Buy Used
£2.41
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Infinite_Books
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Order will be shipped within 24 hours from our UK based warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. We offer a full money back guarantee should you not be satisfied with your order in any way.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Almost French: A New Life in Paris Paperback – 14 Jul 2003

4.3 out of 5 stars 119 customer reviews

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback, 14 Jul 2003
£1.50 £0.01

There is a newer edition of this item:

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Nicholas Brealey Publishing (14 July 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1857883160
  • ISBN-13: 978-1857883169
  • Product Dimensions: 13.5 x 21.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 119 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,573,621 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"A funny, heart-warming, romantic and poignant tale of fitting in." -- Living France magazine, July 2003

"An entertaining tale of being a fish out of water in one of the most magical cities in the world." -- Everything France, July 2003

"Best, most seductive and funniest travel memoir this summer is Sarah Turnbull’s Almost French." -- What’s On In London, 16th July 2003

"France is the new Italy ‘Turnbull’s insights into French culture are witty, insightful, and told with a journalist’s skill.." -- AB&P

"Required reading for anyone contemplating a spot of French leave." -- marie claire, August 2003

A marketing book for non-marketers ... you'll find practical advice that makes you re-evaluate how your messages are conveyed and received. -- Dr Michael Riley, Senior Lecturer in Education, Bath Spa University College

It's good to see a book that squarely puts the word SALES back into marketing ... required reading. -- Edwin Mutton, Director-General, Institute of Sales Promotion

Provides a wealth of insights that will help anyone with marketing responsibility ... turns theory into positive real-world results. -- Peter Muscutt, Marketing Manager, ChevronTexaco

Synopsis

In the tradition of Frances Mayes' Under the Tuscan Sun, Chris Stewart's A Parrot in the Pepper Tree or Peter Mayle without the pile of stones, Almost French is a perceptive, poignant, often hilarious mixture of personal memoir and travel. As a student at University, Sarah Turnbull dropped French after failing the subject during her first year. Then, during a career break from journalism to travel the world, she finds herself changing her plans to settle permanently in Paris. Almost French is the witty account of her new life in Paris and the difficulties she faces in trying to integrate fully into Parisian culture while trying to establish herself as a freelance journalist. Sarah gives the reader a fascinating insight into her love/hate relationship with the French through humorous examples of runins with her new countrymen. Everything from using the correct language and etiquette to address everyone from the local baker to a senior figure in the French Ministry of Defence, from how you laugh and what you serve on your dinner table, to what you wear, all prove vital to being accepted as one of them. Finally, as the title suggests, Sarah succeeds in becoming 'almost French'.

See all Product description

119 customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-6 of 119 reviews

13 June 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
12 September 2012
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
26 June 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
26 July 2015
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
21 November 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
22 February 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?