Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
69
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2007
I am a keen fan of F1 especially the business side of it. When this appeared at my local library I was over the moon. I found myself reading chapters out of order, simply because I wanted to know too much, too quickly and hence rushed it. It is a good book however, I was left a little disappointed at how it had been condensed (blame the publishers)down into easy to read chapters, rather than giving the reader all the information and more besides. I felt that if the book had been twice the number of pages, it still wouldn't have been enough detail into his life and business dealings. I got the feeling he could have written a book each on his dealings with the main characters of F1.

So if you want a easy to read, disposable book then it fits the bill but to me it was too superficial and short and left me wanting more.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
Although Eddie Jordan may appear like a fool on the BBC, he truly has achieved a lot. Although his book is a bit slow to start, when he gets to the racing part of his life (most of it)its really enjoyable. I only have two warnings to make, Firstly, make sure your awake as he will say 5 names in a sentence and you have to remember them for most of the book. Secondly, if your quite young reading this (under 20) make sure you know you F1 history as he will make references to drivers (and it only makes sense if you know they won the championship etc). (I should point out it only really goes up to 2007.)

Overall a really good read with a good insight into the life of being a F1 team owner.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
I very much enjoyed this book. Not only has Jordan achieved an immense amount, he has done so with decency and respect for his colleagues and rivals. He writes with great warmth and honesty about so many people he could easily have slated. The book is not a classic, nor is it hugely detailed, but it is an excellent read which would be enjoyed by motor racing fans.

Jordan begins by describing how he started racing, how he suffered injuries in crashes, and how he persisted to a pretty high level before switching to running his own team. His team progresses, and eventually, he moves into F1. One of the things which stands out is the long list of personal relationships that he built with huge numbers of people - drivers, team members, competitors, sponsors, celebrities and royalty. I think that this is a mark of someone with a great love of people and friendship. Another thing which stands out is how he used his Irishness to approach motor racing in a different way to other teams, allowing him to achieve much more with significantly fewer resources, and to stand out from the crowd.

Jordan is a deal-maker, a wheeler dealer, a master networker, a marketeer of the first order, and someone with a real zest and energy for life.

As is normally the case with such high achievers, one gets the feeling that his family suffered from his absence, and he touches on this just once when he said that, after he had left F1, he told one of his daughters that he was a good dad, only for her to tell him that he had only just turned up. I think that it would have been nice to have learnt more about his family, but they are entitled to their privacy.

I strongly recommend this book. It is far from compendious on detail, but it conveys the passion, energy and spirit of Jordan and his F1 team very well. I think that a full history of Jordan and his racing life should be written by someone other than the main protagonist.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2007
Eddie Jordan doesn't pull any punches here, and it was very refreshing to see how things are for the smaller teams in F1.

I always admired the team's spirit and it was a real eye-opener at times - some of his conclusions at the end of the book really struck a chord with me.

All in all, a really good read for the F1 fan, and a book that will take pride of place in my collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
More than meets the eye
Here is Eddie Jordan, somewhat a figure of fun on the BBC these days as F1 pundit, notable for his outrageous dress sense and clothing attire! Lying underneath this is a shrewd business guy and once independent F1 team owner. If you have followed F1 since the eighties this is a very good read. He never set the F1 world alight with just 4 victories but he employed some top drivers and manage to exit F1 a rich man, albeit he risked all to get there.
Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Gives a good insight into the struggle he had creating a F1 team. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Slightly repetitive at times but when you consider how many races there are in a season, it is inevitable. Good non-the-less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
Eddie Jordan has written this book with passion, he knows his subject and it shows it from the first page to the last. It is all about a man who was not born with a silver spoon in his mouth and his success was by working hard at a sport he loves. It is a must read for all F1 fans. Well done Eddie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 June 2010
not really a review, just a quick word on the book.

Eddie Jordan has written a very engaging book that reveals much about formula 1,in terms of both the public image and its back room goings on. Its very easy to read and I found that my respect for Eddie and his honesty had gone up by the time I finished it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
I suspect I'm not the only F1 fan who bought Eddie Jordan's book as a result of him appearing regularly as a pundit on the F1 coverage - noticing some of the interesting input he is generally able to make as a former team owner, I was expecting an interesting read which would shed some light on what its like behind the scenes running an F1 team.

Thats probably how I would sum this book up - "interesting". Its not a classic, and there are a few moments where his story drags, but if you're an F1 fan and you're looking for a cheap read, you can't go too wrong with this one. Jordan is a character and a half and i some of his stories of just how much of a chancer he was at times make for quite an interesting read. One thing worth noting is that in his book, Jordan is arguably slightly less controversial than he has been as an on screen pundit, in terms of dishing out criticism that is (ie. when discussing most drivers that he had to sack/replace), so don't be expecting controversy from cover to cover.

The people who will almost definitely enjoy this book most are those who were hooked on Formula 1 during the Schumacher/Hakkinen era, as this book will no doubt bring back some great memories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Great read for anyone who seeks inspiration. Eddie is an out and out entrepreneur , a man who is constantly thinking of how he can turn a situation to his advantage and a man who would have made good whatever path he`d chosen. One of those books you are glad to have read. Now making use of his great experience, keeping us entertained as an F1 commentator. Thanks Eddie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)