Buy Used
£12.95
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Former Library books. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

American Rust (Wheeler Hardcover) Hardcover – Large Print, 1 Jul 2009

4.2 out of 5 stars 116 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover, Large Print
£23.87 £12.25
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
click to open popover


Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 645 pages
  • Publisher: Wheeler Publishing; Large Print edition (1 July 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1597229989
  • ISBN-13: 978-1597229982
  • Product Dimensions: 14.6 x 3.2 x 22.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 116 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,111,243 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Praise for "American Rust
"

"A novel as splendidly crafted and original as any written in recent decades, "American Rust" is both darkly disturbing and richly compelling. Philipp Meyer's first novel signals the arrival of a new voice in American letters."--Patricia Cornwell, author of "Scarpetta
"
"With its strong narrative engine and understated social insight, "American Rust" is reminiscent of the best of Robert Stone and Russell Banks. Author Philipp Meyer locates the heart of his working class characters without false sentiment or condescension, and their world is artfully described. An extraordinary, compelling novel from a major talent."--George Pelecanos, author of "The Turnaround"


"This is strong, clean stuff. Philipp Meyer deserves to be taken seriously."--Pete Dexter, author of "Paper Trails"

"Philipp Meyer's "American Rust" is written with considerable dramatic intensity and pace. It manages an emotional accuracy, a deep and detailed conviction in its depiction of character. It also captures a sense of a menacing society, a wider world in the throes of decay and self-destruction."--Colm Toibin, author of "The Master
"
"Meyer has a thrilling eye for failed dreams and writes uncommonly tense scenes of violence . . . Fans of Cormac McCarthy or Dennis Lehane will find in Meyer an author worth watching."--"Publishers Weekly"

Praise for "American Rust
"
"A novel as splendidly crafted and original as any written in recent decades, "American Rust" is both darkly disturbing and richly compelling. Philipp Meyer's first novel signals the arrival of a new voice in American letters."--Patricia Cornwell, author of "Scarpetta
"
"With its strong narrative engine and understated social insight, "American Rust" is reminiscent of the best of Robert Stone and Russell Banks. Author Philipp Meyer locates the heart of his working class characters without false sentiment or condescension, and their world is artfully described. An extraordinary, compelling novel from a major talent."--George Pelecanos, author of "The Turnaround"

"This is strong, clean stuff. Philipp Meyer deserves to be taken seriously."--Pete Dexter, author of "Paper Trails"
"Philipp Meyer's "American Rust" is written with considerable dramatic intensity and pace. It manages an emotional accuracy, a deep and detailed conviction in its depiction of character. It also captures a sense of a menacing society, a wider world in the throes of decay and self-destruction."--Colm Toibin, author of "The Master
"
"Meyer has a thrilling eye for failed dreams and writes uncommonly tense scenes of violence . . . Fans of Cormac McCarthy or Dennis Lehane will find in Meyer an author worth watching."--"Publishers Weekly"

Praise for "American Rust
"
A novel as splendidly crafted and original as any written in recent decades, "American Rust" is both darkly disturbing and richly compelling. Philipp Meyer s first novel signals the arrival of a new voice in American letters. Patricia Cornwell, author of "Scarpetta
"
With its strong narrative engine and understated social insight, "American Rust" is reminiscent of the best of Robert Stone and Russell Banks. Author Philipp Meyer locates the heart of his working class characters without false sentiment or condescension, and their world is artfully described. An extraordinary, compelling novel from a major talent. George Pelecanos, author of "The Turnaround"

This is strong, clean stuff. Philipp Meyer deserves to be taken seriously. Pete Dexter, author of "Paper Trails"
Philipp Meyer's "American Rust" is written with considerable dramatic intensity and pace. It manages an emotional accuracy, a deep and detailed conviction in its depiction of character. It also captures a sense of a menacing society, a wider world in the throes of decay and self-destruction. Colm Toibin, author of "The Master
"
Meyer has a thrilling eye for failed dreams and writes uncommonly tense scenes of violence . . . Fans of Cormac McCarthy or Dennis Lehane will find in Meyer an author worth watching. "Publishers Weekly""

Praise for American Rust

"A novel as splendidly crafted and original as any written in recent decades, American Rust is both darkly disturbing and richly compelling. Philipp Meyer's first novel signals the arrival of a new voice in American letters."--Patricia Cornwell, author of Scarpetta

"With its strong narrative engine and understated social insight, American Rust is reminiscent of the best of Robert Stone and Russell Banks. Author Philipp Meyer locates the heart of his working class characters without false sentiment or condescension, and their world is artfully described. An extraordinary, compelling novel from a major talent."--George Pelecanos, author of The Turnaround

"This is strong, clean stuff. Philipp Meyer deserves to be taken seriously."--Pete Dexter, author of Paper Trails
"Philipp Meyer's American Rust is written with considerable dramatic intensity and pace. It manages an emotional accuracy, a deep and detailed conviction in its depiction of character. It also captures a sense of a menacing society, a wider world in the throes of decay and self-destruction."--Colm Toibin, author of The Master

"Meyer has a thrilling eye for failed dreams and writes uncommonly tense scenes of violence . . . Fans of Cormac McCarthy or Dennis Lehane will find in Meyer an author worth watching."--Publishers Weekly

Praise for American Rust

"A novel as splendidly crafted and original as any written in recent decades, American Rust is both darkly disturbing and richly compelling. Philipp Meyer's first novel signals the arrival of a new voice in American letters."--Patricia Cornwell, author of Scarpetta

"With its strong narrative engine and understated social insight, American Rust is reminiscent of the best of Robert Stone and Russell Banks. Author Philipp Meyer locates the heart of his working class characters without false sentiment or condescension, and their world is artfully described. An extraordinary, compelling novel from a major talent."--George Pelecanos, author of The Turnaround

"This is strong, clean stuff. Philipp Meyer deserves to be taken seriously."--Pete Dexter, author of Paper Trails

"Philipp Meyer's American Rust is written with considerable dramatic intensity and pace. It manages an emotional accuracy, a deep and detailed conviction in its depiction of character. It also captures a sense of a menacing society, a wider world in the throes of decay and self-destruction."--Colm Toibin, author of The Master

"Meyer has a thrilling eye for failed dreams and writes uncommonly tense scenes of violence . . . Fans of Cormac McCarthy or Dennis Lehane will find in Meyer an author worth watching."--Publishers Weekly --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

"The American dream dies and is reborn yet again. Set in a beautiful but bleak post-industrial landscape with characters who are compellingly engaging, AMERICAN RUST is a startlingly mature and impressive debut."
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 116 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 February 2017
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Format: Mass Market Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?