Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2016
love the lanc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
I also enjoyed making this model
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Excellent new kit of this missing version of this iconic aircraft. The B.II had only ever been available as a conversion previously, now we have a complete kit without all the fuss. Well done Airfix, keep them coming!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
It was particularly requested as a birthday present that went down very well. The only disappointment is the lack of bombs to attach which have to be bought separately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Well, I thought the recent Revell kit was good, but this new tool release from Airfix is even better.

Airfix has also done new tools for the Mk I and III, but here you get the rare Mk II Lancaster with Hercules radial engines, which I think was the best looking Lancaster. Two nice decal options are provided, each with cool nose art: "Fanny Firkin" and "Zombie". You also get different bomb bay and ventral turret options, which apply to the different decal choices.

The kits has even more general detail than the Revell and much more cockpit detail than the dearer Hasegawa kit. It also has the correct wing dihedral, which was the main flaw of the Revell model. While the new Airfix kits are about 15-20% dearer than Revell, I think they're well worth it. Fit is generally good and this is an enjoyable build.

This is especially the case with the Mk II, as your only options to date were to purchase very expensive resin conversion kits from Paragon or CMR.

Highly recommended: thank you Airfix.
33 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
My nephew loved this and couldn't wait to put it together, he was really happy with the quality. Thanks so much for the super quick delivery.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Although I have not started my model of the Lancaster, I have seen many built up and they build into an excellent model, this shows that Airfix are getting better and better with every new release they bring out
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
I remember my father building this exact same model in the 70's .
The kit comes with 5 grey and 1 clear sheets of plastic and is generally a good fit ,although a steady hand and some ingenuity are needed ,definitely not a beginners kit or a toy.
I would advise anyone to buy the reveal professional glue . BUT NOT the paint that is bundled with it ,as they are German colours.
The colours needed (HUMBROL )
11,24 o ,26 o ,26 o ,29,30 o ,33 x2 ,53 o ,56 or 171 , 61 o ,62 o,78, 96 o, 113 o.
The colours with an o after it is optional,depending how detailed you want to recreate this icon.
Hope this review was helpful .
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
For those of you who have started modelling recently and want a bit of a challenge this model is rated 3 out of 5 on the difficulty scale so is well worth it before moving onto more complex challenges
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
I purchased this a few months ago but sdaly have not got around to building her. But I can say that this is one fine kit from Airfix and keeps alive the new high standards of looks, quality and competative price since Hornby became the parent company.

Don't get me wrong, this kit is gorgeous in the box, in pieces and things can only get better once she is built up. As i said, I have not gotten around to building her but from the builds on line it is a stunning kit, the level of detail is more in league with more expensive offerings.

You get the rare BII Lancaster, a kite that has not been produced until now, the BI and BIII being more exstensively available.

Well recommended and a must buy for all new Airfix devotees and Lancy fans alike!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)