A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £10.00 (71%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£3.99
Kindle price
£13.99
Paperback price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£10.00 (71%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
American Elsewhere has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Dispatched from the US -- Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. Former Library books. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

American Elsewhere Paperback – 28 Feb 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 39 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£13.99
£9.26 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • American Elsewhere
  • +
  • The Troupe
Total price: £25.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 688 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit US; 1 edition (28 Feb. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316200204
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316200202
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 4.4 x 21 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 39 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 503,671 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King. ... American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader."--Los Angeles Times

"This wonderful offering is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman."--Library Journal

"Highly impressive."--Kirkus Reviews

"Bennett's novel may remind readers of the early works of Stephen King, presenting a small town where nothing is what it seems.... Bennett's work also evokes a mood similar to that of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves, where every darkness may swallow a person only to spit them out into a place akin to Wonderland."--RT Book Reviews

"Bennett gives the idealized image of the American dream a pan-dimensional twist with this alien invasion tale, part Bradbury and part L'Engle with a dash of Edward Scissorhands... Readers will be captivated from start to finish."--Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on American Elsewhere

"The novel starts out curious and odd but quickly becomes terrifying and haunting, as the author reveals more about the people of Wink, who just may be the most curious and intimidating collection of folks you're likely to meet outside the pages of Stephen King.... A beautifully written, claustrophobic, and deeply memorable horror novel."--Booklist

"Mad and humorous, gory and poignant, American Elsewhere is a sort of mid-20th-century retelling of the embodiment of Lovecraftian Elder Gods by way of Alamogordo's legendary atomic tests. It's not to be missed.--Seattle Times

"So American Elsewhere is basically so good that I want to camp outside @robertjbennett's house until he tells me his secret."--Adam Christopher

Book Description

From the acclaimed author of Mr. Shivers and The Company Man comes a haunting tale of modern America.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

22 June 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
17 May 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
21 August 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
13 January 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 May 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
13 May 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
5 June 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?