Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2010
The Algarve is the southernmost region of mainland Portugal, covering about 5400 sq km, and it enjoys a pleasant climate. For many people this makes it an ideal holiday destination at any time of the year. This book takes a year (starting in August) and looks at the way wildlife changes through the seasons - analysing each two-week period separately. Although both authors are well-known birders, there is plenty of information here for the all-round naturalist, and separate indexes are given for birds, butterflies, other insects, fish, fungi, mammals, reptiles, amphibians and plants. A relatively small map shows 31 towns and other locations mentioned in the text, although the book does not provide any directions or detailed site information.

Keith Betton
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2009
After dozens of visits to the Algarve with no real idea of where to look and, most importantly, when to look for particular birds, wildflowers or fungi, I now have a guide that answers those vital questions. Such a time saver for anyone who has only limited holiday time and wants to use it as productively as possible.

The pictures are superb, making identification so much easier. Thanks, Guys; your book is just the ticket (and excellent value too).Algarve Wildlife: The Natural Year
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
I visit the Algarve often and am very interested in the local natural history.At last there is abook gives first class information on the local ecology month by month.

The book is abundantly illustrated with excellent photos taken by some of the best in the world. I would thoroughly recommend the book to anyone thinking of visiting the Algarve, particularly out of season. Those who only go in August miss the incredible abundance of wildlife in the Spring and the spectacular migrations of birds over Autumn. With this book in hand you will know what to look out for.

For some reason it is difficult to find - incredibly it is not for sale at Faro airport! - so buy before you visit.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
A beautiful, well written book with good photographs to aid with identification. It shows and tells what you can expect to see through out the year. It also gives information as to where you might see particular species and so-on. I would highly recommend to any one who enjoys wild and plant life whilst on Holiday and likes to know what they are looking at.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Having spent many holidays in the Algarve we had been searching for a wildlife book specific to that area. Very please to have it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
This is an excellent guide to wildlife in the Algarve, covering the various species, the geographical areas they inhabit, and the period of the year when they are may be seen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Brought the book as going to Algarve for the first time and want to know what to look out for. The book gives a very personal look of the wildlife as seenby two local Brits who have lived there several years, look forward to spotting the wildlife shown in the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
I'm afraid I haven't personally seen the book as I bought it for my Father and had it delivered direct to him in Portugal. He lives on the Algarve and was delighted with the book, so overall a success !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
I could emigrate on the basis of this book. The excitement of the author just rours out of the book and into you. Get the book and go, leave whoever on the beach or poolside and wander around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
An excellent summary of Algarve wildlife. It gives good coverage of a broad subject and I am glad I read it before my holiday. The only improvement would be the inclusion of checklists.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)