The Alehouse Sessions has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Alehouse Sessions

4.2 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

Price: £12.99 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 9 Jun 2017
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Frequently bought together

  • The Alehouse Sessions
  • +
  • The Image Of Melancholy [Berit Norbakken Solset, Jon Blake, Barokksolistene, Bjarte Eike] [BIS: BIS2057]
  • +
  • London Calling (BIS: BISSACD1997)
Total price: £44.68
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: n/a
  • Composer: John Playford, Henry Purcell
  • Audio CD (9 Jun. 2017)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Rubicon
  • ASIN: B071D94YVM
  • Other Editions: Vinyl
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 64,645 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Wallom Green
  2. Curtain Tune
  3. Lead Me
  4. Haul Away Joe
  5. Johnny Faa
  6. Hole in the Wall
  7. The Virgin Queen Set
  8. Pass Around the Grog
  9. The Travel Set
  10. I Drew My Ship
  11. Carolan's Cup
  12. The Canadian Set
  13. Leave Her Johnny

Product description

Product Description

'The Alehouse Sessions', curated and devised by Bjarte Eike, is an evolving insight into the music of the English 17th Century tavern. It shines light onto this tumultuous period through Purcell overtures, English sea shanties and Scandinavian folk songs, thrown in for good measure, brilliantly evoking the atmosphere of a raucous port pub in the 1690s. These sessions have already been hailed as 'irresistible' [The Times], 'superb' [The Scotsman] and 'fabulously unrestrained' by The Guardian, 'creating the effect of a late night jamming session', said BBC Music Magazine. 'The signature of this project is the interaction on stage between the players and the audience...drawing its inspiration from the Shakespearian theatre where there was a direct communication between stage and hall', says Bjarte Eike. 'The 'Alehouse Sessions' will be on tour throughout 2017.


'Music and drink: two things that make life worth living...Barroksolistene have been working on this project for almost 10 years, and the performances had a wonderful sense of being thoroughly lived in. The variety of tone and texture was astonishing, ranging from very naughty folk-songs to delicate dance tunes with a modal tang, from as far afield as Shetland and Norway. The whole joyous evening was a liberation, carrying us back to a time when the terms 'classical' and 'folk' hadn t yet been invented, and music was simply music.' 5 Stars --The Daily Telegraph

'it s what happens when you take a bunch of adventurous, improvising musicians from the folk and period instrument worlds, ply them with beer, and get them to sing and dance as well as play the kind of music that was around in early 17th century England when professional musicians were banned from theatres and resorted to impromptu sessions in the taverns instead ... it could be the most musical fun you have all week' --Andrew McGregor BBC Radio 3 Record Review, 18th June 2017

8 customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

30 August 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
2 December 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
23 August 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
15 December 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
3 August 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
12 September 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
14 July 2017
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
23 March 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?