Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 September 2015
This beautiful book simply shines with love. Love for Africa. Love for the numerous animal orphans which need Daphne's care. And love for her family, especially her teacher, husband and soulmate David.

Her autobiography encompasses the recent history of Kenya, it's independence from British rule and the ensuing effect on the wildlife. The decimation of the elephant and rhino population of Africa is well known but this is a personal view of the tragedy of poaching in Tsavo and surrounding areas. Daphne and her team pick up the pieces: traumatised baby elephants which require much psychological as well as physical care if they are to survive and grow to adulthood.

One moment hilarious (ostriches on parade - there's a photo!), the next heartbreaking, this book will make you laugh and cry. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2018
Very well written, very readable. Having visited Africa 3 times now, and visited the Nairobi elephant orphanage, this book is so inline with my thoughts and feelings about all animal intelligence and emotions. Thank God for the work of these pioneering conservationists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2017
Very insightful, moving, inspiring. Effort, hope and faith against all odds. Every page written with great love and respect for African wildlife. Vivid descriptions better than photograph. Life well spent and fulfilled, leaving great legacy to be proud of.
Simply great read for any African wildlife lover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
So far not had time to read but looking forward to it as previously watched a documentary about this lady and the work she does regarding orphaned baby elephants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
A lovely book. The world is a better place with people like daphne in it. We should all follow her example.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2016
Such an amazing book about our dear friends the elephants, Dame Daphne you are a legend and an inspiration to the world .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2016
having had the privilege of visiting the elephant sanctuary on numerous occasions, I had to buy this book. I can highly recommend the BBC series' about the orphanage too. Can't describe the fantastic work these people do. Such dedication, very humbling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2014
A beautiful story which evoked strong memories of the time that I spent in Africa, bringing to life the sounds and even the smells of this fascinating continent. Reading about the love and care that she has provided over the years to Africa's orphaned babies made me both laugh and cry. This was a hugely uplifting book that I have recommended unreservedly to all my animal loving friends and family. Thank you for sharing your life story Daphne, it was inspirational :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
I bought this for a friend who was born and lived in Kenya until he was 22. He is thoroughly enjoying this book as many places and people mentioned were part of his life...even Daphne Sheldricks husbands and brother went to the same school as he did... a few years earlier. A well written interesting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2018
Received very promptly. Not read it yet but the photos etc look excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)