Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2008
I bought Aladdin being a big fan of the Disney films and I was very pleased with the movie itself; Robin Williams is hilarious as the Genie, the story is good if not a bit too eccentric, the songs are wonderful and picture and sound quality are perfect.

However calling the DVD a 'Musical Masterpiece' edition is a bit of a marketing con. The only features are a pamphlet like booklet with song lyrics and then there's an option to put the film on with song subtitles appearing.

I did buy the DVD just for the film so I really didn't mind the lack of decent extras too much, it's a good price for a very good movie but if you're an extras fan it may be worth trying to find the DVD that was released in 2004.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2004
Aladdin is, in my opinion, the best of the traditional (as in cartoon musicals) Disney films from the 90s. The story is full of black humour and the genie is perfectly voiced by Robin Williams.
This DVD takes the original film and brings the image and sound quality bang up to date, compared to the original VHS I have I cannot believe they are the same film. The extras on disc 2 are more suited to children however for us grown ups there are plenty of interesting bits such as the commentary and the trivia subtitles which point you towards such features as Disney in-jokes and which characters are based on members of the team.
An excellent buy for both the young and young at heart
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2004
Aladdin is definitely one of the best disney films covering many different genres including, Good and evil, romance and comedy. Jafar portrays the classic evil disney character, powerful, ugly and out to stop the hero we love, Aladdin. Aladdin is a mischievious, good looking, street rat, who has to steal food to stay alive. He jumps and dodges out of the hands of the guards to the catchy music with his monkey friend. he gets his hands on a lamp which jafar so desperately wants, and of course the hugely funny genie played by Robin Williams appears, providing comedy for all ages he is what makes his film what it is. aladdin uses his three wishes to get closer to princess jasmine who has to be married by law in just a few days and he is desperately in love with. Jasmine is obviously beautiful, but i'm glad to say her personality breaks free from most stereotypes in Disney Films. she refuses to get married and wishes she lived a simple life, she sees in jafar what her father (sultan) can't see. the music is like most disney films catchy and beautifully sung, "a whole new world" is one of teh most well known isney songs for a reason. so with the romance of aladdin and jasmine, the comedy of genie and the character we all love to hate jafar Aladdin turns into one of the best disney films ever!!! this including the special features for the adults and the games for the kids provided on the 2nd disc means you have to buy this film.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2008
Based on the classic tale from the Arabian Nights, "Aladdin" is one of the best Disney films; it is a tour-de-force of lovely animation and magical music. There's plenty of heart, as well, and whilst the story has its fair share of clichés, the film overall deserves a good five stars.

Having said that, this DVD edition (the Musical Masterpiece Edition) comes across as a bit pointless. I hate to nitpick and sound all geeky, but I shall be. A few years ago, "Aladdin" was released for the first time on DVD in a splendid two-disc edition featuring a whole two-hour documentary on the film's production, as well as audio-commentaries, trailers, production galleries and a tribute to Alan Menken (who wrote the songs for not just "Aladdin", but "The Little Mermaid", "Beauty and the Beast", "Enchanted", "Pocahontas" etc). However, quicker than you could say Scrooge McDuck is your uncle, it went back into the infamous Disney vault. And now the film has "returned from the Disney vault" with only a "sing along" feature and not much else.

I understand that some people will just want the movie, but as someone seriously interested in the film/TV industry, I find it a bit depressing that studios should just be mediocre when it comes to releasing films, especially when they've done better in the past.
22 Comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Aladdin is an orphan stealing what he needs to eat. Jasmine is the princess, but is unhappy to be forced to marry. One day, they meet in the market, and its love at first sight. But Jasmine can only marry a prince. Meanwhile, Jafar's schemes to go from advisor to Sultan bring him across Aladdin's path. But when Aladdin finds the Genie of the lamp, things really get interesting.
And fun. As anyone who has seen this movie will tell you, Robin Williams as the Genie absolutely makes this movie. I still haven't caught all his characters and impersonations, but they still make me laugh. The plot itself is better then their usual fairy tale romance with Jafar making a truly evil villain. The songs are some of their best and most memorable, especially the romantic song "Whole New World." And the climax is one of my favorites because of how cleaver it is. The animation is beautiful with vibrant colors bringing the story to life.
I've been looking forward to this DVD release since it was announced. And let me tell you, it looks and sounds great. Perfect widescreen, and the immersive audio mix is truly breathtaking. Extras include two commentary tracks and a fun pop-up trivia option. The story got quite an overhaul from the original version they were thinking of, and some of the original material is presented here, including a song recorded by Clay Aiken. Disc two features a reunion of the producers, animators, and voice cast interspersed with behind the scenes material. Honestly, this felt like it was leaving stuff out and could have been more in depth. There's also a tribute to composure Alan Menken, games for kids, and the usual art galleries. Most noticeably missing from the extras is Robin Williams. With all the other principle voice cast returning for the extras, I was really disappointed not to hear from him.
This is a great movie in every sense of the word that everyone will enjoy watching many times. While the extras don't seem quite as impressive as previous Platinum Edition titles, there's still plenty here for fans. A disc well worth getting.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2004
I need not repeat what the other reviews have said - the picture and sound quality is excellent, the film has to be one of the best original Disney films, etc.
The one thing I would complain about is that Disney seem to have found a way to make this DVD like many of their old VHS tapes, i.e. forcing you to watch trailers for other films before you get to the root menu on the DVD, like the copyright notices. And once you start the film, they show about 5 "so-and-so productions" trailers, which aren't in the chapter system of the actual film, i.e. you can't skip them either! It takes something in the order of 5 minutes to actually get to the film, whereas most DVDs are up and running inside of 30 seconds. A real pain when all you want to do is let a friend sing along to one of the songs.
Considering that one reason people prefer DVDs is the lack of adverts, this is a big disappointment, as this means no doubt that this trend will continue with all future Disney DVDs.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
This was already a great film! Originally released in 1992, it is the portrayal of Ali Baba and Arabian Nights all rolled into one. Songs and wonderful, voice casting is perfect and Genie (voiced by Robin Williams is hillarious).

This is the new edition containing bonus features and commentaries etc as standard which just make this a fabulous DVD to own.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 September 2014
The beginning to mid '90s was a great time for Walt Disney classics, and in 1992 came 'Aladdin', which was so successful that a television series and two movie sequels followed by 1996. In my mind, it's one of the all time greats.

The movies centres around a charming street urchin (or 'street rat' as he is labelled by locals) called Aladdin, who accidentally meets, and quickly falls in love with the beautiful Princess Jasmin. Jasmin is bored of her royal lifestyle, and the restrictions she faces, and one day ventures out into the city undercover, where she meets the homeless Aladdin, and his trusty monkey sidekick Abu. Aladdin charms her, and she falls in love with him as well but, unfortunately she can only marry a prince. Her father the Sultan, is advised by his evil sorcerer adviser Jafar, and throws him in jail. After finding himself a lamp, and a friendship in the flamboyant, larger than life genie (beautifully played by the late Robin Williams who effortlessly uses his great comic timing in the role), Aladdin sets out to prove himself, and win Jasmin's heart. But with Jafar plotting to rule Sultan's kingdom via help from the lamp, it isn't going to be easy.

Like 'The Lion King, 'Aladdin' is one Disney adventure that you can go on time and time again, with beautiful animation, brilliant characters, and a stunning soundtrack - it's as fun and adventurous as it could possibly be, but there's also a lot of genuinely heartfelt moments as well, that makes it perfect for kids and adults alike. Here is a real animated treasure, and fun with a capital F.

My DVD edition came via the boxset The Aladdin Trilogy [DVD], and contains the full film, and a 'music modes' feature. However, there is a better edition out there which I plan to buy one day, Aladdin [2 Disc Special Edition] [DVD] [1993], which contains lots of bonus features, and judging by the reviews, is well worth paying the extra cash for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2008
This film has to be one of if not THE best Disney film there is. The story is great, the voices perfect, the songs brilliant! My favourite song from Aladdin is probably Friend Like Me but that's because I love Genie. However, all the songs are great in this film, there's none that you roll your eyes to because Disney have that great way of including a lovely slowie into a film but still having the humour there (like with A Whole New World).

Loved this film when I was little and chuffed now that my littl'un loves it too. Great fun for family viewing and still funny for adults!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
VIDEO:

“Aladdin” finally arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The transfer was stunning with vivid and vibrant colours that pop. Black levels are deep and inky. There is tremendous crisp details, from the crisp line art to every last tiny texture or touch in the background, the patterns on the flying carpet, the riches of the Cave of Wonders, or the splendor of the palace. There are minor hints of banding, but not distracting. (4.5/5)

VIDEO:

“Aladdin” arrives in North America with DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio, which was an improvement to the Holland import with only 5.1 mix in 2013. The added channels create an engulfing feeling, especially during the musical numbers. Genie's "Friend Like Me" booms from every channel as the camera pans and rolls around the scene. Dialogue is clean, intelligible and smartly prioritized. Dynamics are excellent. This is an exciting and immersive soundtrack. (5/5)

MOVIE:

Referring to Disney's North American blu-ray release of “Aladdin” as "highly anticipated" or "long awaited" would be a gross understatement. It was fun in watching Robin Williams bringing the Genie to life with the kind of madcap flare that only he can provide. Also, the choice of voices is outstanding: Scott Weinger (Aladdin), Linda Larkin (Jasmine) and Jonathan Freeman (Jafar). There are also many memorable songs, like “A Whole New World” (which won Oscar for Best Original Song by Alan Menken (music) and Tim Rice (lyrics) plus Oscar for Best Original Score for Alan Menken. There are two versions of “A Whole New World”: within the movie sung by Lea Salonga and Brad Kane, plus the pop version during the end credits by Regina Belle and Peabo Bryson (Billboard Hot 100 #1(1)/1992). Great movie. (5/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

“Aladdin” is simply magical on high definition. It will make your heart race and your spirit soar. Both the video and especially the audio are outstanding with many great songs and lovely music. There are also new extras about Robin Williams as the Genie, a true tribute to the enchanting talent of Robin Williams, the “Genius behind the Genie.” This set is highly recommended to all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)