Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2017
It's a good cheap release for hardcore DP fans, however the quality is lacking on the records, where there is frequent skipping. I would recommend getting the Alive Box Set if you want a superior version of the vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This is an AMAZING little mix.. a bit short - but crank it up and you wont notice..
Got me to work in record time this morning.

Get selection of tunes, great manipulations, great mixes.. fun fun funk funk funk!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
I'd give this zero stars if it would let me. Had to return it because it was unplayable. It jumped through the whole album. Very disappointed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2001
fantastic vibe from crowd , daft at there best , after the indie-organic tech sound of the debut homework release , this tour must have been so good , wish i had seen it, chemical brothers are the live act kings , but daft punk are the french and funked version, didnt know these guys could use live sampler's so well, and they push the crowd with some harder beats aswell, wish there was more than 45 mins tho. love it , if you love the daft sound , this is daft , harder, live, and sweaty.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2001
ALIVE 1997 is a live recording from Daft Punk's successful DaftenDirekt Tour following the release of their luminary debut album 'Homework'.
As previously previewed on their DVD- 'D.A.F.T: A Story About Dogs, Androids, Firemen and Tomatoes' and featured in lower quality on their web venture 'DaftClub', the music is more than a mixing of album tracks but a furious live performance. Elements of rapturous cries from the audience, frenetic live looping, cuttings and samplings of album tracks such as WDPK and Rollin' & Scratchin are spliced blisteringly fast. Armand Van Helden's '10 minute funk mix' of 'Da Funk' 7mins 29secs in, being a noteable highlight. I mention the time as the CD has no track distinctions. Such astounding live mixing has only been equalled by dance music contemporaries such as 'Orbital' and 'The Chemical Brothers'. Like these contemporaries, Daft Punk rebuild tracks to audience electrifying crescendos, using detroit acid house inspired techno squeals or distorted Roland 909 samplers whilst simultaneously working in drum sequences and adding their now recognisable trait of french disco filtering. It's no wonder that like 'The Chemical Brothers' and 'Orbital' it takes two of them!
The only let downs being it's length as it clocks in at just above 45 minutes and the age of the material. However this is an excellent CD definately that should not be confined to the bargain bins of Summer dance compilations as the highly unique live reworking of 'Homework' tracks and remixes is worthy of being seen as original material in it's own light. All this makes it an essential purchase for Daft Punk fanatics and fans of dance music in general.
Satish
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
Homework was one of those albums. It's up there among the greats. Having been a huge fan fan (both live and and recorded) since then, I was more than a wee bit dissapointed with Discovery. Call me selfish, but I didn't want them to "develop" or "mature". I wanted them to stay "daft" and "punk".
Now that Alive 1997 is out, I have another reason to remember why they're so fantastic. What an amazing live set. I saw them at the Arches in Glasgow on the same tour and was blown away. This is a must for original DP fans. To create beats, loops, and sequences like this, the boys must have some sort of psychic connection. They work together flawlessly and it's a joy to listen, not only to the music, but to such a great live act. My one and only fault with the set is that there's no "Burnin'". That, to me, is Daft Punk's finest. I can still remember the first time I heard it at Slam at the Arches, with all the hairs on my arms standing.
PS - Try and stop the hairs on your arm going crazy at 08:28!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
AGHHH XX OMG I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT GOOD QUALITY CONDITION, WOULD LOVE FULL PERFORMANCE OF THIS AMAZING SHOW I THINK ALIVE 2007 WAS EVEN BETTER
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
in 1997, few made it big playing music like these two. They took a sound that at the time was not followed anywhere near to the extent it is now, and made it popular. Just like every album they make, it's different. Listen to all their albums. In order of production time. You'll be shocked by the diversity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2001
I was surprised that they actually decided to release a life daft punk gig on CD. This is the sort of thing I have wanted in a long time. I preferred the first album, Homework, to the disco-oriented Discovery and to release a live set featuring tracks from the former is something i've longed to hear. This is 45 minutes of Daft Punk at their best. If you like this you should check out Everything Everything by Underworld - it's even better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Bought as a present, recipient very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)