Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
107
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 January 2005
What you get in this package is the 2 disk special edition vesion of Aladdin, plus the 2 sequals.
The original Aladdin feature is a full blow Disney spectacular with now expense spared. The animation is exactly what you expect from Disney. The voice acting is excellent and the characters are great. The story is pretty much what you expect from an Aladdin based story and with Robin Williams playing the Genie you can expect a barrel of laughs. We get the standard happy ending - but with an obvious queue for a sequal, which is unusual for a Disney film. The film is very very good - Jafar is an excellent character and brings some darkness to the otherwise ideal world that the characters inhabit. The extras are quite good as well - the vitrual tour of Agrabah is quite impressive for smaller children.
The Return of Jafar starts up where Aladdin finishes. This time it's by the Disney Television people, so the standard of animation suffers. Robin Williams is also absent and the newly genie isn't quite as good. The story is pretty good though and it involves Jafar escaping from the prison he was left in at the end of the previous film.
Aladdin and the Prince of Thieves is the final film. Robin Williams comes back to do the genie again. And this time the story of the 40 thieves has been shoe horned into the Aladdin story - Aladdins father is the Prince of Thieves! We get a sort of buddy film where Aladdin and his father travel together and sort out their problems.
Overall I'm giving this 9/10 and rounding it up to 5 stars. My 4 year old daughter loves all the films, and I don't mind watching them with her.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
I liked all three of these.

The first Aladdin movie is almost perfect, with the frenetic genie almost (thank-fully not quite) overpowering the rest of the movie. The music and songs are nice, the animation style and quality are for the most part above average, and the script is a-okay for Disnet fantasy fair. Wonderful, something for kids and adults.

The middle of the three does suffer from lower animation/production values and the lack of Robin Williams's voice for the genie I still liked it. Dan Castellaneta is a very successful voice over performer, but unfortunately doesn't have the energy of Williams. Some good lines and the sort of story that reasonably follows on from the original.

The third film is a return to excellence. The writing standards remain high, and the visuals return to high standards. Plus, Robin Williams is back (albeit with a bit less screentime) voicing the genie. Some of the plot direction is not quite where I would have chosen to take it, but overall, for the whole family it's a good round-up for the trilogy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 June 2015
It doesn't get much better than this guys, all three 'Aladdin' movies together on DVD, housed in a cardboard box set.

'Aladdin' (1992): Like 'The Lion King, 'Aladdin' is one Disney adventure that you can go on time and time. It tells the tale of street urchan Aladdin, who finds himself a lamp in a cave, and forms a friendship in the flamboyant, larger than life genie (beautifully played by the late Robin Williams who effortlessly uses his great comic timing in the role), Aladdin sets out to prove himself, and win the Princess Jasmin's heart. With the evil Jafar, her father's advisor plotting, it won't be easy. Wiith beautiful animation, brilliant characters, and a stunning soundtrack - it's fun and adventurous for sure, but there's also a lot of genuinely heartfelt moments as well, that makes it perfect for kids and adults alike. Here is a real animated treasure, and fun with a capital F. 5/5

'Return of Jafar' (1994): Jafar is now a genie, and manages to escape from his confinement in the Cave of Wonders. He returns to Agrabah to gain his revenge on Aladdin, his lover Princess Jasmine, and all his gang. Obviously the budget for this film was lower than the first, so whilst the animation isn't anything outstanding, i's satisfying. Robin Williams didn't return to characterise the genie, but 'The Simpsons' voice artist Dan Castellaneta stepped in, and the man behind Homer Simpson, Grandpa Abe and Barney Grunple, does a satisfying job. Virtually everything about 'The Return of Jafar' is 'second rate' (to quote one of the songs here, not as good as those of the first!) in comparison to'Aladdin', but it doesn't matter, because it's still an enjoyable enough adventure in it's own right. 3/5

'Aladdin and the king of Thieves' (1996): Aladdin is finally going to marry Princess Jasmine, and decides to goes in search of his father, and upon discovering him, finds that his dad (voiced by John Rhys-Davies) is the leader of a gang of thieves. Robin Williams returns as the genie, and his jokes are hilarious. The storyline is incredibly strong, much more so than ' The Return of the Jafar', and a great adventure. This touching tale of father-and-son can be appreciated by the adults as well as the children I'm sure. This is a fitting end to the Aladdin story. 4/5

So, in short, a Walt Disney classic that is one of favourite animated movies of all time, a good sequel, and a great third. If you don't already own the films separately, now is your chance to have them all together in one.

Note: The DVD of the first 'Aladdin' movie contains the full film, and a 'music modes' feature. However, there is a better edition out there which I plan to buy one day, Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993], which contains lots of bonus features, and judging by the reviews, is well worth paying the extra cash for. I'd advise you spend your cash on that, if that's the ONLY film that you really want.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2015
I bought this for my niece as she is trying to collect all the DVD's with princesses in. She sat and watched it with her mum, dad and brother and the whole family have enjoyed watching it together (at least I got something right!). Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
Well the first one is. Personally Disney dvds can become hard to come by so if you haven't picked up Aladdin yet to relive those childhood memories do. Personally I picked this one up over the release with just Aladdin in as the other two movies are good, especially for Disney sequels which can be hit and miss.

The songs are still as sing-along-able and the jokes still as funny.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2004
Well what can i say about this film, it took over £17 million back in 1993 and it's disney's third strongest film, it had a great cast list especially with Robin Williams as the genie.
This film is great for Kids and also for adults who may have previously seen this film, as the dvd's are loaded with EXTRAS, it will have deleted scenes, also a deleted song called 'Proud of your boy'. and a 3D tour of the genie's lamp.
But still that not all, This trilogy pack contains the other 2 films - The Return of Jafar, Aladdin and the King of Thieves.
It's a very ideal pack to get you kids or even enrich our next generation with another barrel of laughters from Aladdin, it's a must have
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2004
In my opinion, Aladdin is the best film ever made by Disney. Some of the things that make this movie so good, beside the beautiful animation, is the wonderful songs by late Howard Ashman, Tim Rice & Alan Menken, and Menken's wonderous score (with an arabian touch). Aladdin won 2 Academy Awards because of it's brilliant music. The film has a good story, interessting characters and beautiful and funny songs.

My favourite character is the villain Jafar (the best Disney villain!), voiced by the very gifted actor/singer Jonathan Freeman. To bad that he diden't got more songs in this picture (but there are more Freeman recorded songs for Aladdin; "Why Me?" and "Humiliate the Boy"). Robin Williams as the Genie is also very funny off course, but I think Freeman's Jafar is a better character.

In The Return of Jafar, Jafar is planning revenge, as he has escaped from the lamp... In this movie Freeman has a very catchy song for Jafar, "You're Only Second Rate". (Yes, I love Freeman's performances!)

In my opinion, the last movie in the Aladdin trilogy, Aladdin and the King of Thieves, is not as good as The Return of Jafar. Perhaps because there is no Jafar in it?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Classic Disney film that all ages love so had to buy these for my nephew. He loves watching them over and over again and were a great price for the boxset, this seller was the cheapest place to buy them when i was looking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
'Aladdin' is one of the films usually fingered by prissy critics trying to prove that Disney has vulgarised classic tales and debased the imaginations of children world-wide. But what do you see when you compare the original Aladdin story with the Disney cartoon? In the original, the hero simply gets rich by magic and wins the princess. In the Disney version, we are asked to look at the implications of Aladdin making the girl he loves think he's a Prince when he is, in fact, a street rat - and to keep up the deception, he needs to use the Genie whom he has promised to set free. Magical success comes at a price. Is that so vulgar?
In fact there seem to be two Aladdin movies contending with each other on the same disc. One is definitely vulgar and includes crass Arab jokes you're surprised they could ever get away with ('Crazy Hakim's Discount Fertiliser'), Americanised heroes and contemporary American showbiz references for those scared of anything different, a lot of ugly hyperactivity in blue and orange, and the raucous and laboured 'comedy' of the Genie and Iago the parrot, the good guy and the bad guy outdoing one another in embarrassingness. The other is magical and takes over whenever the film-makers stop trying to be contemporary and let themselves swig 70 degrees proof romantic Orientalism straight from the bottle, and particularly as soon as any of the brilliant songs starts. The composer Alan Menken is the greatest hero of the Disney revival.
The two sequels are very different in quality. Film two, The Return of Jafar, aside from a good opening sequence and one excellent song, 'Forget about Love', sung by the parrot ('Love is revolting/It's even worse than when you're moulting'), is nondescript. Film three, Aladdin and the King of Thieves, is a different matter altogether. Cleverly working in the 'Ali Baba' storyline, it introduces a wonderfully edgy and ambiguous hero/villain, the blue-cloaked, flashing-eyed King of Thieves himself. He was my 5-year-old daughter's first film heart-throb. Another good batch of songs, including the joyous opening number, 'There's a party here in Agrabah', and the villainously infectious 'Welcome to the Forty Thieves', proved that even Menken's influence could be enough.
In short, lots of fun and plenty of plot for your money. Even the TV spin-offs weren't too bad.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
The kids liked this and i thought it was a good price for all three films, none of the films have the Disney hologram on them, which i believe is how you can tell if its not a real Disney made DVD. All the films played fine though and the children were happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse