Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 8 March 2015
Great summary book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
An essential companion-piece to the 6-volume manga. This book is bursting with beautiful illustrations from Otomo, everything from pencil sketches to oil paintings representing all of the characters and objects from the dense world of Akira. Included are all of the covers from the original Japanese serialization, these were not included in the American Darkhorse versions. There's also tons of outtakes from the manga, material from the anime, poster and t-shirt art, laserdisc and dvd covers as well as the 'toy box' section which covers everything from photographs of an 'Akira' traditional handmade broom to a hand-painted pinball machine and a full-scale model of Kaneda's bike.

If you are a real Akira fan then you NEED this book ASAP.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2006
what can i say? akira is without a doubt the greatest anime and manga ever created on this planet, and its animation and art can go unchallenged anyday anytime. this book shows you how katsuhiro was inspired and creatd akira, the book mainly contains black and white comic strips from the origanal 80's young magazine manga strip.

this book is a must have for akira fans...buy it....buy it now...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 23 August 2011
I didn't know that this book existed until very recently.

Akira Club is actually the English version of the Japanese edition Akira club: The memory of Akira lives on in our hearts that was published in 1995.

This English edition is translated and published by Dark Horse in 2007. It's a 256 page hardcover.

The book is all on the Akira manga. There's nothing on the animated movie except for some designs drawn for the laserdisc release.

It collects illustrations, preliminary sketches, all the title pages from the manga, promotional art and rejected art that were unpublished. It's pretty cool looking back at the works that were published in 1982. They were still using halftone dots to create grays. The art is great, and you can see that Otomo is amazing at drawing rubble and scenes of urban destruction.

If you have the manga editions, then you've seen all the title pages. This book includes a few unpublished ones. Majority are in black and white, some of them are coloured but not sure if they were coloured by Steve Oliff or Otomo. The commentary that goes with the title pages aren't related in any way, but just short musings of Otomo on what was happening to him that day, like his birthday or attending a friend's wedding.

What I enjoyed reading is the design commentary, talking about why sequences are arranged in a certain way, why some scenes don't work and have to be redrawn, what's difficult to draw. Most are just afterthoughts. There wasn't any information on his drawing techniques or production process though. And since the book doesn't include the animated movie, it doesn't talk about the differences between the manga and the movie.

This book is more for the Akira manga fans and those who like Otomo's art.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
For those of you (like me) who have collected the akira series in the six volume series, this completes your collection, putting everything you've missed (covers, lead pages etc) in one place.
If you're a fan of Otomo's artwork (and I'd like to think that every Akira devotee finds his art a big part of the draw) then having these pieces is a must have. There's just enough text to offer some interesting insights too but primarily this is a picture book giving you the chance to own what was lost when Akira was collected into the books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
Akira is fantastic but in my opinion not the best manga series ever, although it is certainly the most famous in the west and has an enduring reputation as a classic (i would choose Hayao Miyazaki's Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind series for best manga). Akira was one of the first adult manga i ever read (along with Domu and Memories) and i'm sure like millions of other manga fans it has a special place in my collection.

I feel that the previous review is a bit misleading as to the contents of the book, so here is a full description of the contents:

The book is split into 4 sections;

'Akira Illustrations' containing artwork used for covers of Japan's 'Young Magazine' where Akira first appeared, the covers for the various collected editions and preliminary sketches, complete with commentary from Otomo.

'Title Page Collection' contains all 120 title pages from Akira's run in 'Young Magazine', which were omitted from publication as they disrupted the flow of the story, as well as inner cover artwork from the collected editions.

'Memorial Gallery' features promotional artwork including posters and photos of t-shirts and toys from around the world.

'Unpublished Works' is exactly as it says - unpublished segments of the story that were cut from either the original publication or when the series was transferred to collected editions. Again, Otomo provides commentary on the pieces, as well as discussing his art style and his techniques. The book also features a questionnaire with Otomo and a chronology of Akira's publication.

The book itself is a very good quality hardback and is a must for any big Akira fans out there. Highly recommended. A+
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
This Akira book presents you with art taken directly from the Akira comic book and although for fans it won't be nothing new if you have all the original volumes of Akira, but nevertheless it still has an appeal with cover and varying artwork of Japanese manga artist and cult graphic story teller Katsuhiro Otomo.

A nice book just for the art alone, although the book is not heavy on text and doesn't really provide much background or information which is a disappontment, but books like this are the order of the day with artists as they want you to buy it for it's fan art appeal especially if you are a fan of Akira and manga art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2009
This is a great book but a bit light on new material. The vast majority of content is reprints of the comic book covers, which most avid fans of the series will probably already have in some form. I was hoping for more info about the film, its cels and storyboard etc, but it only really gets a brief mention.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
If you like the Manga, or into the imagery of the Anime then you'll like this. It makes a great Coffee table book and would appeal to anyone into the classic & original Akira. I would suggest a must buy for any fan. N.B. you must be in touch with your inner nerd to be a fan. Enjoy the artwork, I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
I've been a big Akira fan for many years and was thrilled to see more artwork. This is actually a German book, so I can't read a lot of what is there, but that doesn't matter too much as it is the artwork I am really interested in. Loads of stuff I haven't seen before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here