Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2006
The book includes sections on grip, aim, posture and swinging the club, buying equipment, basic rules of the golf course, handicaps, scoring and competitions.
This instructional book is for newcomers to the game and succeeds in its intention of teaching the basics in a way which anyone can understand.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2006
Don't be fooled by the title of this book. It sets out the basics of the golf swing and serves as a great aid in sorting out swing problems. Very simple to understand for the begginer as there are more diagrams than words. Can't wait for the other books in the range. Best Golf book i've seen.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
I haven't played golf for a number of years and got this as part of my return to the game. I found it very useful for self learning of the basics of positioning, grip etc.
This is not one of those manuals that requires hours of reading and it has excellent cartoons/illustrations throughout.
Definitely I found it to be a useful companion and would recommend it to beginners and someone like me who is returning to the game
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
Shows you what you need to know and how to do it in very good diagramatic form.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It would be hard to imagine a better introduction to learning to play golf, or for those struggling and needing to go back to basics. Without a trace of unnecessary jargon, the authors explain the basic principles of the game in the clearest possible terms. The diagrams are invaluable, so much better than photographs, as they indicate in the simplest terms how the body and arms should move. The whole book is essentially visual, a slowed-down video that allows understanding and provides a key platform for practice. Useful tips are included at every stage without detracting from the clarity of the essential points. There are also most useful sections on equipment and etiquette as well as introduction to the basic rules of the game.

The book will have little to offer to the solidly established player with a decent handicap, but for those of us taking up the game, or struggling to master cleanly struck straight shots, it is by far the best of its kind I have met. Does the job without a trace of pretension or any quirky ideas. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
My partner plays golf. I've recently become interested. As someone who plays golf well ( Handicap 8) he says this book is very good.
As someone about to embark on learning - it appears to be a very effective way of explaining, through simple diagrams, what is required.

Time will tell......
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Bought this for my husband because it made more sense to me to be able to see diagrams so he could equate that to how he needed to align his body. He said it was a great approach and is very happy with it. A good basic starter book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
This book is a superb introduction to the game of golf. I have found it immensely useful and very easy to follow. Highly recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2010
Read before last outing on course, could be a little smaller so as to fit into bag pocket but apart from that no complaints
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Got received this book as a gift as I have just this year taken up golf. The book is fantastic. Great diagrams easy instruction. Every beginner should read this
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)