybe I am being a little harsh, and it could well be that later volumes are easier to follow... Well, one can only hope...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
I was sad when the series ended. It needed a longer run, to just iron out all the plots and give it the finale it really deserved. These comics do that and more. They expand the universe even more than a show could.

The characters are drawn incredibly well, I had no trouble guessing who was who, like a lot of comics based off other things. The dialogue is Whedonesque in nature which makes it all the more delicious to look at.

If you loved the series, or need a new comic to read with all the spunk and wit of a Whedon show, pick it up. I think you'll like it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Just didn't get this at all. Loved the TV series and have them all on DVD, but these books were just weird. The plot lines were so strange and people popping in and out from the TV series that it all got very confusing! Why Angel would 'tame' the dragon that appeared at the end of the series is beyond me. And the art is below standard - half the time you had to guess who it was you were looking at as they paid no resemblance to the character at all. It's probably because each bit was drawn by different people so there was no continuity. And the extra pictures (art) you got at the back of the books was a joke - half of them looked like they'd been done by 5 year olds. Glad I wasted a gift voucher on this and not hard-earned cash!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse